A couple of weeks in an off-grid farmhouse near Ronda, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 621 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I have a piece of land in the mountains and am trying hard to rewild it a bit, though nature is resisting my efforts... I need a handful of people for a couple of weeks to do lots of basic labour each morning - digging holes, mending fences, cutting down trees, whitewashing, pruning, more digging, planting trees....

    In return you get to experience the realities of that romantic notion 'off grid'; you live in a very beautiful quiet valley; in the afternoons if you like I can sometimes teach about eco-building techniques ( clay straw walls, earth plastering, cobbling, etc ) ; three couples have met here and got married ( just saying - you don't have to get married ); you live in a very basic house of your own with a budget to eat together etc.

    The house works though it's basic, there's a plunge pool, the shops are twenty minutes walk away, I'm pretty flexible about the work / schedule. A couple of people could come earlier if they like to help prepare the house; anyone can stay on longer eg to use as a base

    And you really need to read the whole profile. No. Really. You do.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a small mountain village, a world far away from tourist Spain. It's very very quiet, but equally very friendly. You'll be greeted by everybody - they would love it if you can chat to them (though the local dialect / accent may make that a challenge...) . It's surrounded by a National Park, walking routes, a river, hills and mountains, forest land. If you want to see just how calm village life is, it's perfect; if you want to get right away from everything, it's perfect.

    I can help you with Spanish if you like. I'm a competent enough cook, know quite a few tapas / Spanish dishes and am happy to learn about more. If you wanted to know about eco-building techniques, there's a lot to see / do / experiment on the land we have. Aaaand, well, psychology of several kinds, teacher training, Japanese theatre... but it seems unlikely somehow you'd be looking for these... ?

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Most of it was said in the introduction. There's a hectare of land and just a huge mix of jobs to be done - clearing land, watering, whitewashing, building a half finished composting toilet, cleaning water tanks, watering trees, mulching, turning compost piles...

    Nature is resisting the rewilding - you will come to hate drought, deer, wild boar, fires, lost sheep.There's so much that needs to be done here that you'll be able to choose some of what you want to do. It's mostly physical labour though there's room for an interior designer, or somebody to actually try and make permaculture designs into reality.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Japanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I'm happy to teach Spanish; teach basic Japanese; chat in French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You'll have the farmhouse - off grid and basic. So that means just enough 12v solar electricity to charge phones/laptops and a few lights at night; bucket baths not showers; recycled furniture; a simple kitchen. You should get a space of your own, at worst sharing with one other person ( in a large room) ; we provide beds and basic bedding; there's a common social area, wood stove, pizza oven, patio, teahouse / cabin if you really want your own space,

    You will get. a budget to spend how you choose - it's enough for a basic vegetarian diet for all meals ( though one group memorably decided to spend it only on wine, and built a bottle wall). Everybody needs to help clean and look after the house, share cooking, etc,

    Note - we are still in the middle of a long drought - if it does rain you may get wet and dirty: if it doesn't then you will need to be conscious of how much water you use for washing etc.

    On the other hand, hammocks, a plunge pool, excellent shade trees, a river to swim nearby, chance to do any experimental building / art / agriculture you've always wanted to try; masses of books.

    The shop is twenty minutes walk away, where there's also a train station, bus stop, a couple of bars.

    And about once a week you get to the village house ( the village is a different 20 minutes walk away) for a hot shower, washing machine, 240v electricity...

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You can get to the village by a lunchtime bus three days a week to / from Ronda, and there are two trains a day to the nearby station. It's easy to travel from here to the big places like Sevilla, Granada, Cordoba if you want to make it a base for getting to see Andalucia. It's a bus ride to Ronda from Malaga which has cheap flights from almost everywhere.

    This is a flexible workaway; we can negotiate almost everything about how / when / where; days on or off; jobs to do. Except the dates I mentioned are fixed. The weather is likely to be quite warm days and cool nights, and we are praying for rain .

    You must be vaccinated for Covid. The village mayor insists. So do I.

    Sorry, but I hate the general cut and paste applications - if you want me to take an application seriously, your message must include the words ' off grid, basic, flexible' . Thank for reading to the end !

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    As long as they don't chase neighbour's sheep or want to sleep on the sofas

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    15-25 a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.9)































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 251889422485