Teach English in a rural area in a small town in northern Navarra, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 473 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.09.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    307

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 68 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi,
    My name is Juan and I'm a 37 years old Basque guy that opened an English school in a small town in northern Navarra 4 years ago. I started on my own and now my partner Elena is also involved in this amazing dream.
    I've done many jobs in my life ( barman, waiter, steward, cleaner, waiting staff, office work, kitchen porter....) but none of them made me feel happy and free. After travelling and volunteering around South East Asia for a year and a half i realized that what i do love is sharing my knowledge with children and young people.
    On the other hand, I wanted to be as free as possible in this political system where the working conditions and workers' rights are going backwards, at least in Spain.
    My main goal is to be able to pay bills and survive with not much and to give the opportunity to everyone in my town to learn English. If both parents are unemployed they just have to pay half price every month until one of them gets a job. If there are two or more members of the same family at school they get a 10% discount.
    Basque people are really attached to their land, roots and family. My school wants to be a bridge to the world, a little island where students will discover that there is an entire world out there to be explored and that English is vital for that purpose.
    I'd like to have fluent relationships with some schools abroad such as the orphanage I taught in Cambodia and the 2 schools I taught in Myanmar in order to put in touch different cultures, ways of living......
    Volunteers will play an important role here because students will have the chance of knowing new cultures, diversity, exchange experiences, get used to different accents and be tolerant with races, gender and sexual orientation.
    Furthemore it is not usual to see foreigners in our town just a couple of au pairs in summer time.
    Having said that I'd like to add that we're looking for volunteers with some English teaching experience or TEFL, CELTA etc.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Alsasua is a small town in northern Navarra just in the middle of 3 main cities. It's 50 km away from Pamplona( the city of the running of the bulls, San Fermin), 70 km away from San Sebastian, 90km away from Bilbao and 40 km from Vitoria. You can also visit the French Basque country( Biarritz, Hendaya, Bayona....)
    Alsasua is part of a valley called Sakana where there is a natural park. The landscape is awesome, there are beautiful mountains and very green forests.
    People are quite friendly and kind with foreigners and all of a sudden you will be part of the town and meet people easily.
    You will discover the Basque culture and its amazing gastronomy.
    If you like sports this place is ideal for running, biking, trekking....
    There are supermarkets, shops, bars, cultural centre and a sports centre with sauna, jacuzee, gym and a pool.
    There are hourly buses to Pamplona, San Sebastian and Vitoria.
    You can reach Madrid by train from Pamplona in just 3 hours.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The lessons last around 50 minutes. Friday is a day off for volunteers so you can explore the area or visit around.
    If you know how to play any instrument or you are handy with crafts, paintings, arts etc. feel free to do it in any lesson.
    I will let you know their English level and what we've learned so far. Lessons must be planned in advanced and I will check them before teaching. There is plenty of material at school and we will tell you resources on the internet.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    Basque: Fließend
    French: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You'll have your own private room in my flat or in a host family with wi fi connection, shared bathroom and kitchen.
    Breakfast, lunch and dinner included. Sometimes we cook but if we are busy, you´ll have to cook your own meals with the food and ingredients provided.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you want to have a look to the area before coming just write in google this words: nacedero del Urederra, Urbasa, monte Beriain, Alsasua, Sakana, San Sebastian,Pamplona and you'll realize that is worthy to come.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours 4 days a week. Maximum stay 3 weeks

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)












Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 814139637834