Hilf mit unserem Naturgebiet und mit Instandhaltungsarbeiten auf unserem kleinen Bio-Bauernhof in der Nähe von Llandello, Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 552 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    85  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, we are Sheila and Cliff. 4 years ago we took on an enormous project which is 4 houses surrounded by 22 acres of wild woolly wilderness.

    Our passion for many years has been wild life conservation and we are managing the 22 acres as a "human animal" free wild life reserve. We are mainly rewilding it. In the absence of dogs, cats, chickens, sheep, horses and cows many wild animals have found a peaceful home here. We have many resident owls, bats, frogs, and toads. We have also seen foxes, badgers, polecats, hedgehogs, weasels and deer.

    The whole reserve is organic and we use no bleaches, pesticides or weedkillers.

    We are also passionate about growing as much of our own food as possible and we have two large poly tunnels and several newly established out side veg beds.

    In order to pay the bills we rent out one of the houses and we have also set up two glamping units. One of the glamping units is a double decker bus and one is a boat sunk in the field.

    We are really keen for any of our visitors/volunteers to value their wild life experience. We are also keen to introduce them to eco cleaning products and for them to understand the impact of using petrochemicals. We are on a private water supply and sewage system and we encourage visitors to be conscious of what they put in the water. For instance we mainly use compost toilets as a ways of reducing the water we use and the pollution that we create.

    Sheila has a diploma in permaculture gardening and we also have other experimental growing beds. We are very happy to share our knowledge and explain how and why we garden the way we do.

    We are vegan for ethical and environmental reasons and we eat a mainly whole food plant based diet. We cook our own bread and buy 25k sacks of peanuts to make peanut butter!!

    We were foster carers for 15 years before we adopted a 6 year old boy with autism. Our 6 year old boy (connor) is now 14 and bigger than both of us. He is mainly non verbal but very smiley and happy.

    In the afternoons and at weekends there will be lots of time to relax and explore the area.

    We have four young grandchildren and, as well as looking after Connor, we spend a lot of time with them.
    When we are not too tired we like to socialise and play board games and card games; you're welcome to join us.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have hosted many volunteers from workaway (see reviews).

    As mentioned we have a lot of experience with fostering, gardening, ecology, If you are interested in any of these topics don't hesitate to ask!

    A traditional village pub is a short walk from the property.

    The local castles and parks of Carmarthenshire are lovely and we live a 50 minute drive from some truly beautiful beaches. The country town of Llandeilo is 4.5 KM and you can cycle there. Llandeilo is a picturesque little town with many pubs and an award winning ice cream parlor. At the edge of Llandeilo there is also an old manor house which is owned by the National Trust and is open to the public. The manor house is surrounded by a deer park which has many massive trees of national importance. There is also an historic Castle a short walk from the manor which is a great place to visit for panoramic views of the Towy valley.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are a lot opportunities for volunteers to help in the garden and in the nature reserve. There will also be cleaning, painting and general maintenance.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a large room with a private entrance. The room has a fridge, kettle and small cooker. Toilet and shower are across the yard. Volunteers can cook independantly or we can eat together.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is good walking in the area, there is an Iron age hill fort, and a big lake that you can go swimming in a short walk away. We also have bicycles and helmets you can borrow to help explore the area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a good private park up and access to outside loo and shower

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours a day 5 days a week.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

















































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 597655625586