Pet care, child care, and help around the house and garden in beautiful North Wales

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 772 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Update! Following the Coronavirus lockdown in Wales we are now happy to welcome Workaway applications again! :-)

    We would be looking for a motivated individual or a couple / two friends to help us with pet care as described in great detail below. But also to potentially help us with childcare, our house move, and some renovation works / gardening, depending on the preferences / skills of the applicants, and dependent on the dates of their stay with us. Our house move has been postponed from April to August, and it would be lovely to have some help during the move and for the rest of the year whilst we settle into our beautiful new home by the sea (half an hour drive from our current home in North Wales).

    Please read our full profile carefully before applying. The details below are mainly to describe the help required with the pet care. Additional help required with childcare or renovation works / gardening can be discussed in more detail with interested applicants.

    Please note that although we are a tolerant and welcoming family, for the safety of our small daughter and pets we cannot accept drug users, heavy drinkers, and we prefer non-smokers. For the same reasons we also cannot accept any volunteers with serious mental health issues that could affect the safety of our daughter or pets. Thanks so much for understanding.

    So, here all the information about ourselves and our place... :-)

    We are a married couple in our 40s with a beautiful three year old daughter. Tom, originally from England, works as a Marine Scientist (mostly from home at the moment), and Tamsin, originally from Germany, currently stays at home too, looking after our little daughter and our dogs and cats. We currently live in a detached house in a very small rural village in North Wales with views of the hills and the sea in the distance. We have a big garden and are surrounded by fields. As mentioned, we are moving to an even bigger house in August. Our new house is a large and beautiful detached house with a field and outbuildings in a rural location 5 minutes walk to the sea.

    We are big animal lovers and can have up to 9 dogs and 10 cats, consisting of our own pet dogs, rescued dogs ready for adoption (mainly Spaniels and Border Collies), our own Ragdoll cats, as well as rescued cats. Our dogs and cats are all very much loved and we aim to provide them with all the love and care they deserve. They are all lovely pets who thrive on human attention. Some of the dogs are very lively, but most of the cats are very calm. We are looking for a real pet lover to help us to take care of our dogs and cats, as well as possibly do some work around the house and garden, and help with cooking, washing up etc. As mentioned, there may also be some childcare needed.

    This post is suitable for a motivated individual or two friends or a couple. The tasks may be more enjoyable when carried out with a friend / partner, and there will also be free time for you to enjoy, which may also be nicer when there are two of you. But the work can also be completed by one person on their own.

    North Wales is known for its stunning scenery with amazing mountains and beaches. It is an area well suited to outdoor enthusiasts with a great variety of outdoor activities on offer. It is a rural, quiet and beautiful area for nature lovers, but does also offer some cultural activities in small local towns. There are some busses that go to and from our village every day. It should be noted though that due to the current Coronavirus situation, activity / transport options may be different compared to other times.

    We would like to provide somebody with the opportunity to care for our lovely dogs and cats, play with our daughter, and help us around the house and garden, whilst also being able to enjoy the beauty of North Wales. For this, you would need to be very pet-loving (ideally with experience of looking after dogs and cats), like children, and be caring, observant, reliable, trustworthy, friendly, honest, positive, motivated, and independent. If this sounds like you, then please contact us with some information about yourself. We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will gain a lot of experience helping with dogs and cats and experience living in a rural village in North Wales. You will have lots of fun playing with our little daughter. You would be able to explore the beautiful mountains, coast, castles and small Welsh towns at weekends. The local languages are English, German and Welsh and you would also be able to learn about Welsh culture and history. You could also have weekend trips away to England or Ireland if you like.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Usually, Workawayers will spend some time playing with our daughter and maybe helping with some gardening/renovation works, but mainly looking after our dogs and cats, which involves:

    - Getting up at around 8am to feed the dogs and cats and exercise the dogs outside
    - Exercising the dogs 3 more times throughout the day (at around 13:00, 17:00, and 21:30), at least an hour each time in total
    - Cleaning the dog / cat living and sleeping areas
    - Cleaning up any dog poo when exercising the dogs, and cleaning the cat litter trays
    - Spending some time with the dogs and cats playing / cuddling with them and brushing them
    - Helping to raise Ragdoll kittens when we have them
    - Keeping an eye on the pets' health
    - Helping with any vet visits

    There will also be a little bit of general help around the house required, including cooking and washing up. It would be great if you could cook dinner for the family every second or third evening.

    There will be free time for you to enjoy in between the mentioned work shifts, and you will have 2 free days a week (flexible).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Welsh: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You would be staying in your own bedroom in our house with a kingsize bed and good WIFI. In our old house you have access to a private shower room and the kitchen downstairs. In the new house you’ll also have your own bedroom, kingsize bed, WIFI, and access to the kitchen, dining room and a shared bathroom.

    We usually eat dinner in the evenings together and as mentioned we take turns cooking dinner for the family in the evenings. We have no special dietary requirements. You would be preparing your own breakfast and lunch daily (we provide the ingredients) and help with washing up etc. In the summer we enjoy BBQs together with views of the mountains and the sea.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Please note that, as mentioned, the work with the pets (around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week) is spread throughout the day (about 2 hours at 8am, and then 1 hour each time at 13:00, 17:00, and 21:30). You will need to be prepared to spend a few hours a day outside with the dogs in all kinds of Welsh weather (rain, wind, snow, sunshine, sometimes all in one day!). Beside feeding and exercising the dogs and spending time with the cats, you will need to be happy to clean up all pet areas, dog poo, and cat litter trays. You may need to spend some time every day on your own. We prefer for Workawayers to stay at least 3 or 4 weeks, but may consider shorter stays as an exception. 1 or 2 months or even longer term would be great!
    Please note that in autumn and winter North Wales is rainy, cold and windy, so please prepare for this if you come between October and March. Spring and summer (April to September) is usually much nicer, although we can expect rain at any time really.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

This kitten was named after a Workawayer
One of our adorable Ragdoll babies
One of our beautiful Ragdoll cats
One of our rescue dogs, an unusual Border Collie
One of our Spaniels enjoying the beach
One of our crazy Spaniels :-)
Some of our dogs saying hello to our neighbours
One of our Ragdoll kittens we bred
Our back garden in late summer
This is us :-)
One of our gentle Ragdoll cats
Some of our lovely dogs on a walk on a local beach
Some of our doggies ready for a walk on the beach
One of our beautiful Ragdoll cats

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 652629916633