come and help with a large, dismountable geodesic dome and bio-building and php programming in Malaga, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 94 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.08.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    236

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is an urban learning/ teaching project situated in a housing development in a town near Malaga, Spain. The beach, the city of Malaga and other nearby towns are easily accessible by public transport and sometimes, in my car.
    My daughter is living with me for a few months so the house is full but I can offer a fabulous caravan to stay. There you will have your independence with you own kitchen and bathroom but you are also welcome to use the accommodations in the house.

    There are several on-going projects at the time:
    - PHP coder to help with website
    - Bio-building with clay and other materials (guest-room, rocket mass heater, hot tub)
    - Help with garden (cooking area and various small vegetable gardens, compost and vermiculture spaces).
    - Help with cave I own in Granada

    I am open to both teaching and learning, sharing insights, exploring and experimenting with new ideas. The focus in gardening is to develop and teach drought resistance and soil regeneration techniques.
    The property is 1,500 sq. meters with only 1/2 of that being developed at present. Even so, there are lots of things to do every day. The volunteer can choose her/his focus. The goal is to create a learning/teaching center for urban living. If that is of interest to the volunteer, we can explore that opportunity as well.

    I am active in the local, natural building and permaculture/organic gardening scene. I'm admin of one of the largest bio-building groups in Andalusia and I host events at the house often and also get invited to many events in the area that you can also be part of.
    I am an active, healthy 70 year old. I have been a language teacher most of my life and am currently embarking on a project to of english conversation classes specifically focused on permaculture, organic gardening, social currency, natural building etc.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am bilingual Spanish-English and a language teacher. It would be a good opportunity for anyone who would like to practice either language. I am passionate about building with clay, soil regeneration, local currency, urban farming and love both to teach and to learn since I am always experimenting with new applications. I form part of an active, local, spanish speaking community of people who share these interests so the volunteer would be in direct contact with them too.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are several on-going projects at the time. One of them is a website for which we will need a php coder. The others are more related to the space itself. The building and gardening projects are varied and constantly evolving. At present my main focus is on finishing a large geodesic dome with a canvas covering.
    I am also in the process of adding a small room made of slipstraw to the house guests and volunteers. It will have a rocket mass heater. Someone with carpentry skills, basic electricty and plumbing skills would be helpful.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Caravan for max. of 2 people.
    I have 2 sit-down meals a day, which would be shared. Breakfast is independent. The work schedule depends on the weather. In spring I work most of the hours of the day, starting around 9am, after a slow breakfast, take at least 1 and 1/2 hour lunch break and work into the evening.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The property is in a housing development with nearby neighbours. There are buses to Malaga and the neighboring towns a 15 minute walk from the house. I have a car and can sometimes facilitate travel, or include the volunteer in my activities. The town is a 1/2 hour walk away, with a range of cultural and leisure activities. I enjoy conversing and also silence and down time. I am industrious, curious, experimental and enjoy the work I do, and would appreciate that from the volunteer as well.
    I have volunteered on farms and had friends here as volunteer helpers, and one very nice experience with a workaway helper.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 561919394911