Komm und hilf mit auf unserem Bauernhof in Edinburgh, Schottland! Instandhaltung und Tierpflege



Bisher 745 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Thanks for showing interest in our workaway profile. We are a family of 6; myself and my wife Helen, 2 sons and 2 daughters ages 19 - 27. We have a small, family run farm on the outskirts of Edinburgh. We have a passion for pigs and have a small herd of outdoor reared rare breed pigs, as well as a few free range hens.
    We are looking to accommodate workaways to help out around the family home as well as some general work in the garden. This could include cleaning, cooking (we like to learn about different styles of cooking from around the world and also like to share our own specialties), mowing grass, cutting hedges and general garden duties; lots of different jobs that will change depending on the season and what is needed to be done.
    We are a very relaxed and welcoming family and would really appreciate the help of workawayers and like to get to know people from all over the world. A good level of English is preferred.
    This job is more suitable for couples as our accommodation is more comfortable for this, however solo workaway's will also be considered.
    We have successfully used workaway for over 2 years and have made some really good relations with people from all over the world and with whom we continue to maintain contact.
    I hope our profile interests you and we look forward to hearing from you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are not far from the centre of Edinburgh so during time off it is quick and easy to get to the capital. A bus from the closest village; Balerno, takes 40 minutes to reach the centre of Edinburgh.
    We are a very close and welcoming family and look forward to showing you how we live; you will also learn about Scottish food, culture and wildlife.
    We live in a beautiful setting, very close to the Pentland hills and reservoirs but also a short bus journey from the bustling city!

  • Arbeit


    Help around the house; cooking and cleaning.
    Help around the garden; cutting hedges, strimming, mowing grass, general garden maintenance.
    Occasionally helping feed/move a small herd of rare breed pigs.
    Collect eggs from a small chicken coup.
    Occasionally feed 2 donkeys.
    A moderate level of strength, fitness and endurance is preferred - the weather sometimes isn't that great in Scotland and some jobs will be outside!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Live in the house with our family but have own area of the house to relax; private accommodation within the house includes double bedroom, kitchen, shower room, toilet, and living room.
    Workawayers will be provided with food - an evening meal is usually taken in the main family kitchen but a personal kitchen is available if workawayers prefer to cook their own food; do not feel you need to spend every evening meal with the family. Breakfast and lunch is eaten in the main house with Helen and Jamie.
    A budget will be given if the workawayer prefers to cook their own meal/ eat separately and have more independence.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Bicycles are provided for use around the farm and as a way of transport to the local village (Balerno - 2 miles). There is a direct bus to Edinburgh from Balerno 44 (40 minutes to the centre of Edinburgh - £1.70 single ticket). We are located at the foot of the beautiful Pentland hills, near a number of scenic reservoirs with lots of well sign posted walking routes with views of Edinburgh.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nearby reservoir and Pentland hills - a short cycle away, beautiful countryside, lots of lovely walks and cycles all year round.
Picture taken on a walk close to our home, amazing views of the Scottish countryside.
Zola and Maple sitting on the quad bike - very sweet dogs that live with us in our family home.
Some live Scottish folk music at a family party we had!
Jamie and the boys cutting down some trees on the farm for our biomass boiler which heats our home.
Very small rare breed piglets, very cute! 1 day old!
Myself (Jamie) with my son Charlie and our new piglets!

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 497868147143