Help an elderly islander grow herbs and help with art projects on Isla Colon, Panama



Bisher 247 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Update:- We are looking for artists, gardeners, cooks or chefs and yoga instructors. If you have any of those, we'd love to hear from you.

    Delfina, a wonderful 73yr old local islander is growing herbs, flowers and plants in order to support herself and her family. Delfina has lived on the island her entire life and is a wealth of great stories and information. She is looking for someone to help her with her gardening and to help her with the heavy lifting and is willing to help teach Spanish to anyone who can help her with her greenhouse business.

    Her garden is set inside of our family run rental business property consisting of 6 houses built over the water connected to each other by wooden walkways. Other projects on the property include a broken tile mosiac wall art project as well as some large mural painting projects.

    In exchange for living rent free in one of the 6 over the water houses, we request our volunteers to help Delfina in the garden, assist us with water sport rentals and help us to keep the properties clean. We have three local staff members who help us with all the tasks on the property and are looking for volunteers who can share their time, knowledge, passion and energy with everyone here to create something unique and special for the benefit of our entire community.

    The property has been organically growing for over 23 years and we look forward to finding helpful, engaging people who can come and enjoy our little piece of paradise. We are ideally looking for people willing to commit for 2 weeks to a month, but are open to anyone who has a passion for life and can bring something special to our little oasis!

    In exchange for learning Spanish, we are particularly looking for people with gardening, yoga, cooking and art skills. Tell us about your passions and interests and what you can bring to our community. We look forward to hearing more about you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will benefit from working with Delfina, our herb lady who is one of the original residents of our bay along with interacting with guests from around the world and learning how we live as islanders. We have a range of projects on the property to combat the garbage issue on the island including plastic bottle and glass bottle collection in order to repurpose them. Our homes are built over the water, so there is a lot to learn about life over the water along with gardening and exchange of language skills.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for help with a range of projects on the property including helping our 72 yr old herb garden partner with growing plants and herbs for her to sell. We also want help with cleaning our houses and the occasional shift helping with our sports gear and bike rental business a few hours a week. Our volunteers are also offered the use of kayaks, sups, bicycles and snorkeling gear to enjoy anytime, just as we all do on the property.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We offer a private bedroom in an authentic two bedroomed, over the water local houses, with shared bathroom and fully equipped kitchen. Linens and towels are provided and washing once a week is provided. There is a communal deck that is available for our guests and volunteers which has spectacular views across the bay. We do not provide meals, but you have access to the herbs grown on the property to use in your cooking. You may at times have another volunteer in the other bedroom, but often with couples, the house is entirely theirs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As we have kayaks, stand up paddle boards, surfboards, bikes and snorkeling gear on the property for rent, these items are free for our volunteers to use when our guests are not making use of them. The house is around 200 meters from the beach and is within walking distance of town. There are many great things to do on the islands, including exploring other islands, visiting beaches, diving and just relaxing.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our property has two separate internet servers ensuring that there is adequate internet no matter where you are on the property. We have digital nomads living with us on a regular basis as well as some permanent. Our internet speed is 60mbps on both of our internet servers

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3 hours a day 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 685736137163