Help at beautiful house and garden in the Norfolk countryside, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 141 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live in a beautiful Georgian house with 8 acres of land in the Norfolk countryside. I renovated it from a wreck in 2011. There are always plenty of jobs to do, especially outside. Although I enjoy gardening, I have become a slave to my garden... Trying to combine it with working for a wildlife conservation charity based in London is a challenge. So I am trying this website, hoping to find people who are willing to help me out in return for spending time in a beautiful part of the UK. I have a heated outdoor swimming pool which you would be welcome to use as much as you like, in return for keeping it clean (the pool is open from the beginning of May to end of September). Relaxing by the pool with a cold drink after a few hours gardening is not a bad way to spend your time...

    I am flexible on timing - anything from a week to a month. It would suit one person, a couple or friends who were happy to share a room.

    So if you’re interested, please get in touch.

    Andrew

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The house is a 20 minute train ride from the local station to Norwich, which used to be the second richest city in the UK before the Industrial Revolution. It has a lovely cathedral, 1,000 year old castle, large permanent market and a well preserved network of medieval streets containing small independent shops, pubs, restaurants and coffee shops.

    Norfolk is one of the most rural counties in the UK, with a long coastline with huge sandy beaches (the nearest beach is about 9 miles away - there are often seals resting on the beaches, up to a hundred or more, with pups born between November and January). Norfolk has the one of highest number of old stone-built village churches in the UK, often built with profits from the wool industry. A famous part of Norfolk is the Norfolk Broads, which is 5 miles away. It is an extensive network of rivers and lakes, for sailing and hiring boats and kayaks - the lakes were dug out by hand when peat used to be dug for fuel. It’s great for wildlife - I have seen otters, kingfishers, barn owls and grass snakes.

    You would experience life in the English countryside and contribute to developing and maintaining a beautiful English garden.

    About me: I am 53, single, gay, used to work in a London law firm but left in 2012 when my partner suddenly passed away. Since then, I have renovated the house, travelled (eg hiking to Everest Base Camp) and in August 2016 started my new career in the wildlife conservation world. I love travelling (have been to c60 countries), photography (particularly wildlife), sport, history, politics, current affairs and am generally happy chatting to anyone about pretty much anything. In case it’s of interest, my bnb guest profile includes reviews such as “Andrew is a charming, intelligent and observant man and, I would have to say, the perfect guest.” And no, that was not from my mum...

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The main jobs would be mowing the lawn (mainly using the ride on lawn mower), weeding, clearing areas for planting, chopping wood, generally keeping the garden tidy, keeping the pool clean. There could also be maintenance such as basic painting, but only if you want to do it. Some cleaning in the house would also be useful.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Own en suite double room in a 4 bedroom house, with 4 reception rooms
    Use of the rest of the house, with Sky TV, WiFi, table tennis room

    Meals would be provided when I am at home, otherwise I would buy in provisions and you can use the well equipped kitchen.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is the local train service to Norwich (and north to the seaside resort of Cromer) and a local bus service (though not very frequent).

    As well as the garden and pool, the house has areas of woodland, a pond, an orchard and a wildlife meadow. There two fields where horses are kept (not mine). I have a local guy who helps me once a week on bigger jobs but that is not enough help.

    I like meeting new people. The house is big enough for us to have our own space (eg there are two rooms with flat screen TVs with Sky TV) but also plenty of opportunity to sit and chat. I like sharing what I know about the area and the UK as a whole (if people are interested) and finding out about other people and their culture.

    There will be occasional weekends in the summer when the house will be full of friends visiting, which would be an opportunity for you to visit other parts of the UK (a weekend trip to London is very easy).

    I sometimes go to London for anything from one to three nights, so Workawayers would be here in their own when I am away. That is fine with me, I just want to let people know in case anyone would not want to be here in the countryside on their own.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 647473511857