Help wanted with gardening and painting jobs in South West France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 8 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.07.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My husband and I moved to S.W. France eight years ago from the UK. I am retired and suffer from a rare blood cancer that has made me semi -disabled, my husband James is a registered painter and decorator. We took on a lovely house which was once part of small holding run by a large family. It has many outbuildings which include a cowshed, a prune oven, pig stys, wine press, workshop and a very large tabacco barn. It was all updated by the family in the 1960's. We have not changed any of the 60's features. I have 1 daughter and 2 sons who all live in the UK. We visit them every Christmas traveling in our camper van. They come and stay when ever their work allows.
    We have about 4 acres of out door space which some of is looked after by our neighbours,
    this includes a large maize field and a vegetable plot. I tend the large garden and use a ride on mower to cut the grass, but would apreshiate help with the finer details.. We have two small projects to complete inside the house - an office/library and the master bedroom. Outside much of the paintwork needs doing, James never has time to get around to doing it as he spends his time painting other people's houses!
    Our house is divided into two, most of upstairs is an appartment which is let to a French couple, they have one daughter of 5 years, a dog and 2 cats. We have no animals as we like to do a lot of exploring in our camper van.
    As far as help is concerned it is mostly in the garden and external paintwork.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are both from the UK, James speaks French, but I am still learning and still have a long way to go! We bought our property eight years ago. It is in a small commune of Cours de Monsegur (33580) it is on a main road between Duras ( 8 klm.) and Monsegur (2klm). Monsegur is a Bastide town and has many historical features, it also has shops, banks, restaurants and cafes. Every year it hosts a Jazz Festival and features artists from all around the world - this is usually held on the first weekend in July. Duras has an outstanding Chateaux which is open to the public, it too has small shops, bars and restaurants. We are in a rural postion and are surrounded by vineyards, nut orchards and farmers fields and the area is good for cycling. Further afield is Bordeaux (60klm.) which has many very fine buildings and is a must to visit. It also has many transport links, railway station and an airport. Bergerac is our nearest airport which is a 45 minute drive, it too is a very delightful town to visit.
    To the west of us is a very long Atlantic Coastine with many surfing resorts. Our nearest beach is about 2 and a half drive. There are many campsites, and small places to stay. In land there are many vine yards to visit and the area is famous for of course Bordeaux Wine!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have very large grounds and help in the garden is needed. The exterior of the house needs some paint work doing ie shutters, window frames, all of these are of sound wood.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a large house, upstairs is mainly an apartment which is let fulltime. We have one double bedroom which would suit a couple and also people on their own, this is downstairs for Workawayers to sleep in, the shower room, toilet, kitchen and lounge you share with James and myself (Sue). We have plenty of outdoor space to explore and many places to relax and have BBQ's. This year (2019) we hope to erect a large above pool, this is a project in hand.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is much to explore on your time off. We are in a rural position, which is good for walking and cycling. Monsegur and Duras are our local historical towns where cafes, restaurants and shops can be found. Further afield is Bordeux and Bergerac, which both have airports. To the west is the long Atlantic Coast famous for it's surfing beaches. All around us are many of the famous vineyards of Bordeaux which includes St. Emillion.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 714257841992