1 / 5
aktualisiert  

Help in my veggie garden/ house maintenance and with daily life in Herberton, QLD, Australia

  • Bisher 85 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 23 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi Guys, my cottage in the pretty hills of herberton is just 2 minutes walk to the lovely state forest rich with tin mining history beautiful native forest lots of birdlife & the odd sighting of wallaroos. The wild river is just 5 minutes walk, there is a flat walking trail & its a good swimming spot when its in good flow
    My verandah is a lovely chill out place where the local birds visit as well as a wonderful big "major skink" which lives under the flooring.
    The village has a small supermarket, library for internet, my download is pretty much non existant for guests, 2 pubs a chemist 3 cafes & a hardware store.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn about gardening in the tropics how to manage heat & rain, types of plants that do well in this environment. Composting. Cooking from the garden, I love google cos I just put in the main ingredients I have a glut of & it comes up with recipes I'd never have thought of
    The neighbours here are really lovely, community minded & we often share seedlings produce, gardening help & the odd meal at each others houses. The back neighbours made their own pizza oven & pizza nites at their place are delicious. My friends are all good cooks & like me love cooking from scratch, some make their own cheese, kimchi etc. The wildlife around the tablelands is really interesting & as a result there are scientists studying them carers caring for them & lots of people who just have a general interest, who are great to talk to. The tree kangaroos here are truly unique. The native plant life is pretty special as well & being a tour guide I'm happy to share these experiences & show you around a little

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I need help setting up more garden beds so I can rotate & rest my beds properly. My 50% organic garden provides me with lots of veges & Id like to make it more consistent & I only have a small quater acre house block, so not a big vege garden The work involves a little building some weeding mulching. I also need some house maintenece done. I'd love to share the cooking as I really enjoy trying other people's style of cooking. Also because Im working full time now, it'd be helpful if we could share the house cleaning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    My cottage is cosy & warm in the winter with a log fire, which Amelia the cat & I love.
    Your room has a double bed & large wardrobe, it is straight off the kitchen, which is not always convenient. There is a shared bathroom/ laundry. The verandah space is a lovely place to hang out for brekky or just chilling & watching the local birdlife. Puss is not allowed out before or after dark, I have inheirited her & while I love my little siamese friend I know they can kill lots of wildlife especially if left to roam. Luckily shes 20 & so far the only thing Ive seen her catch is a coupla poisoned rats from the neighnours! Ive tried to persuade them not to poison.
    Happy to provide groceries & we share the cooking a little, maybe 1-2 nites cooking per person?? We can work it out. Please let me know of you have any allergies or foods you just cant eat at all. I eat only modetate amounts of meat 2-3 nights a week & not usually large quantities, happy with some vego meals & lots of fresh healthy veges/ salads as much fresh from the garden as possible & it would be good if we were similar in this aspect for ease of cooking.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are plenty of lovely free outdoor pursuits on the tablelands, but you really would be better off with your own car, as the other small towns are all about 20-30 minutes drive away & there are wonderful things you dont want to miss in these places too. Having said that I'm happy to take you in my car sometimes & the bus from cairns comes to the nearby town of Atherton daily,so getting up here is no problem. There's lots of hiking, swimming in lakes & rivers, kayaking, we can use mine on lake eacham if you like. Birdwatching, there is a bird hide 10 minutes down the road as well & I have bird, mamal, insect & reptile books for use. The insects in the tropics are incredible. Locally the historic village is worth paying to go in to see, there has been hundreds of hours of work put into it in the last few years. Also the tin mining museum is really worth visiting, the locals there great to talk to.
    I live a fairly peaceful life & am usually very early to bed & to rise, my job starts about 5am! I enjoy gardening, hiking, reading, catching up with friends locally for excersise, a social drink, meal or coffee & also chatting with my family in New Zealand. I am a tour guide as well as a trained chef, but unfortunately the guiding up here is seasonal, so currently I'm cooking for a living. Keeping my surroundings reasonably clean & tidy is helpful especially since my kitchen is not very big, I find keeping up the dishes etc helps keep the place looking tidy.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 168825458271

Feedback (5)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Komm und hilf auf unserer Farm und erkunde die Natur in Victoria, Australien
Help with DIY and forest regeneration on an isolated old land in the picturesque Wollombi valley, 2 hours north of Sydney, Australia