Join our family in a jungle homestead in Pahoa, Hawaii, USA



Bisher 165 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Beschreibung


    Hello Workaway Community! We are a family of 4, my husband and I, and our two beautiful boys age 3 and 1. Our family home is located off the grid in rural Pahoa, on the Big Island of Hawaii. Our property is 10 acres of grass, fruit trees, animals and forest. We have sheep, chickens, dogs, and one fat kitty cat. This area is known as the Kaohe Homesteads, Kaohe means Bamboo in Hawaiian. Previously dominated by commercial Sugar Cane up until the 70s, this fertile pocket has been subdivided into private homestead acreage.

    Many of the families here have horses and cattle. Our vision for the property is anchored in sustainability; we would like to see our land produce the food we eat. We also see an opportunity for the revival of native species such as Koa trees, Mamaki and others. We have worked to maintain the grass, harvest and process the fruit, plant new food gardens, make new soil through mulching and compost practices, and care for a growing number of animals.

    We are seeking collaborative help to build the infrastructure we need to grow more food. Hawaii struggles with food security, as a majority of the consumed produce is imported. As a state, farmers have a vested interest in collectively working to increase yield and variety. Our farm is strictly for personal consumption, sharing with friends and family and those in need.

    We are a family that loves to travel and meet people from all walks of life. Both Tanner (husband) and I have been on the receiving end of beautiful and unexpected generosity while traveling abroad. These interactions with kind strangers have shaped our view of the world and our deep belief in human kindness, ALL-ONE!! My husband and I speak pretty good Spanish. But we are fabulous pantomimes. Our goal is to receive foreigners here in this jungle paradise and provide them with a safe and loving space! We want our farm to act as a home base for further exploration of the island. We also want to be creative and fun in how we grow our farm, whimsical, interactive, edible! Come play!!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I was born and raised here in Puna on the Big Island. I can provide visitors with a unique perspective of the islands, and offer suggestions for exploring. My husband is a skilled gardener and has a ton of valuable information about growing your own food, building and maintaining garden beds, soil generation and compost, tractor operation and maintenance, etc. He is a wealth of knowledge and also a pleasant, kind-hearted human. Hopefully visitors leave as friends! We are a unique example of an American family. We want to be part of a new way of farming, one that is not solely focused on individual gain but rather on collective benefit and generosity.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Yard care is our number one need, but we also would like to focus on creating: new garden beds, duck coop, solar installation, water irrigation, etc. General farm experience is great but nothing beats a good work ethic! We ourselves have only been farming for a few years and learn new things everyday. More than experience in specific areas, we are looking for individuals with positive attitude, tenacious work ethic, and above all enthusiasm for creating enchanting outdoor space!! We ask for 20 hours a week of help in exchange for room and general staples. If you have not visited the East Side of Hawaii it should be noted it is quite rainy here. Workawayers need to be able to handle a wet environment and be comfortable working in a reasonable amount of wet weather. We do our best to do tasks when the sun is out and the birds are singing ! A good set of waterproof boots is a must. Our farm is strictly for personal consumption, sharing with friends and family and those in need.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We offer a 400 square foot studio that is located about 150 meters away from our home. It is a one room one bath studio with bed, toilet/shower/bath, cooking supplies, gas stove, table and chairs. It is an off grid studio with limited power and water. Water is catchment system and power is generator only (though with some workaway help we may be able to install some solar panels!!).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Travelers are welcome to negotiate hours always, we are open to input and always willing to compromise. This island holds many secrets and we encourage travelers to immerse themselves in the Hawaiian jungle experience. Take chances! Make mistakes! Get messy!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We are off grid so power is generated both through solar and gasoline powered generator. We have a catchment system for rain collection that totals 233 gallons, specifically for workaway use.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Basically willing to accept any type of pet, though we do have our own "wild" pack of animals, including 4 dogs.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 738523444627