Working towards sustainability, resilience, and local/community level self-sufficiency from this household on an urban block in Ballarat, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 21 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    161

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    COVID-19 CONSIDERATIONS: Ballarat has very few cases and no community transmission. We are currently accepting guests from Victoria only. We will screen you for contact with COVID cases and symptoms.

    We are two creative, energetic, passionate people (one female, late 20s, and one non-binary, mid 40s) working towards household and community resilience and sustainability from this household on an urban block in Ballarat in central Victoria. Come and see sustainable living in action, while staying close to tourist attractions, transport, and urban amenities.

    Property is 500m^2 (1/8 acre) with permaculture garden. Garden provides food for the household and for local community food-sharing initiatives.

    Note: We accept women, trans/non-binary/gender diverse, and couples are welcome. You must be conversationally fluent in English.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You'll see sustainable living in action, while visiting a historic town with lots of tourist interest. You'll have the opportunity to learn home food production and preservation, permaculture ethics and principles, and other sustainable living skills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Activities/work may include: pruning, mulching, planting, harvesting, food preservation, seed saving, simple building/carpentry (eg. pallet furniture), foraging, and miscellaneous "indoor" work such as cleaning or tool maintenance (especially if the weather is inclement). If you have specialised skills/experience I would love to learn from you, too!

    Best/peak times for interesting work to do are September-November (spring planting), February-May (foraging and preserving) and June-August (heavy yardwork and construction), but there are things to do year-round.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is a private bedroom with a single bed, with additional short-term accommodation available on mattresses in the living room (prefer only to do this for a few days). Shared bathroom. Wifi available. Food is "ethical omnivore" almost entirely from local sources; vegetarians can easily be catered for.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Attractions: Sovereign Hill and other gold rush attractions, wildlife park, local mountain biking and bushwalking. Good restaurants/cafes/pubs within easy walking distance (COVID permitting)

    Transport: close to local buses, 2km from train station, pickup available from station. The home is bike-friendly (one host is car-free) and you are encouraged to bring your bike. There is sheltered and secure bike parking available.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 824385676331