Volunteer and stay on our homestead in North Bay, Ontario




Bisher 166 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  • Beschreibung


    We are a 6 person family (mom, dad, 4 girls (12, 10, 9 and 7years) and currently with two 7 year old border collie dogs and chickens. We like to be home as much as possible, yet our extended family lives out-of-town so we travel enough to visit them all (Timmins, Ottawa, Manitoba). We have done and enjoy travels ourselves (father has worked overseas previously, mother has done an exchange herself). We are outdoors people who enjoy activities (we have lots of equipment for skiing, biking, snow shoeing, canoeing, pedal boat, kayak, horseshoe pit, etc.). T.V. time is reserved for when the kids are gone to bed (7:30pm). We have a new family business, which takes up lots of our time this year, so mom is required to work. We are kept very busy with our business/career and kids, yet like to enjoy new experiences. We have a focus on balancing health, the environment (we recycle and compost), fun and treats - or at least try. Please no smokers, as we don’t smoke ourselves, or smokers have to do their thing outside in all weather and away from little eyes.

    We follow two diets: meat-atarian and vegetarian.

    We live in a all-seasons Northern community city surrounded by Nature, lakes, bike trails. We have a river on our property, a bus route in walking distance, and a bike trail as well. We have all four seasons and plenty of activities for each season.Toronto is 3.5 hours away south, Ottawa 4 hours away east, Sudbury 1.75 hours west, and New Liskeard is 2 hours and Timmins 4 hours away north.We have a 6-acre lot and 1 acre is cleared with lawn.

    A bus stop is located on our road, less than 1 kilometre walk. The long distance/Greyhound bus is located downtown about 7km away. The train has discontinued service, but is available in other communities close to here. We have an airport with 15 km from our house.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for help in a general sense. If you are more of a handyman, then help with the local business is the trade for you, or house renos. We do renewable resources in the area (ex. solar systems, wind turbine, water turbine, etc.). If you are a homebody, then indoor or outdoor work on our property could fill your working void. If you are more familiar with housework, then cleaning duties are abundant. If you are a nurturer, then caring for our four babes could take some of your time

    depending on season:
    -flower gardens need tending
    -sauna needs to be re-roofed with tin
    -cement work needs to be done
    -garage door needs to be painted
    -steel garage needs to be siliconed at the base
    -grass cut with tractor
    -driveway snowblowed
    -house chores (clean bathroom, kitchen, vacuum, laundry)
    -cooking and baking
    -childcare (depending on experience and references)
    -structural building (warehouse shelving installation)
    -stonework on the fireplace
    -reno on the bathroom
    -handyman work
    -firewood cutting and pilling
    -window cleaning (inside and out)
    -spring cleaning of every room

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We have a three-bedroom home with an office, fitness room, 2 bathrooms, living room, and open kitchen dining room, family room with piano and laundry facility (all are shared except for the office space as it is the business office). We have a horseshoe pit, outside fire pit, sauna, volleyball court, hammock, canoe, kayak, pedal bikes and bike trailer (for the kids).

    The available room has a small walk-in closet. It is upstairs on the main floor. There is a dresser in it and a t.v. /d.v.d. player, with two night tables.

    *️If that is taken, a futon is downstairs in the recroom, or pop-up camper or tent is available during hot summer months.*️

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Don't be shy is our motto, if you don't ask you will never know. Also, any beefs you may have are valid because it is your perspective, so please let us know how we can help resolve any issues that may arise.

    If you are looking for after-work-hours activities, there is plenty to do in the area. Here is a short list: Lake Nipissing Commanda Cruise, seasonal sports (downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, skating, biking, canoeing, swimming, soccer team, golfing, volley-ball, basketball, etc), recreational sports at the local university and college, music lessons with local business, camping and outdoor fun(special annual festivals - maple syrup festival, Heritage festival, Music festival), community sports centre and swimming pool, cinema, theatre, nightclubs/restaurants of different ethnicities/bars, Multicultural centre, etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 25 hours / week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 687497234251