Help us on our farm, supporting local food banks in Virginia, USA



Bisher 81 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    The farm has supported our local food bank and families in need for over 10 years now. The only way that we are able to do that is by the grace and strenght of our wonderful workers over the years.
    I am a chef and love giving and getting cooking lessions.
    We own a motorcycle shop that is located on the property, so if you are so enclined, well you never know.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a family environment. Even though, Big John and I have two boys who are grown up and moved on to build their own lives, we still have that same feeling here.
    Each person brings something amazing to the table. We encourage you to bring your knowledge to others and to us. We have learned so much from our helpers. And of course, we give everything that we have in our arsenal, to anybody that is willing to listen. :)
    We Love our helpers with all our hearts.

  • Arbeit


    “God gave us two hand, one to feed ourselves and one to feed others” – Audrey Hepburn
    the Farm is an 11 acre Farmette that has been in operation for 10 years. Working with an oversized garden has been very exciting and very rewarding. We are now ready to take things to the next level. We are currently working with Loudoun County Health Department to put in a small commercial kitchen, for catering, extend our crop format so that we can not only able feed ourselves and the markets, local farm to table restaurants, but donate more to our local food bank as fresh veggies are not showing up as much as they would like.
    We have the best and most friendly chickens in the WORLD. We have 3 rooms available, with a private bath for lodging. The large existing kitchen has a refrigerator dedicated to our volunteers. If you would prefer to camp that would be awesome too as we have a complete tree lined property with a beautiful creek running on the lower end.
    Our crops in the past have been mainly Salsa ingredients for sale at farmer’s markets in the region. Our primary needs are: coop maintenance, landscaping, land clearing for sowing to begin planting in mid-May and during the season, food preparation, farmer’s markets and maintenance of the crops. The Summer and especially, the Fall Season is not for sissies, our days are filled with perishable food, that needs to be cleaned and packaged/canned or frozen.
    We all share the household duties as well. We have a laundry upstairs, and we can always use help with dishes, bathrooms and floors.
    Our final goal is to be certified organic as we have maintained the practice of growing everything here organically for 10 years now. I am a Chef and would love to explore more dietary menus for our customers that have limitations. We look forward to hearing from you and know that you will enjoy your time in this little slice of heaven
    Rules & Criteria
    We are looking for courteous and polite folks as we try very hard to promote a “family” environment. We are so easy going. But disrespect for anybody in our place just can’t be tolerated, we are just not equipped to handle tension and anger here.
    The schedule is 5 days per week starting at 7:30 a.m. till 11 a.m. However, there are exceptions and we may ask if you are willing to help longer, especially during “salsa/market season” and we alwas make up the extra time with extra time off. It would be totally voluntary. The rest of the day is yours. To travel or just relax. We are very good at making sure you have extra time off to see what this region has to offer.
    We provide a delegated refrigerator for our volunteers, that is loaded with foods, I try very hard to supply foods that you like, However, any specialty foods, i.e. vegan butter, tofu or specialty flours, alternative milks, etc.… All your personal hygiene and laundry products or alcohol, you would have to provide yourself. Also, I am not able to cook every day, but you have the opportunity and ingredients to make you own meals. We ask that if you make food for yourself, that you make enough for everybody. I usually cook a few days a week and make plenty for everyone as well as leftovers.
    Limitations unfortunately are a part of the experience. So, we have Wi-Fi, but do not have a device that you can use, so please bring your own, phone, pad or laptop for internet. We have Cable TV in the kitchen for all to enjoy, but we can’t allow anyone to purchase movies or use the DVR.
    Please have weather appropriate attire for the Northern VA region, and you will need waterproof boots (Muck Boots)/shoes, gloves, hat and long pants.
    Big John has his business, right here on the property and is available for help and tools. Pepper will set the day’s plan in motion in the morning and then we all move forward with the demands of running “the business” of product production, markets and sales.
    We ask that you plan your day trips ahead of time, as Pepper works off site a few days or night a week. If you need a ride or a run to the store, it’s helpful to know ahead of time. Finally, we smoke mostly outside, so if you have any problems with cigarette smoke, please know that this may not be the place for you, as we know you will still smell it on our clothes and in our vehicles. 🙁 We are quitting (all the time) but we are not there yet. And we enjoy sitting with an alcohol beverage in the evenings. So again, we respect you and your beliefs, however, we are who we are and you may hear a little cussing along the way too.
    Our goal is to give the volunteers the opportunity to enjoy all that the Northern Virginia region offers. We feel very strongly that a part of your experience should include sightseeing and visiting other types of farms. We’ve taken trips to Bee Farms, Goat farms, D.C., Luray, Hydroponic Farm, Caverns, Harpers Ferry, WVA etc.… What can we say:
    “We work hard and we play hard”.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    The entire 3rd floor is dedicated to our helpers. It has a private bath and a bathroom to share with other helpers.
    Camping is also available and we have a very nice private tree lined piece of property, with a beautiful creek to enjoy for swimming and fishing.
    RV's Trailers, etc... no problem. We encourage it.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have Wi-Fi, cable and all the comforts of a beautiful home and family.
    We live in the foot hills of the Shenandoah Mountain, near Washington D.C./VA/MD/PA boarders. So the sightseeing is endless. And we encourage you to take full advantage of what this historical region has to offer. We are just off of the Appalachian Trail, and there is so much hiking it's just amazing.
    The only thing that we ask for is respect and trust. We get folks from all over the world and we require that everybody's belief system is respected and of course, privacy is very important to everyone. We NEVER impede on our worker’s privacy.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 715848526847