Join our family in restoring our century old home in Alquerubim, Portugal



Bisher 55 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Our family of three, two small dogs and the Portuguese cat, Princess Aya, have moved into a property 20 minutes inland from Aveiro and just under an hour South of Porto.
    The house is over a hundred years old and is in need of renovating. Large iron gates need revitalising, windows and doors removed and sanded, walls cleaned and painted and hundred year old murals on ceilings and walls carefully cleaned and restored. The house was left empty for over 20 years and was vandalised so is in need of some care.
    The garden needs to be tidied and the vegetable garden maintained.
    It is a great joy to to recover the beauty of the shutters and windows as well as the wooden floors as the original wood is hardwood and so is in good condition under the neglect.
    There is a bus that runs past the house and goes to Aveiro and a train station nearby that goes to Porto.
    Barra beach is 25 minutes away which is good for surfing.
    There are good walks in the countryside surrounding the property and the river is in walking distance.
    The house itself is on a road, which is not too busy.
    We have recently completed converting one of the rooms into a recording studio and musical collaboration is always welcome.

    If you are interested in gardening, woodwork, restoring murals, playing music, taking the dogs for walks, taking turns to cook and clean, playing Catan and have an excellent work ethic then please think about joining us.
    Camper vans welcome and work hours and food arrangements can be negotiated.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Create music
    Learn wet and needle felting and crochet

  • Arbeit


    Wood restoration of all windows, doors, ceilings and floors
    Gardening and Landscaping
    Maintaining a vegetable garden
    Painting ceilings, walls, doors
    Cleaning and restoring 100 year old wall murals (paintings)
    Helping with household chores
    Carpentry and building skills especially welcome!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are learning to speak Portuguese

  • Unterkunft


    Own bedroom, shared bathroom
    Camper vans welcome
    3 meals a day if staying in the house - camper van stay, meals can be negotiated
    Shared cooking and cleaning roster

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Simon runs his business from home which is an online business and so we have ADSL uncapped.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Water and a connection to electricity and internet can be provided.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    There is a cat and two Yorkshire terriers on the property so a cat friendly dog would be welcome. The property borders onto farm and woodland so would not be suitable for a dog that wanders off on his or her own, although a gate could easily be added to shut off the property as the entire property is fenced.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 661159742566