Help with animals in Centreville, Ontario, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 15 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    A small family hobby farm in rural Canada owned by a same-sex couple and Mother. Looking for a farmhand to help with chores and animal care. Only 2 hours away from Ottawa (Canada's capital) , Toronto or Montreal. You are welcome to stay as long as you like, we encourage a guest to work for awhile and then go off on adventures exploring Canada, using our farm as a basecamp to return to.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Animal husbandry the old fashioned way. We are a small hobby farm and all our animals have names and get attention and care as household pets would. If you are interested in nature, and small scale farming, and livestock care working independently at odd jobs, Usual lambing season is Feb/Mar @ 15 lambs being born that most guests treasure memories of. That is also the time of the year we tap maple trees to make maple syrup [which we always need help with just it is such a cold/snowy time of the year here.] Farm life in the vast rural areas of Ontario Canada; where we work hard but still enjoy the hot-tub under the stars before bed and the fresh pure air of our 187 acre farm. Our farmhouse is from 1802. We live a very relaxed life where we prefer to be easy-going. Keeping extremely clean house is not as important on a farm, or when you can be out in the garden watching some wild swans that landed on the lake.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a family run hobby farm with sheep, pigs, chicken, goats & turkeys. We are approaching 60 now and find the more physical side of farm life more difficult. We have had farmhands for room/board before and it worked well. They worked @5hrs doing daily farm chores or special projects they preferred (a stone walled garden; new chicken coop etc.) and we fed and housed them. Lots of times they would 'compact' their work hours so they had 4-5 days off at a time to go travel. Our farm is centrally located in between Montreal-Toronto-Ottawa triangle of Canada. Must enjoy farm animals, getting dirty and hard physical work. Typical chores include mucking out stalls; helping with births, bailing hay, cutting firewood, bush clearing, barn repairs, landscaping, vegetable gardening, large garlic crop, handyman, farmhand; or really whatever practical skills you have we probably need done! Or if you have skills at carpentry, auto mechanics, plumbing, building, fixing -we can always find something needs doing.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    we have a large guest room you will have to yourself with your own bathroom in a very large very old farmhouse. But still modern kitchen, cable tv, high speed internet. It is a queen size bed so we would also consider hosting a couple. We are foodies who experiment a lot, make & grow everything and love to learn about other culture's food preparation. We do a lot of our own preserves/canning/pickling/wine making and of course home grown fruit & vegetable growing. If you are working while staying here we will provide 3 meals a day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    we have 3 dogs and 2 cats in the farmhouse so you must like pets and not be allergic. Also its important to us that any travelers be open minded and pro LGBT+ We are not a religious household. We are open minded and easy going; love to meet new people and learn from them as much as we like to teach. We have travelled expensively ourselves in our 20's before settling down to farm life. We stick close to home since the animals need care everyday, and chores don't stop. Possibly if things work well we might be able to go away for a week while you take responsibility for the farm (a paid position) (...a freedom we don't get to enjoy now.) But we are especially happy to have someone that wants to get out themselves and explore this part of Canada. We do travel to the city regularly so pickup/drop offs are easy to train station or airport.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our internet connection is good considering we are in rural Canada. Not sure what this nomad actually is; but happy to have someone pursue their own interests while staying here and working with us on our farm.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    As we have a very large farm with a lots of space. We also have a private 25 acre lake and our own forests.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 494353474235