A peaceful retreat amongst the eucalyptus forests in the Byron Bay Hinterland, Australia

  • Australien
  • Bisher 37 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 07.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Are you a couple or two friends traveling together?
    Would you like to workaway and chill out in a beautiful natural environment?
    Do you both have the confidence to work independently but also enjoy collaborative tasks, sharing ideas and finding productive ways to use your skills? If so, then a stay at our place may be of interest…

    Our home sits on a high ridge behind Mullumbimby and takes in majestic views from Mount Chincogan to Byron Bay and the ocean beyond. The property offers privacy and tranquillity in an incredibly beautiful, forest setting surrounded by 44 acres of native bush. There is a creek close by for swimming, trails for bush walking and places for sitting to soaking up the magic.

    Glenda and John are a retired couple and taking care of this amazing property requires help from time to time. We want to leave this land in better shape than we found it. Our mission is to regenerate native rain forest in areas that have been overgrown with non native weeds and reestablish habitat for native wildlife. Glenda also has a dream to create a retreat space for healing and creative expression. This will be our main focus for the next few years although the recent floods in our area have created some extra maintenance work in the short term.

    Good health, a sense of humour, harmonious relationships and a peaceful lifestyle are important to us. Glenda is a yoga/somatic movement therapist and John likes to make music. We spent over a year backpacking around the world in 2010, then came back to Sydney and 'sold up' to buy an off-road caravan and traveled around Australia for 3 years before finding our dream home and next adventure (here) in 2016. So we understand the wonders of traveling ... amazing places, interesting people, being on an adventure and the journey of self-discovery.

    There is a genuine welcome here for friendly, mature and respectful people to share our little piece of paradise, our life and our work for a few weeks.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Although we both grew up in rural environments, we have lived most of our adult lives managing businesses and raising our 3 children in the city. After a period of nomadic adventures we finally found our dream home in the Byron Bay Hinterland and have quickly learnt many new skills in regards to deepening our connection to the land, growing food, living sustainably and maintaining a rural property. As elders in our community we have journeyed far and wide, and are happy to share our stories and the wisdom of our many varied life experiences.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are always many projects on the go including, bush regeneration and weeding, seasonal pruning, fertilising and mulching fruit trees and native gardens plus maintaining the veggie patch. There’s also general household chores and maintenance that can provide variation to outside work. Special projects could be considered if our helpers had specific skills they were able to contribute.

    We anticipate you would help for about 20-25 hours per week. Either 4-5 hours per day with 2 days off or any variation there of … we can be flexible and are happy to discuss the work/time/skill/meal exchange arrangements.

    Although we are both in our senior years, we are energetic and hard working. We also cherish our private time for creative hobbies, attending to our family or community commitments and for resting. So please note that while we may often be working alongside you, it is important that you are willing and able to work independently at times.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is in a clean and spacious room above our double garage, with large windows offering expansive views over the gardens and distant valley. It has a comfortable king sized bed which can be separated into two single beds if required. The room has built in wardrobes plus a table and chairs. Your own shower and toilet is located downstairs, as is a basic camp kitchenette.

    For 25 hours of ‘helping’ each week we would provide food for you to make your own breakfast and lunch. Evening dinners would usually be ‘communal’ and include help with cooking, sharing recipes and of course travel stories!

    We mostly eat a whole food diet, including animal products and are happy to accommodate vegetarians as long as you can help with the preparation of your meals and don’t mind if meat was also served at the table.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located about 15 minutes drive from Mullumbimby and 30 minutes from Byron Bay, there is no public transport nearby so you would need to have your own vehicle to thoroughly explore the surrounding areas. While Byron Bay is famous for its chilled out beach culture, there are many gems to be found in the hinterland … old growth forests, waterfalls and iconic villages are all within 30 to 60mins drive away.
    For helpers without their own transport, we are happy to get you to and from Mullumbimby, where there is a bus service for the local area and connections to the highway (north and south).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Sorry, but we can't accommodate large buses.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 574834298624

Feedback (2)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Experience Australian culture and family lifestyle, help with general housework and childcare in Queensland, Australia
Genieße die herrliche Natur und hilf mit auf unserer Farm, Queensland, Australien