Help us out with our property in Lillooet in the extremely beautiful province of British Columbia, Canada



Bisher 195 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    My husband and I live on a small (.86 of an acre) property 5 minutes outside of the small community of Lillooet which has a population of approximately 2300 people. Lillooet is in the extremely beautiful province of British Columbia Canada.

    Our place, in addition to us, is home to chickens, a cat and 2 dogs. The house is older but clean and undergoing many updates of which most of the major construction is done and we are mostly down to painting and finishing touches. The views from all our porches are relaxing, peaceful, and gorgeous.

    The area here is rural. We are on a small flat on the eastern edge of the coast mountains. This location means we have a mild (for B.C.) climate that is mostly dry, we are classified as a semi desert. The mighty Fraser river flows beside the town and has some of the most exciting Sturgeon Fishing right there. Activities in the area include, walking/hiking, both motor and pedal biking, great fishing and hunting. In summer the swimming in the local lakes is amazing and in winter those same lakes provide good ice fishing and skating. Cross country skiing and down hill skiing are available in Whistler (3 hours away), Kamloops (2 hours away). There is a local golf course called the sheep pasture where your golf balls are sometimes chased or stolen by the sheep or lamas that roam freely on the course. The views on the course are spectacular and it is an informal and fun way to spend an afternoon.

    Though the District of Lillooet is small it still boasts a recreation center with a gym, a swimming pool, ice arena, weight training room, rock climbing room, plus many activities and classes like yoga, DVD led salsa dancing, and swimming lessons plus many more. The list is constantly changing. There is shopping in town, a very good small hospital, the world class Fort Berens Winery, local festivals in season like the Apricot Festival and the Salmon Festival. Life is compact here but full of variety and fantastic people.

    We look forward to exploring it with you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Many of our workaways have enjoyed learning more about using tools both electric and hand tools to do various jobs. The gardening, animals and how all of those things can fit together to create more of a harmonious way of interacting is something that many talk about but few have the chance to really put together into a functioning lifestyle. They learn how to do building, preserving, growing, and improving all in some of the most beautiful scenery in the world.

    If they are interested there are many opportunities to learn more about the history of the area including the past and present work of the local natives.

    With English being the only language we can speak we can definitely help others to improve their own English speech and like to think that we encourage that learning while maintaining a sense of humor and respecting the effort of the workaway.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Being a small property there is always something to be done. 2015 saw the chicken run built, wood shed built, Kitchen and many main floor reno's done. In 2016 more fencing was done some of this was decorative, many thanks to Gael, Barry, and Ignace.

    Always the gardens are being expanded and improved. There is still alot of painting to do and amid all the improving there is still the chores of daily living to get done, feeding animals, cleaning, harvesting, weeding, watering and preserving etc. All of the work is on our home which is not commercial at all.

    My husband works full time and has very little opportunity to help out on the place so I am looking for persons who will help me do what needs to be done. I am capable of doing virtually everything myself but it is so helpful to have another pair of hands on most projects. Someone who already has some skills like painting or carpentry would be awesome but not totally necessary, I can teach. (I can't teach you how to think though so please bring your brain with you}

    What is necessary is a good work ethic, clean, and willing to pick up after themselves. Able to follow instruction and finish tasks. The ability to ask questions and for help when it is needed is also an asset.

    They say common sense isn't common until you learn it and I hope to see workaways with good common sense it is the greatest work skill to have.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    The house has 2 bathrooms on the main floor. Workaways will have a private bedroom on the lower level. It has its own direct window to the outdoors and though there is heat which goes into the room in winter when the wood stove is going there may be times you want a bit more heat so the room has a baseboard heater as well if you are cool. In summer which can get very hot here the basement is cool and the house is air conditioned.
    I have ONLY ONE WORKAWAY AT A TIME (no couples please) so the room would be all yours. Breakfast and lunch in our house are usually get your own, of course we provide the actual food you just get it yourself. I make supper most nights. My husband is an omnivore with no allergies or special needs but I am off and on Vegan for health reasons so we can accommodate a few dietary restrictions. I love it when other quality cooks can help with the cooking! Please inquire if you have any special needs we usually are able to work it out. (Severe allergies such as an anaphylactic reaction to peanuts not included)

    There are animals here as mentioned before so if you have allergies to dogs or chickens please don't apply they are everywhere here. We live quietly and hope you can respect this. We don't smoke tobacco so smoking is strictly outside only.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Lillooet is not on any main public transportation route so coming to Lillooet is best accomplished if you have your own vehicle.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 725487455647