Icelandic Horse farm that would love to build a nice garden in Centerville, WA USA



Bisher 466 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hello we are a Icelandic horse breeding farm located in Washington state. We have a 240 acre farm and manage a herd of around 30 horses. These horses are mostly young horses and retired horses. We do have a couple of riding horses for an experienced rider but most of the horses are not rideable. My wife, Jen, Is from England and has been living in the states since 1983. I am a California native. We moved to Washington state in 2014 and love to hike around the Colombia Gorge. Your job on the farm would be tending to our animals; the cows, the chickens, ducks and horses. There are also maintenance type jobs such as checking the perimeter fence line, painting fences, watering trees and watering and weeding the garden. Mostly the work is at the beginning and end of the day and it leaves the middle of the day for adventures around the Gorge.

    We are specifically looking for someone who can take care of our farm for us while we travel the last week in September and the first week of October. We need someone who feels they can hold the responsibility of the animals and can think through emergency situations (like the animals getting out of a field or a water pipe breaking).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I believe travelers will learn a lot about the life of a horse farmer in the United States and how life is in a small country town. We have access to a lot of recreation such as kite surfing, skiing, kayaking, hiking, climbing and swimming.

  • Arbeit


    What we would expect from a volunteer is mainly help with the feeding of horses and the other animals and light handling of young horses. We would like help with the maintenance of the garden. I personally would love help with maintaining fence lines and possibly with rehabilitation of older buildings on the property. There are opportunities to do elder care with my mother who has dementia if that is of interest to you. She likes to play games and just sit and talk.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodations we offer would be a newly built 16x28 cabin that has its own bathroom and patio. Plenty of privacy and a great view of our farm, Mt Hood, Mt Adams and the Simcoe mountains. We also have a more rustic "upper cabin" without a bathroom that has two rooms, a double and a single and amazing views from upstairs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We can provide a vehicle, bicycles and Kayaks with all of the appropriate gear during the summer time. We have lots of hiking with plenty of waterfalls to check out. We are close to Hood River, Portland Oregon, and Seattle Wa. We live quite close to the Colombia River Gorge which offers fishing, hiking, waterfalls, bike trails, and camping. During the winter we have a lot of cross country skiing opportunities along with snowshoeing and downhill skiing or snowboarding.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 427768676626