1 / 3
new host  

Share daily family life on our homestead in the majestic, peaceful hills of Kremnica, Slovakia

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there. We're Robo & Brielle, and along with our 4 young children (ages 3-11), we live on a small homestead in the hills of central Slovakia. We moved here 5 years ago with the intention of slowing down, and so we live a life without many routines or schedules. Still, there's work to be done every day, nearly all of which we do ourselves.

    As soon as we first set eyes on this home, we knew it was a place where we would welcome others, a place that needed to be shared. Guests who come to stay with us have the opportunity to slow down, to live simply (albeit even for only a weekend, sometimes), and to marvel at and enjoy nature. Now that our upstairs apartment rental is well-established during the busiest seasons of the year, we'd also like to open it to Workawayers looking to develop skills or learn new skills or spend time with a helping mentality in our unique setting. While we don't dedicate too much time to our professions currently (our home/family life demand too much attention), Robo is a personal trainer and massage therapist who's interested in permaculture & movement, and Brielle is an English literature teacher and doula/perinatal educator who's interested in baking & reading; both of us are deeply committed to personal growth, to respectful/gentle parenting, to homeschooling, to sustainable living, to community building, and to bringing love, joy, and harmony to the world. When guests come to stay, there is so much opportunity for meaningful time spent here—time to learn, heal, rest, connect, & grow.

    Throughout the course of the year, you’ll find a modest selection of apples, walnuts, pears, plums, blackberries, strawberries, currants, gooseberries, raspberries, snap peas, string beans, pumpkins, squash, zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, and/or onions, as well as a variety of herbs, growing around our property. Our rooster will rouse you with his crowing, which continues all day. You’ll hear our hens happily clucking and chirping away as you come and go. Our 3 cats will come for belly rubs and our dog will bark and bark until you come close and give her some attention, too. And, of course, the sights and sounds of our active, happy, loud children fill every waking hour of every day. There’s always something going on here, and it’s that vibrancy, that feeling that life is radiating in all directions, that makes our house feel like a home.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    *Spend time intentionally--we feel blessed that we become more attuned to living this intentional life with each passing day. If something no longer serves us or restricts our dreams in any way, we know we have the choice to choose a new path. Simply knowing we always have a choice is magical, the height of empowerment. We like sharing this knowledge and understanding with others, discussing it, exploring it further, offering ourselves up as ever-evolving guides.

    *Spend time with an alternative, open-minded, multicultural family--as two parents home full-time with our 4 children, we have consciously shifted away from the hustle of modern life and settled into a slower life filled with presence and intention. Our children are unschooled, which means their learning is all interest-led and self-directed. We are incredibly respectful people who love getting to know people from other cultures and parts of the world. Both extremely outgoing and communicative, we thrive off of social interactions.

    *Learn about/develop skills key to homesteading--we can offer a glimpse into a life centered around caring for nature and aiming for self-sufficiency in practical, manageable ways. This includes gardening, fruit tree maintenance, herb collection & drying, cooking/canning/preserving, animal care, etc.

    *Practice English with a fully fluent family--Brielle is a native speaker and professionally, an English language & literature teacher of 17 years. The entire family is bilingual in Slovak & English.

    *Learn about Slovak culture, language, food, and customs in an immersive environment.

    *Enjoy the gorgeous region of central Slovakia with local trips/travel--as we've been living here 5 years and run a rental apartment, we're well-versed in helping visitors make itineraries for local trips.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We're looking for help around our small homestead, mostly with gardening, animal care, and outdoor projects/maintenance. We are also interested in other families with children coming to stay for companionship for our own children. Each of our days is unique here--we function very much with a sort of predictable spontaneity, going with the flow from morning and seeing what each day requires of us, doing our best to complete the necessary tasks. We are looking for laid-back people who can jump into our flow with us and communicate effectively & honestly--we're very big on open, clear communication in our family. Workawayers won't be asked to help with our rental apartment or our business activities in any capacity.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Slovak: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Armenian: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We would love to work on our Spanish & Armenian skills and share our English & Slovak skills.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    *For 1-2 Workawayers, we have a private bedroom in our home. It has 2 single beds, a small seating area, a window that faces the backyard, and an adjacent full bathroom (which we also use as our family laundry room, but we wouldn't need constant access to it). Those Workawayers would share our family kitchen.

    *For a family of Workawayers (4-7 people), we have an upstairs apartment that is fully furnished and sleeps up to 7 people, with 2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, a living room, a kitchen, a dining room with balcony, and a large entry foyer.

    *All Workawayers would have full access to our fenced yard, which is ~7,000m2. The outdoor space also includes a covered patio with a table and chairs.

    *For those traveling by car, we have ample parking space.

    In the event that Workawayers are helping us for the maximum of 4-5hrs, 5 days/week, we're happy to offer for them to share in our two main meals each day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Kremnica is an idyllic place to visit—it's not only home to the world's longest continuously operating mint, but also a fantastically central location for a whole host of year-round activities. The town has some lovely museums and attractions, a few bakeries & sweet shops, several restaurants, and two small supermarkets. Behind our home are hiking trails that are accessible straight from our property, including one that leads to Kremnica’s kalvária and its sweeping views of the surrounding hills. If you love exploring, there’s no shortage of activities here—within an hour’s drive, we have caves, hiking/biking trails, natural thermal spas, castles, and other historic towns. What’s more, as we’re at [what some consider] the geographical center of Europe, it’s a convenient place from which to travel to other central European countries and beyond--Bratislava, Budapest, and Vienna are all within 2.5hours, as are a host of other smaller cities.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a strong Wi-Fi connection and have hosted many people who've needed to work while here over the years. There is ample space indoors and the connection also reaches parts of the property outside.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We would be open to workawayers with pets, but would need to discuss further to see whether dogs specifically would be a match with our dog.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 648647756759

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Help us at our vegan animal sanctuary in Suchan, Slovakia
Help with cleaning and small renovations in my house situated in one of the old parts of Bratislava, Slovakia