Hilf mit beim Verschönern unseres Hauses, im Garten und beim Betreuen unserer Tiere in El Hierro, Spanien

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 869 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    99.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    WE RECEIVE SEVERAL REQUESTS EVERY DAY. SOMETIMES WE DON'T ANSWER THE SAME DAY.


    We live in Tejeguate (search for it!) on El Hierro and are a family of six, two parents and four children (2006–2012) with a big ecologic permaculture garden, many fruit trees, some animals (hens 🐔🐣, ducks 🦆, bees 🐝🍯), a big climbing frame with swings and a trapeze, and a lot of ideas to improve our infrastructure.

    At the moment we live in a wooden house with two storeys made of Euro pallets. Our plan is to have some stone houses (made of natural volcanic stones) for us and some wooden houses for our guests (friends, helpers).

    ⚠️
    We are searching for LONGTERM helpers (at least one month, better longer)

    We don’t offer payment

    We are not searching for help with the children.
    ⚠️

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn how to live self-sufficient with minimum resources, how to grow food, and you will enjoy the very natural island of El Hierro, which is like being sent back in time 50 years (compared to the rest of Europe).

    You will learn how we manage living in a big family with four children that are/(some were) taught at home (homeschooled).

    You will have the time to
    • hike or cycle through the wonderful landscape of this youngest and active volcanic island
    • explore caves (many long and adventurous lava tubes)
    • swim and dive (there are a lot of animals in the sea around El Hierro —they like it quiet!)
    • and fly (paragliding) if you want.

    We parents are tourist guides and can show you the island, and can give you a lot of good ideas for trips and special places.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    WHEN YOU WRITE US, TELL US:
            “I HAVE EXPERIENCE WITH …, BECAUSE
                    I DID … /
                    I LEARNED … /
                    I PRACTICED … /
                    SEE MY PROFILE”

    We are searching for motivated people, that like + respect our place and our way of living. But critics and ideas on how to improve are always welcome. 😀

    We are searching for helpers that have experience IN ONE OF THE FOLLOWING THREE FIELDS:
    =================================
    • WORKING WITH WOOD (at least for oiling and maintaining),
    • GARDENING,
    • HOUSEHOLD / KITCHEN AID,
    • creative artists/interior designers/architects with ideas how to beautify our houses and surroundings with local materials and paintings.

    Our idea is to improve the situation for our visitors: build small houses or huts made of natural volcanic stones (“Pajeros” = traditional form of buildings) or recycled wood. That means also build the roof and the interior (some furniture, doors, windows) and sand + oil the wooden parts.

    Household means
    ===============
    • cooking (for a lot of people WITH our fruits and vegetables from the garden!),
    • cleaning the dishes and kitchen + table,
    • hang out the washing to dry,
    • buy some stuff in the village (1 km walk, but go uphill 150 m!!),
    • carry waste to the waste container.

    Gardening means
    ===============
    • seed vegetables (or plant baby plants)
    • plant trees (dig deep holes in soil with many stones and rocks!)
    • care for trees
    • harvest fruits and vegetables (we tell you where and what)
    • irrigate (give water) the garden and trees

    And for the children it would be nice (but we don’t need anybody ONLY for that, this is only a bonus)
    • to do some artistic gymnastics (on the floor, parkour) and aerobatics (trapeze, aerial silk) or similar
    • to do some language practice

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Arabisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Russisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Türkisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    It would be nice to practice French, Arabic, Russian or Turkish.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    🚫🚬🚫 Smoking of tobacco is absolutely forbidden. No exceptions! We have had many bad experiences with smokers. If we find any signs of smoking you will have to leave immediately.
    🚫🔥🚫 Open fire is absolutely forbidden (by law! it’ll get expensive if you disobey). Also NO FIRE IN THE HOUSES or tents. But we do make pizzas 🍕 and bread 🍞 with wooden fire in our vulcanic stone oven.

    Sleep
    =====
    • in one of our cosy wooden cabins or
    • if you like: sleep under the open sky, for viewing the stars and planets and the milky way or
    • in your tent (← if we are full and you still want to come) or
    • you can bring your caravan or mobile home.

    Bathroom
    ========
    At the moment we have a beautiful but simple composting toilet (arborloo). Our goal is to build a more comfortable one.

    The shower for our helpers is open air (in a hidden place).

    Energy
    ======
    We produce our own electricity with our very powerful solar powered mini photovoltaic power plant (but ONLY during the day, because we have a very small battery system).

    Food / Meals
    ===========
    If you help us the requested amount of time, you’ll get all meals for free. But no luxury like coffee, cacao, etc.

    We mostly eat vegetarian, even quite a lot vegan. On some very special occasions we eat fish from a friend or from the fisher cooperative on El Hierro.

    Most of our food comes from our ecological permaculture garden. But we also are still learning and improving. With time many things became better and we have better harvests. Many new ideas and experiments have lead to bigger fruits, less problems with plant diseases and we even found a solution for the strong wind we sometimes have in winter.

    When we buy food, we try to buy regional and ecological food (preferably from El Hierro, or at least Canaries).

    We have lunch together every day except for the weekends.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Transport
    =========
    We have a bicycle that you can use. We have no car. Hitchhiking on El Hierro is very easy. The bus («guagua») is cheap, but only circulates 5 times a day.

    Internet
    ========
    We have one of the fastest internet connections in Europe, 300 Mbit/s up- and downstream (symmetric!).

    El Hierro
    =========
    El Hierro with an extension of 16 × 30 km is the smallest and youngest and therefore most active volcanic island of the Canaries (the island is still growing). As the island is the youngest, it has a lot of steep mountains and a very steep coast. You can take bathes in many of the natural swimming pools at the coast, that were formed by volcanic eruptions and erosion. There are also some fine sand beaches which you can reach by bus, hitchhiking or with rented car. With only 7000 real inhabitants (many more are registered due to cheap taxes and benefits) the island has a lot of untouched nature and quite wilderness with incredibly many beautiful hiking paths. We have wet green forests, and dry forests with enormous Canarian Pine trees and one of the last forests with many 500 years old Juniper trees (the symbol of El Hierro). And in contrast to that we also have many recent lava fields of different kind (like on Hawaii, like on Lanzarote, like in Italy, like in Iceland): It is a small island, but it has everything that all the other big Canary Islands have, except for the alpine region (and it has almost no tourism, therefore also no shopping centers, almost no hotels, and only private parties etc.). The island also has one of the highest density of lava tubes and volcanic caves, many of them several kilometers long (6,5 km is the longest).

    The Canary Islands are quite close to West Africa (Lanzarote only 90 km from Africa), but the island of El Hierro is the farthest from the African coast, with a distance of 400 km.

    Climate/weather/temperatures
    ----------------------------
    The whole year between 20–25 °C during the day. In the night 5 degrees less. In winter often cloudy and sometimes a bit of rain, in summer no clouds at all (bring your hat/sombrero!). The whole year a soft breeze. In winter sometimes hot + dry strong winds (Calima).

    Delicatessen
    ------------
    We really recommend (and eat quite a lot at home) the famous cheese of El Hierro: «Queso Herreño», which is a well balanced mixture of goat (=cabra), sheep (=oveja) and cow (=vaca) milk. This cheese has been produced since the 15th century. There are four kinds of it: ahumado, fresco, tierno, curado.

    • The best known (and most exported) is the smoked (yellowish) «ahumado».
    • There is also the fresh and tender (white) «tierno», matured for 15 days, which is used to make the Quesadilla Herreña.
    • Then there is the cured «curado» (with a black edge), which tastes similar to Parmesan cheese, and the semi-dry «semi-curado» (with a red pepper edge) – favorite of our children.
    • The totally fresh and soft one «fresco» is not sold all the year, but my older son likes this one most.

    And we also recommend and love the sweet pastries «Quesadilla» which are ONLY produced on Hierro – every village produces it's own Quesadilla, and all have a slightly different taste and it’s fans.

    You should try also a very delicious coffee from only El Hierro, La Palma and Tenerife: «Barraquito especial». I can recommend you some places where they make the best ones.

    Arrival
    =======
    How to get here: You need to arrive to Tenerife or Gran Canaria with airplane or ship and from there use the ferry (2 h) or airplane (40 min) to El Hierro. Then with the bus to Frontera and then 15 minutes walk to Tejeguate.

    • Ferry (boat, ship, ferries): navieraarmas.com
    • Airplane: bintercanarias.com

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have one of the fastest internet connections in Europe: 300 Mbit/s symmetric optical fibre connection. That means you can download or upload a big video file of 1 Gigabyte (GB) in 26 seconds. Also we have 3000 Watts of solar power, so you can use and charge all your devices all day (not night) long as much as you want to. We have 802.11AC WiFi and Gigabit Ethernet connections.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a big parking space, you can wash your car or camper (we have very high water pressure) and you can also clean it inside with our (solar power using) Dyson vacuum cleaner.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day, 5 days per week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 691271376483