Help with horses, dogs, garden and renovation in Sydjyland, Denmark



Bisher 304 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We are Birgit (52) & Bernd (73), a german couple. We moved to Denmark from Germany 6 years ago to realize our dream having our horses by our house, and set up the natural style of horse hold we had in mind. Together with our 4 horses, 1 dog and 2 cats we are living in a 150 year old listed old rectory, which used to be the home for the priest of the beautiful little village we are living in. After we have nearly finished setting up the horse stable and paddocks, we now have started turning the Old Stable in a gallery and apartment, and workshop. We love to travel meet new places and people our selves, love having guests and sharing this beautiful spot!

    Also we live in the country side, there is a good infrastructure in a 20 min surrounding of us, (cinema, shops, restaurant, art museum, historical sites, ect.)

    For the summer period (July/August/September) we are looking for friendly, respectful, open minded couple or two friends who want to help us. Minimum stay should be 3-4 weeks. Your age should be at least 20 years +.

    The normal daily routine is helping with house maintenance, garden, horses and dogs, and the "little/big" extras of tasks such a farm asks for (working in the meadows, working on the house, garden, stable, ect...) Most of the time there will be one of us around. Some things we do together some things should be done by yourself. You should be responsible, reliable and not afraid of managing the whole "house & family" for her/himself if we have to go away for one or a couple of days.

    You should be able to work independently (after you get to know everything) and do not be afraid of making your hands dirty and go out in every kind of weather (that is not to avoid if you have animals ;-).

    Our horses and dogs (the cats anyway) are very friendly and people orientated but pretty much lively. Some experience with horses is necessary (if you are a couple or two friends at least one person has to have it) There is a certain structure through the day which is determined due to the maintenance of the horses/dogs.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are both open minded people. I have traveled the world and lived besides Germany in England and Switzerland.
    We speak german and english. I am still learning danish (you can learn together with me). We have guests hosting at our B&B from time to time from all over the world.
    I am a graphic designer and an animal Naturopaths. Besides getting to know how it is running a little self-sufficient horse farm and a B&B and live true! country live, you can learn about danish and northern german culture, graphic design, about modern-natural horse care and horsehold, herbs & phytotherapie, natural medicine for animals, about maintenance of ecologic meadows and german of course ;-)

  • Arbeit


    HORSE CARE (helping the owners with:) mucking out paddock, meadows (in winter stable), feeding, grooming, bringing or letting the horses in and out from the grasfield to the paddock/stable ect./ general work in the stable and around the fields (making hay ect.)
    GARDEN: clipping the gras & hedges, establishing a little veggie garden (for self use only), weeding and other "normal" garden tasks
    HOUSE: our beautifully listed farmyard needs constant maintenance, so helping in and around the house...
    DOGS & CATS: walking with the dog & feeding
    OLD STABLE: we are currently turning the old stable building into an apartment, a gallery, workspace ect... the rough work is done, soon the finish starts where we could need any kind of help with (painting, carpenter work ect.)
    MACHINE PARK: we have some machines which help us with our work and also need some attention. we have an old Deutz Trekker a real oldtimer, which we reactivated to work again, I have an old MINI also an oldtimer, they would enjoy some extra care and attention from an oldtimer/machine skilled person ;-)

    The working tasks have a big variety and are very flexible (except of the daily horse/dog routine) and can be adjusted to your interests and skills.

    We would request 4-5 hours work per day 5 days a week. But it can also be adjusted to an other arrangement like 6 hours 4 days ect....

    There will be one cooked meal a day (evening), which we will have together. Breakfast and lunch you can help yourself with food supplied. There is a coffee and tea making facility at your lounge.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Danish: Fließend
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    You will have a nice room with your own bathroom and lounge area an the upper level of our house. Sometimes (not regulary) you have to share the lounge and bathroom with other guest (there is another double/single guestroom). You share the kitchen with us. There is a huge garden, so if you prefer in summer to sleep outside in a tent you are welcome to do so...
    Long term guests will have a self contained newly renovated appartement (fotos follow) with bath and kitchen in our "old stable" building which we just completely renovated. So you have you own space ;-)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We enjoy our small farm, living with all the animals, also the wild ones which chosed our place as their home.
    Our permanent roommates besides a lot of birds and wildlive animals include a wild fox, a crow couple and a pheasant. In summer we are nearly living outside and go only to sleep inside. There is a lot of work to do, but there is also time to enjoy this place. In the garden there are a lot of possibilities to sit and relax with hammock, terrace a "strandkorb", and listen to the birds, playing with the dogs, reading ect, having walks in the sunset.
    Since we're both are social people who like to travel ourselves and meet new people and exchange with them, we invite Workawayers to come stay with us and experience life on a small farm, work (sometimes hard) and have a nice and relaxing time as well. We love to have interesting talks, and exchange, but we also want and need our privacy sometimes, I am sure you like yours aswell ;-) The house is big enough that everybody can have that and respect that. The upper floor is your private area which we will respect, there are parts of the house which is our private area we like you to respect.

    We are looking for people who:
    – Age at least 20
    – Who treat the place, animals and us with respect.
    – are not afraid of work
    – are practically induced, independently working, and reliable
    – Like to experience the real (sometimes hard) farm life ; ).
    – Speak either German/English/danish (doesn't need to be perfect, of course)
    – Love horses, dogs and cats and now how to handle them (basically).

    You are in the middle of denmark and it is actually a perfect spot to do trips from here to see al the different parts of the country.
    You will have your own car to your service which you can also use for some trips around!
    For public transport there is a bus station in 2 min. walk, the next train station in Vejen (5 km) where the train goes to Copenhagen (2,5 hours) or up to the north or south.
    The west coast with all the beaches and some islands is 30 min away, the east coast also 30 min drive. The oldest town of denmark (and the most pretty one ;-) Ribe is 20 min drive from us, as is Kolding to the east. There is a beautyful surrounding with walking and cycling paths and lakes for fishing in this area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (4.3)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 786987449182

Verschenke eine Workaway-Mitgliedschaft

Finde deinen perfekten Gastgeber