Helping hands for gardening and around the house in the northern part of Oaxaca, Mexico



Bisher 319 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    78.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    My Name is Andrea, I am from Germany and have been living in Oaxaca for more than 22 years now. For a living, I teach German at a language school (online now , due to Covid, but it´s a good alternative), and in my free time I enjoy hiking, spending time with my dogs and training them (I am training one of them to be a search and rescue dog and we are volunteers at the K9 Search and Rescue Unit of the UNAM, Mexico).
    I also like gardening and remodelling my house, but I always find there's too much to do and too little time. This is why I would love to have workawayers stay with me and lend me a hand, giving creative input, as well as having a good time together. It is necesary that you know some basic stuff about either DIY, carpentry, or gardening or animal care, handling of working dogs..
    And if you like to play boardgames, there will be a lot to do in the evenings ;-)
    I live with my three dogs ( two belgian sheperds and a sweet little hairy one of undefined breed), a cat , and at the moment with two roomies (don't worry, they are all pretty well behaved and definitely friendly, including the roomies. The worst-mannered is the cat)

    I spent 6 months in Northern Sweden in winter 2019/20, and thus got to know workaway from the other side, as I volunteered at a Husky Farm north of the polar circle.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Well, I doń't know how much you can learn regarding specific work, I can probably learn more from you, at least about electricity and maintenance work.
    But for sure, Oaxaca is a very nice location, it is definitely worth a longer stay and you could visit places in your free time. Also, you can learn and practise Spanish and there are many Spanish schools around, and of course we could plan your help at the house around the classes if you plan on studying Spanish.
    I have a nice and cosy house, and I am sure you would enjoy your stay here and share time and experiences.

  • Arbeit


    Painting, carpenter work and basic electric installations around the house.
    help in my small garden
    general maintenance in the house and garden.
    look after the dogs and take them for long walks in the mountains....
    Within the next months (2021) I am specifically looking for workawayers who enjoy working with dogs.

    I don´t need help with computers, marketing, language learning, hospitality work, project planning etc, no office work to be done here.

    As I have had some disappointing experiences with workawayers recently, due to misunderstood expectations, I can only have workawayers who read my profile up to here. I don´t like generic copy/ paste requests, and if I get one of those, I will automatically decline.
    I need someone self-motivated and who has the basic knowledge to work by him/herself, as I will not always be around to work in a team. Also, there ist not very much social live up here in the mountains, so if you are not used to being alone from time to time, you will probably not enjoy your stay.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    My house is located at a northern suburb of Oaxaca, about 7 kms from downtown, close to the mountains. Hiking opportunities start almost right up the street.
    Even though it seems to be a quiet neighborhood, it can get quite noisy sometimes.... barking dogs, roosters and neighbors who work or celebrate with loud music. Mexico can be a very noisy country for someone who is not used to it.
    Travellers will have a private room in the house, shared bathroom and kitchen. Blankets and towels can be provided. The room has a single bed, but I have an addidional mattress.
    Buses to downtown run every 15 minutes or so just in front of the house but they only run until 9pm.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Free time:
    lots of places to visit nearby and for weekend trips etc. There is something for everyone.... culture, nature, museums, workshops, music, dancing, social projects, botanical garden, a lovely colonial downtown with cafés . Some people think that you can see everything in Oaxaca within a couple of days, but my experience is that you can stay here for months and never get bored :-)
    Study Spanish
    relaxing in the patio
    busses to downtown run every 15 minutes or so just in front of the house.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week , but we can be flexible about this, according to our needs. There are times when there won't be a lot to do for volunteers, then I can anyway,but please be prepared to buy and cook your own food.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 736962192619