Help on a small Farm and in Animal Assisted Therapy - Germany



Bisher 135 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Working on a little farm and in Animal assisted therapy
    Our Familiy ( we have 5 kids, 2 girls moved out studying and working, 3 boys are at home 12, 16 and 24 years) live and run a little Farm "Hof kleine Arche" in a small rural village Sitters (100 people) near Bad Kreuznach (20km)/ Kaiserslautern (40km)/ Mainz (65km) in absolute beautiful landscape and a lot of nature around. We have rare breeds like Coburger Fuchssheep and also chicken and two cats. We breed and train Border Collies since 18 years for sheep herding and as Therapydogs. We work in Animal Assisted Therapy with dogs and ponys, 3 times a week we have ridinglessons for kids age 3 to 12 years. We breed mainly Shetland Original, Partbred and Miniature as well as Mini-Appaloosas, seldom we have foals from our 2 Dartmoor and Welsh B Ponys or the Islandic horses we have for family riding- The little poneys are trained for riding for little and/or disabled Children also some for driving. On our farm we harvest fruits like apples, plums and different berries and nuts. It is never boring and every day is different. We have more work and ideas then we can do alone - some fences, stables and a barn and cellar are still not "ready". We also have a fun loving family and friends, we love to share our experiences and homemade food and place. Also we look for good, responsible people a few times a year as we want to go to the sea for familyholidays with our children.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There is a lot to learn about nature and plants, herbs and animals, and rural farming in our area. Also about the men and animal bond we share and how the animals can help us (and others) to reach out to others and to reach our full potential and/or heal. You can learn how to train and understand dogs and horses and care best for them meeting their natural needs. If you are interested in riding and not to heavy for them there are a lot of breathtaking spots to go on horseback like ruins of former castles etc.. Nature Lovers, spotive people and those who need a break from citytraffic, noise and polution can breathe freely here and find joy in walking ( maybe with some dogs), hiking, running animal watching - sometime it is just silence and nature you can listen to…and nobody you will meet. The feeling of having done the work and harvested natures gifts as looking at homemade marmelade or juice and knowing (and tasting) to get the best incredients is fantastic and rewarding. Yo can get insights in a lot of themes like familylife in our country as you can come along with us to relatives, friends, church, societyevents, homes for elderly, disabled or comunity....
    If you need/like a good workout and like to do something you can see done it is a great experience to build or rebuild/repair something that is of good use, so you can learn a lot of new skills and create things. We have remodeling renovating projects as well as small projects. You can participate in our life and learn typical German Tradition and meals and recipes… we like to eat together at least once a day or also with Friends and neighbors. You can learn to work together in a team as well as on your own at your project. you can improve your German speaking skills and maybe help us/the children with English...
    You can find an open ear to listen and share your story and insights and ideas and learn to know new friends.
    We are Christian, we try to lve up to that and often run some social projects, some neighborhelp, some time for others in need. We pray,. read the scriptures have Family Home Evening, go to church and live our faith and respect others as well as they do the same with us... We do not accept bad language, deafening noise, drugs or smoking in our home or stables, etc.- be a person especially children can look up and learn from so while working here wear modest clothing and act in a friendly way.

  • Arbeit


    work in the garden, there are trees to be cut, fences to be build and repaired, a barn to be remodeled, some seeds to be pulled or cut and our Little farm shop to be stocked… The animals have to be cared for and cleaned/brushed, and stables, barns, cellars, fences,... sometimes need more attention. Some Projects like Paddock Building or a new Flyer a herb garden or some dog and horse tricks for the next horseshow, a firewood protecting place, and a new pasture are in stock …and therefore we can need help also by bringing the poneys in from the pastures and preparing and harnessing them and bringing them back after riding.
    If you are not a strong craftsman or worker there ist still enough to be done in other areas- caring for the animals has a lot of aspects … so feel free to get in contact - and there is a lot in life we can learn

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    German, English, French (French: only my husband)

  • Unterkunft


    In our 2 story farmhouse we have a Visitors room (heated) and our guests/Workers stay as part of the family, You can share work, activities, our home, familiy-live and meals with us. We have 3 meals a day breakfast (continental) a warm meal a day - mostly dinner/ lunch and bread with different sausages and cheese and vegetables in the evening. Nobody needs to be hungry here… (But we prefer people to use our recourses in a honest and mannerful way and not overdoing in eating half a glass of jam to one bread or the boys whole chocolate...) We also use the meat from our own sheep and like to barbeque. We prefer you non Smoking and do not accept druguse / smoking etc. in our home. In winter we have room for max. 2 persons- in the summertime maybe more...
    Languages Deutsch, English
    and French (my husband Andreas)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We also have nice sightseeing spots around a also cultural museeums and old historical sights. We have a busstop here and the next little City is 2km from us, the trainstation 7,5 km away. The next Airport is Frankfurt (90km), we can lean you a bike or if you have a Drivers Licence and no car of your own- also accusional a car (VW Bus) when not needed here. we live in an old farmhouse in the nature (not wilderness!) and it always takes some efforts to go elsewhere… But we also pick up friends, visitors and our kids from the trainstation.. There are some nice places, Restaurants and historical sights you can visit or feel free to find leisure time for reading etc..
    In the next big Cities Mainz, Kaiserslautern, Wiesbaden und Frankfurt there are a lot of culture events like concerts, exhibitions, art, museums etc.
    All around there are smaller villages/cities with different possibilities like sports, swimming, shopping, etc.- but what we like best is beeing in the fields enjoying nature, our animals , friends and each other

    we are flexible but please ask and we organize together when we can pick you up - not always is anybody at home waiting for a call to drive to the station...
    For us and our work and animals benefit we prefer you staying at least a full week /10 days better two weeks or longer. To learn to know our farm/animals /work and routine takes some time and it is not really helpful for us showing and explaining 3 days everything to visitors and then saying good-bye... mostly in the morning it is just me working outside, at the weekends the family, sometimes some friends... so our place is not always crowded, some days you do not even see some other people outside working the animals , feeding, cleaning etc. ..

    After some really bad experiences of people who didn`t show up , just didn`t answer anymore and do not react like spoken, leaving early in a hurry ( not because of us) and do not do as they promised, we have been really dissapointed by workawayers who didn`t live up to their profile and promises. Please think before you promise us some time /answers/ coming etc. because we count on you and there are more people interested around --- and if we promise you time at our place and with us maybe an other person has to be let down - and sometimes in tough times nobody came because of some others telling they would and we told others they can`t because of limited space and rooms... but they didn`t- so if you change your mind the least thing you should do is beeing honest immediately, and not just let us wait and wait and wait for answers and let us down in the end- sometimes without even apologizing. Others might be happy to have the opportunity - but can`t if you are blocking the calendar... If you are not sure what you want- first think about and get clear before you make your decision and then please stay to it- as we do also ............... Thanks for understanding.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 567433232128