aktualisiert  

Help with silkie chickens, and sustainability projects in Frazione Garbazzola, Asti, Italy

  • Bisher 113 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 24 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there, We are a couple of New Zealanders who are having an adventure in Italy.

    We've been developing our place to function as a place to connect with nature, slow down and free yourself from the worries of the world.

    We allow people who are referred by friends to stay here. Small groups of musicians, therapy groups and artists can also stay here. We operate on a donation only basis.

    We are in the countryside on 2 acres, surrounded by mature truffle forests and grape vines. It's 5 minutes drive to Nizza Monferrato where you can get trains to wherever you want from Monday to Friday.

    Although it's usually peaceful here we do have alarm clock roosters, bless him 💗
    If you are seeking total silence, remember that the countryside has its own noises.

    The town of Canelli is also only 5 minutes away. Bigger towns and small cities, like Aqui Terme, Alessandria, Alba and Asti are half an hour away.

    It's 90 minutes by train to be able to swim in the Mediterranean at Genoa or Savona, or to Turin near the Alps, and 2 hours to the Swiss or French borders.

    Our current project we need help with is to build a hen house for our silkies to provide a safe and comfortable home for them when they are not running around the property. We want it to fit in with the style of our house. The previous owners dismantled a very large pergola before we bought this place because attaching it to the wall of our house was against the unesco building regulations, but this has given us a great supply of materials that we can use for this project.

    Other than that there's always firewood collection, food gardening, and looking after our silkie chickens.

    Mike has installed some solar panels out in our field, and we we will build more pergolas to hold more of them, providing shade for our vegetables in the heat if summer.

    We ask for 25 hours work per week for your stay, or 12 if you'd like to buy and manage your own food. That's all negotiable.

    We offer you a private room with your own bathroom when we are quiet, but if there are others staying, you may need to share a bathroom. We have 2 double rooms for couples or friends and 2 single rooms. There is a studio that you can use for yoga, meditation etc, reading or playing music.

    We ask you to prepare your own food if you have a special diet.

    Mike is a musician and we welcome musicians to play with.
    I am a kinesiologist and also help people online. I can do some work with you while you stay here if you wish.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you want to learn English it is our first language. We'd be delighted to practice our Italian but we're happy to welcome you from any country.

    We go into a nearby villages most days, or often to a town so you can get to experience other places while you stay here.

    Occasionally we do a day trip to the seaside. We have an above ground pool at home to cool off in summer.

    If you are a musician you may get to play with other musicians. We have guitars, base, a drum kit, mandolin, keyboard etc. here. We now have musicians coming here to jam together once a month.

    You will learn how to manage silkie chickens (which are hilarious) and how to grow your own food. We can help you to be earth conscious. We regard ourselves as stewards of this place and do our best to respect nature in all its forms.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We ask for 25 hours work per week if we provide both accommodation and food. If you prefer to buy and cook your own food we are happy to negotiate reduced hours. We can sort out a schedule that gives you time to explore the area. There are two bicycles here. Access to trains begins in Nizza Monferrato (5km from here).

    There are usually simple daily tasks that help to keep the place running e.g. emptying bins, sweeping floors, keeping the animals fed and hydrated etc. These daily tasks are divided up between everyone.

    The trains don't come to our small local station in the weekend, so if you want to use public transport, best to travel during the weekdays.

    You will be helping us with firewood collection, making and planting of gardens, and chicken feeding. Our dog has recently passed away but we may do some dog sitting to friends so you may get to interact with dogs. Some cooking if you like to cook.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are learning Italian and would love to practice in normal daily conversation. If you are an Italian speaker and would like to learn more English we are both from New Zealand, and lived in Ireland for 20 years before coming to Italy. So we are fluent English speakers.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We provide a private single bedroom for individuals, or a double bedroom with double bed if you are a couple. You may have to share a bathroom depending on how many people are staying here. We can accommodate a family of 4 or more.

    The kitchen, dining and living rooms are shared. You can also use the large studio near your room as a space for relaxing, reading, listening to music, doing exercise etc. This can be a space for you to spread out and have some time outside of your bedroom. Then there's always plenty of private spaces outside.

    We live in a very large 300 year old Piedmontese wine growers house. We are still working on some parts.

    If we agree on board and provision of food we provide wholesome food. We don't eat much meat. If you have special dietary needs we would ask you to buy things that we don't supply.

    Recreational drugs are not permitted here. We may offer a glass of wine with dinner. Any other alcohol consumption should be done at the local cafes.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During your time off you can swim in our pool, walk through the forests and vineyards that take you to great views of the surrounding countryside and the Alps. You can take a bike and go exploring.

    We can drop you at the bus or railway station if you want to go anywhere further, or catch a lift with us when we go to the villages, towns, cities or seaside.

    We have a couple of bikes that you can use to get to the bus or train station. There's a nice cycle lane through the countryside to Nizza Monferrato where the trains are. It takes about 15 minutes to get there by bike. There's a cycle lane also being built in the other direction to Canelli.

    Or bike 1km down our road to little Calamandrana for the small markets on Saturday and Monday.

    It's a 20 minute walk to Calamandrana where there are 3 cafes, a couple of restaurants, shops and a cash machine. Theres the Almaranto retreat hotel a short walk from there. There you can get nice lunches etc. or pay €40 for a nice lunch and use of their pool for the day in a more classy environment.

    Our other close villages, Nizza Monferrato and Canelli have bigger markets on other days of the week. They have more cafes, restaurants and shops than little Calamandrana.

    We like to get out and explore and you are welcome to come with us. We used to walk our dog through the surrounding countryside twice a day. S8nce his departure we still go by ourselves.

    On a clear day, from the top of our usual walk we get a beautiful view of all the Alps in a big horseshoe. Fantastic.

    We are silkie hen fanatics. They are great little characters and always bring a smile to us. They are allowed to roam free on our property during the day.

    We love good fresh food, a glass of local wine with our dinner and we are partial to italian Icecream. 🤗

    We love people and like to socialise, have fun and make music. Mike is an experienced musician and I like to sing and play percussion. We like to keep our place peaceful and positive. We will want to hear from you if you are concerned about anything.

    We look forward to hearing ftom you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good internet coverage but we don't have wifi.We tether our phones to our computers. As long as you have a plan with unlimited data it works perfectly. If you have an overseas phone, if its unlocked you can get a sim card here for about €30 for the month and that will give you unlimited data.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Possibly, our german shepherd has recently passed on. Pets would have to be hen friendly.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours per week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 469166875764

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Hilf mit und bringe etwas Ordnung in den Alltag einer Community in Asti, Italien
Help me with projects on my small farm in the woods of Valchiusella, Italy