Help with my old summer house on a beautiful island near Uusikaupunki, Finland

  • Favourited 120 times
  • Last activity: 13 Apr. 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Minna. I'm 50+ years old lady. I have a summer house in an island close to shore in western Finland. The island is called Seikonmaa if you want to check it on maps. Close to this area is said to be the most beautiful islands on the world. I have a boat ofcourse and the island is only 500 m from closest shore. We can organise for you to have your own means of transportation also. I have a rescue dog here that I take care of, Rumba.
    I would need some help in renovating and cleaning the house. The upstairs is still unfinished so my goal is to finish that this summer. Garden also needs work but to get the upstairs ready is the main goal. I'm not super keen to cook food so it would be nice if you could do some cooking sometimes.

    What I want to offer is for you to experience proper Finnish sauna by the sea, beautiful archipelago with its unique nature. Good area for fishing too. Its 5-10 min drive to Uusikaupunki center where there are many restaurants by the see. I have one extra small boat with small engine that you can borrow if you want to go to shore alone. And an air filled two-person canoe for paddeling around the island.

    Its good if you are a couple but ofcourse singles are wellcome also.
    You need to know there is no running water (so outdoor only) and only solar power. You will have a private room. Hope to see you soon!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Finnish culture and nature and people. If you want to improve your english or are interested in learning swedish or finnish I will be happy to teach.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is old and needs some cleaning and renovating inside. You don't need any special building skills though. Just extra pair of hands.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm very interested in learning different languages and teach you also some if you are interested.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room. Communal outhouse toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can take boat trips. Great fishing spots if you are interested. Restaurants also nearby. We can organize bicycles for you and maybe you could lend my car also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is free parking at the shore.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    No pets allowed at the moment.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day. Flexible.

Host ref number: 626646551673

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)




Inspire, play and explore with our little international unschooling family on a tiny island, Åland, Finland
Rustic eco villa conscious living in Hausjärvi, Finland