Help Develop Permaculture Food Forest / Forest Garden Near Ithaca NY Finger Lakes Region, USA



Bisher 245 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  • Beschreibung


    I am a 27 trans feminine person practicing permaculture, living with my mom who is an artist working as an in home caregiver for people with alzheimer's. We also live with one medium sized dog and a cat, and we have a few chickens which are new as of this year. We live in an old 1800's farm house near Ithaca NY (one of the oldest houses in the area).

    For 8 years I've been working with the 2 acre property here developing a food forest garden, and I hope someday to do this with a community of people and not need to use so much money, being able to grow most of the food we eat and make many of the things we use. So I'm interested in a bunch of different old skills. I have the most experience with permaculture, which is not actually a new thing, just a modern rebranding of practices from a type of society much older than agriculture known today as horticultural societies. And I also have some experience with wood working, especially building things in the garden out of scrap black locust lumber from the local locust lumber mill (raised beds, trellises, a chicken coop, etc.). But I'm also interested in finer woodworking and have a pretty large collection of hand tools that I've collected over the years. I'm also interested in things like blacksmithing (particularly tool making), leather working, weaving and fiber works, pottery, and natural building (timber frame, cob, waddle and daub), and I welcome teachers both in the things I have experience with and those I don't.

    I also grow mushrooms on logs and like to make fermented foods (sauerkraut, kombucha, milk kefir).

    Sometimes I make biochar and compost tea, and if your interested in those sorts of things we can make sure to work on those projects together.

    My first experience with workaway was as a volunteer. Between the ages of 18 and 20 I spent a total of 19 months traveling, first in new zealand and then in europe and west asia, and stayed with many different woofing and workaway hosts in a number of different countries. I learned a lot from these experiences, and especially loved the cultural exchange aspect of it, so when I was back home in Ithaca I decided to offer to host people at our home. We only have people stay with us once in a while depending on whether I'm working other jobs, how much work Im doing here that could use help, and what else is going on in our lives, but we've hosted a handful of people over the past 6 years and every time has been a good experience!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I can teach you about many of the plant species on the property, and actually this could be quite good for you to learn during work sessions so you can recognize which species can be weeded and used as chop and drop mulch and which ones are more precious still getting established for now, and also about some of the forest gardening techniques and strategies I'm experimenting with.

    I could also show you how to use some different woodworking hand tools and how to carve spoons a bowls and other small woodworking projects, and maybe some larger ones depending on what I'm working on at the time.

    I play guitar and have written many songs, and I can teach you songs on the guitar. And in general we can play music together. I'm not very good at improve jamming but i can learn songs. Or what I've often done with people when they also play guitar, is to trade of playing songs for each other.

    I also like doing things like yoga, meditation, and occasionally massage with workawayers who practice these things.

  • Arbeit


    Help developing and maintaining the food forest and gardens (digging, weeding, chop and drop, sheet mulching, planting, and harvest).

    Help in the kitchen and with house cleaning are appreciated, though not required. Though sometimes I have done big cleaning projects with workawayers, especially in the winter when theres not as much to do outside.

    Help with any building projects I have going on at the time. In the past workawayers have helped me with things like trellises, fences, and the foundation and frame for the chicken coop.

    There is natural building project that I have been working on on and off for several years, which at the moment is basically a rectangular pavilion with a frame and a roof but no walls, and depending on when I have free time and can find available materials I continue to work on this, so if it's something you're passionate abut, we could make this a priority. The next step I've been working on is to make woven walls for wattle and daub style walls, and there is also one wall that I want to make entirely from windows and I've begun planning how to frame this. Also if your passionate about any of these, other things which I've wanted to build but haven't gotten around to are: more greenhouses, an outdoor shower, an outdoor composting toilet, and a sauna.

    I have ongoing plans to turn the sunniest place on the property, which is now something like an overgrown meadow, into a big garden where we can grow most of the annual vegetables we want. And slowly I've been brining up organic matter for sheet composting, but its uphill with no vehicle access, so like all the organic matter and building materials that I've introduced to the garden from offsite, it has to be brought up by hand, and I could use a lot more help with this.

    In the past workawayers have helped me with felling and cleaning up trees, making stone garden edges, and with water management projects like hand digging swales, drainage trenches, and a pond.

    Places workawayers often go with me are to visit the scrap wood pile at the local black locust lumber mill, and to the free woodchip pile downtown.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    In the past I began learning turkish and french, though never reached anything beyond a very basic conversational level in either, but I would love to reassume learning either of these languages. And I love linguistics and learning about languages in general, so if you speak another language than english I will probably want to talk about it and ask you many questions. Likewise i'm happy to teach people about english, as well as what I know about lingustics and other languages.

  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own room.

    We can provide you all your meals and if you are vegetarian or vegan we can adjust to that. And we love it if you want to cook your favorite meals for us.

    I can show you around the area, and you're also free to explore on your own. We have multiple bicycles and there is a bus that comes by our house several times a day. We are 3 miles from downtown ithaca, and even closer to cornell.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Ithaca is an interesting town with a large music, theatre, and art scene relative to its size.

    There are lots of state parks around and many gorges and waterfalls. There are fishing and swimming holes, including one with a waterfall, and beautiful public forests down the road within walking distance, and even more within biking and driving distance.

    We also have two big universities; the ivy league cornell and the more modest ithaca college, so if your interested in academic lectures or exploring campuses that's a possibility. The art museum at cornell is pretty neat, and I've taken workawayers there a few times, so is the cornell botanical gardens and arboretum.

    Also this region is one of the largest wine producing regions in the eastern united states; if your interested in that kind of thing, but I'm not a big drinker so i probably won't go with you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 583527512194