Wilding and beautiful Assynt, in the remote Scottish Highlands, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 253 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 11 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello Work Away!

    Join me and my partner in the last real wilderness left in Europe - Assynt in the Scottish Highlands.

    We’ve recently moved to a beautiful old home near the small fishing town of Lochinver. The house sits in 5 acres of previously overgrown grounds. With the shores of Lochinver to one side and pristine wilderness to the other.

    We’re looking for some awesome Work Away friends to join us in discovering the ups and downs of living in the far north.

    The area was once covered in forest and we'd like to research this and try to bring back an area of native woodland.

    You’ll also have time to enjoy the beautiful highlands, see an amazing landscape and go for trips to the beach.

    About us:
    After selling our business last year we took a year off and travelled across Central Europe in a campervan!
    We did some Work Away experiences along the way in France and the UK. It was such a fantastic part of traveling and a great way to meet and connect with new people.

    We're hoping that we can play a small part in making someone else's Work Away experience special.


    **Update**

    Current work this winter is pretty intensive manual work in the ground. Digging and clearing ditches, cutting and shredding wood for laying paths, some skilled, indoor jobs too; tiling walls, laying flooring etc.
    The weather can be pretty ferocious up here in the winters too!

    On the softer side of things, we would also love to host someone with exceptional sewing, upholstery skilles. I have a wall that needs to be covered in fabric!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're a friendly couple, who would love to host interesting, skilled people. We made friends for life when we did Work Away ourselves.

    -If English isn't your first language we'd be very happy to be of assistance. We started attempting to learn Spanish and French on our travels and know what a difference speaking to people makes.

    -We love walking and exploring the Scottish hills and will happily assist anyone who would like to do some hiking. We may not always be able to join you but will happily drop you off and pick you up if you want to conquer a hill!! If you take a couple of days off some wild camping could be in order!

    -Having been successful in the hospitality trade in the past, there is also the chance for anyone interested in this area to pick our brains - in particular if you have a focus on Scotland or if you want to understand the financial aspects of running a small business (one of us was a very good accountant, not too long ago).

    -I also love baking sourdough bread and this is something I could help you learn.

    -I'm on a journey to a self sufficiency in our kitchen garden. Learn about year round growing.

    We love to cook and eat! We're surrounded by land and sea which provides amazing produce - expect lots of local langoustine (prawns), venison, Scottish cheese and the famous local pies!!!!
    We also eat pretty healthily and get through a lot of work - so don't worry about piling on the pounds!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    1) Share your knowledge of gardening and ecology and learn from our experiences.

    The grounds are about 5 acres. With patches of woodland, lawn / formal garden and a large wild rocky area.

    We're planning on planting hundreds of trees in an attempt to rewild / reforrest the wild area of the ground. This involves learning about the native trees that were present in the area.

    The small patches of woodland that we currently have has many interesting fungi and we'd love to learn more about how to keep the woodland flourishing.

    We're also trying to manage the amount of bracken that is trying to take over the garden!

    2)
    I have a large 40 foot poly tunnel that was massively overgrown and that I have finally reclaimed and restarted...!
    Learn about growing your own food and help me experiment with growing food for year round harvest. Both in the polytunnel and outside in the home kitchen garden.
    I'm using the no dig method of gardening so this is something I'm keen to share and learn more about. I'd also like to expand my knowledge of sustainable growing.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Hindi: Fließend
    Urdu: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be very welcome to stay in the main house with your own room and ensuite bathroom.

    We'd love you join us for dinners with lots of lovely Scottish produce!

    We're big fans of vegetarian food, so it's not a problem for us to abandon meat for a while!
    And we’re very good at looking after gluten / dairy free people :-)

    Anyone who loves to cook can also feel free to take a turn! and of course the tidy up is a shared job!

    You’re welcome to join us for simple breakfasts and lunches.
    We have a small dog who would love extra walks and company!

    There is WiFi.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A car is pretty useful out here!

    If you are not driving don't worry - we can pick you up and drop you off to Inverness (the capital of the Highlands).

    The village is a 10 minute walk away. There are pubs, restaurants and a couple of small cafes and shops. It is a proper fishing port too. With boats coming in from many countries. But remember this is a remote and wild area there isn't much night life!!

    We're situated on the famous "North Coast 500" route, so you could easily complete this amazing road trip!

    One of the most special beaches in the Highlands is also a short hike away from the house (Achmelvich).

    I'm a big fan of yoga but have no one to practice with... An accomplished yogi would be a dream guest!

    We are a gay couple so this shouldn't be an issue for any guests!

    The mobile reception can be very poor.

    There is also a little dog living with us. He lives for walks, cuddles and treats!

    We're very laid back people but we are also very hard working and meticulous and expect our guests to try their best at all tasks.

    Research the Scottish 'midge' :-)

    And if you still feel enthusiastic come and join us in the wilderness! x

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Very happy to host people who can continue their work away from home. The internet speed here isn't the fastest. But it's reasonable for the location. So might not be suitable for very high speed needs.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 678597873635