Come help me with building projects and hang out in the redwoods of Northern California, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 123 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Julie. I'm a public school teacher at a tiny mountain school. I teach children who are ages 5-8. I worked in construction in the past but now I build because it's so much fun to do. I'm very open minded and really enjoy getting to know new people. I'm smallish (61 inches tall), oldish (64 years old), and very energetic and cheerful. I believe in kindness, compassion and honesty. I love to work hard and have fun! I'm a vegetarian. I've had international guests stay with me often and have felt enriched and inspired by these interactions. I have also been a guest in many homes around the world.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I live in the redwoods of Northern California. There are hiking trails leaving from my front door. My house is in a very quiet area with lots of privacy, quiet and nature. I may be able to teach you certain building skills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I need people with at least some experience with building or a strong desire to learn. I always have a lot of projects going but my most pressing endeavor at this time is fence building (check out the photos). I'm focused on getting my garden area completely enclosed before the planting season. If you want to learn to build a complicated fence and use a lot of different types of tools, this project will be fun for you!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a small house on my property that would be just for you. It is small but has everything you need to be comfortable. Your only source of heat is a small wood stove. I will keep you supplied with wood and it will keep you warm but wood stoves take time and attention. You would be welcome to hang out in the main house with me for meals and at other times.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This part of California is very beautiful. I live in the mountains. I'm about 45 minutes from the ocean and 2 1/2 hours from San Francisco. My house is five miles from town so unless you have your own car, you might feel stuck. As is typical of the states, public transportation is very limited. My neighborhood is called an hyleopolis . "The term hyleopolis refers to the character of an urban-forest interface where protection of the forest is paramount in order to retain the community’s essence." In other words, my area has hundreds of acres that will remain as open space in perpetuity, in order to support wildlife. You might see or hear black bear, mountain lions, bobcats and foxes from afar. Deer visit regularly and will walk up to you begging for food. We might actually have raccoons, skunks, squirrels and chipmunks running around in the house! (I politely ask them to leave!)

    I have several cats who come into the main house. You can interact with them if you want to but they are cats, after all, so they may just ignore you, or they might decide that you're their new best friend.

    Because of the pandemic, you must be fully vaccinated (including boosters).

    My internet is slow and sometimes unreliable. There is also poor cell reception.

    I've done a bit of travel myself and love to stay with people. I have had great interactions with international guests who have stayed with me in the past. If you stay with me, chances are I will eventually visit you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Your campervan would have to small in order to fit.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Max 20 hours with 2 days off



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 994984719673