Help create a self sufficient micro farm in Lares, Puerto Rico

Country

Puerto Rico

Bisher 118 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.02.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    183

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a 48 year old woman, I live by myself on an aprox 4 acres hill of rock, woods, and bush. I intend to make it into a self sufficient micro farm, with bees, small hydroponics and aquaponics systems. Raise chickens, rabbits and a pair of dairy goats. I have an unused plant nursery gone to seed, but not back breaking to get back into production quickly. For almost 20 years it held strong in sales of medicinal and culinary herbs. I also want to develop an eco camping site with alternate construction structures. The wooded part is to be set as a energy healing center where we offer different types of therapy. Keeping it as close to nature as possible. Trails, water features, wooded paths, individual meditation stations, hammocks, etc. My dream is to create a place where everyone is welcome and our differences bring us together. The location is Lares, Puerto Rico. Small town nestled in the mountains. A lot of nature activities, laid back hangouts, great food. Not really close to beaches, but not an inconvenience to get there. For the time being I could use some strong arms and some knowledge in building rough, rustic wood structures, skill with tools, powertools. Clearing out the brush. For the time being, sleeping arrangements would be campsite. Tents, sleeping bags. Common food prep area and toilet and showers available on the property. As soon as certain areas are done I can start booking activities and generating some income, which paired with the plant nursery and the dairy goats will enable me to provide more sturdy structures for our volunteers, and simultaneously keep working the eco campsite. I have a ton of ideas, a little bit of know how a huge heart and an open mind. Now throw some questions out here and let me know about you!


    07/28/2018

    **UPDATE:** We want to start off by apologizing to all those who wrote and we were not able to get in contact with you. We were just able to get our internet connection back from after the storm Maria. All the work we had in progress was destroyed on the property. We are looking into regrouping and start accepting applications after Jan 2019 for the relaunch of the project. None of our plans from underneath have changed and we are firm in the original vision we had for our project. We will particularly be looking for help removing all debris and fell trees for the first couple months given the fact that the project area is covered by blown over mature trees.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Practice Spanish, learn the local cuisine, know an island recognised for it's natural assets as well as a cultural hub.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Cyber knowledge appreciated. Basic knowledge of tools, power tools. Basic building of rustic wood structures. Nature lover, animal lover... hard physical labor, mostly work done by hand or small equipment.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Campsite (temporarily) tents, sleeping bags. No electric or running water at campsite, but electric, toilets, showers, food prep area on property.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Get to know the mountains of PR and also enjoy it's beautiful beaches. Vibrant metropolitan area full of cultural activities. Host will provide transport to some sites, other times car rentals are locally available.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 654773136832