Looking for help to expand our homestead in Northern California, USA



Bisher 105 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Hello workawayers! We are a young couple homesteading in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada's in Northern California. We've got 20 acres of property nestled up to Tahoe National forest. We're located 40 minutes from Grass Valley, 1.5hr from Sacramento and 2hr from Reno NV.

    Both originally from Boston, we enjoy a laid back lifestyle of living in harmony with nature, working hard, eating and living well, being spiritually driven and physically fit and having lots of fun! Chris is an arborist, jack of all trades and idea man who cooks the best Italian recipes and sometimes breaks out his saxophone. Carlie is a yoga teacher/chef and artist currently working wellness retreats who will feed you like royalty.

    Our farm is a little slice of heaven! Veggie gardens, fruit trees, walking trails, secret river spots, a yoga platform and endless natural beauty. We live off the grid with spring fed water and all the creature comforts you might desire. The property consists of a main home/cabin where we dwell, a large workshop full of tools and machines for farm projects, another 2 story cabin under repair which will one day soon be an art studio and second dwelling, a former horse barn which is under construction to become a yoga studio/event space, a double wide trailer fully equipped with water and fire burning stove, 2 outhouses, a large veggie garden, solar water heated outdoor shower and more!!

    We have a grand vision of expanding our small homestead to be a wellness retreat center as well as a fully functional small scale veggie and chicken farm however currently, we maintain a reasonable sized vegetable garden, have many fruiting trees, chickens, dogs and cats and abundant projects to occupy our days on the farm.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We like to work hard and play hard here on the farm. In the summer it is HOT, so we try to wake early, work early, and then take off and explore the beauty this area has to offer. There are incredible swimming spots along the Yuba river, a lake nearby where we often take out the boat, and so many great places to hike and camp. We truly live in a wonderland of natural beauty with so much to do for those wanting to get out in nature.

    We're also a short drive from a spot on the Pacific Crest Trail for those avid hikers out there.

    Nevada City is a wonderfully quant historic town with abundant social and community driven events. We're more than happy to show you around, offer rides when we can and generally help you see and experience as much of this area as possible.

    Carlie is fluent in French, we have some basic Spanish and are eager to learn more! We will teach you what we know in the fields of farming, food, and homesteading and are happy to learn about you and your skills as well!

  • Arbeit


    We're looking for helpers who are easy going, down to be creative, team players and generally excited about getting dirty, getting busy, and having fun while doing it! Every day on the farm looks different, so you'll be asked to lend a hand to a wide range of chores and projects. Some examples might be: weeding the garden, watering, setting up irrigation, building garden boxes, some carpentry help with our out buildings, lawn mowing, cleaning the chicken coop, firewood collection, and general maintenance of our land.

    Once in a while one or both of us need to leave town for a short spell so ideally someone could help with keeping things in order for a day or so if that happens.

    If you have special skills or crafts to share with us we're open and excited to incorporate your skills into the farm. We're working on completing an art space which will include a pottery wheel and kiln and there are many wood working tools for those interested in creating with their hands.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English. French. Basic Spanish

  • Unterkunft


    There is a trailer on the property that can sleep up to 2 people, a small kitchen with propane, no electric but we do have solar lights to supplement.

    If you are excited about camping this is ideal. There are 2 covered camp zones with off the ground platform. We have some extra camping gear if you need. There's a dreamy outdoor shower nestled in a bed of spearmint that is a true delight in the summer months.

    Our home has solar powered electric and propane so you can share some fridge space and use the power for charging phones etc.

    We will help you acquire groceries to feed yourself when you so desire. Otherwise, Carlie is constantly working in the kitchen and there will be delicious and healthy food available for meals.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 583687569185