Volunteer at a Quinta near Vale De Prazeres, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 6 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.05.2019

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, I'm Pete and I'm looking for one volunteer/companion to help with work on my one hectare organic smallholding near the village of Vale de Prazeres, (Valley of Pleasures), situated in a lovely valley below the Gardunha mountains. Aged 71, I'm retired,, (but not retiring). I've lived here for 16 years. I've been living here on my own for the past 3 years and now need some help with work around the house, but mainly with growing vegetables and upkeep of the land, including wood collection and logging. There are also many fruit trees to care for and harvest. Vegetarian food will be provided and the work will be done co-operatively/collaboratively and hours will be as flexible as possible.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This will be entirely up to the volunteer, but they can learn how to grow organic fruit and vegetables and how to live with a small footprint. N.B. I do not aim to be fully self-sufficient because the 'law of diminishing returns' applies. There will be an opportunity to exchange general life skills, computer skills etc. There's a local Portuguese village community of about 2,000, including a hundred or so immigrants, mainly from the UK.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Rotavating ground. Making and maintaining, (i.e. weeding, watering and hopefully harvesting), vegetable beds. Pruning trees and cutting fire-wood. Clearing scrub and brambles. Composting - there is a composting toilet. Some cleaning work around the house, washing up and cooking. Helping to looking after my large excitable but friendly dog, cat and about 40 goldfish that live in my irrigation tank/cistern - started with four and nature took over.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Portuguese very badly.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will live in my small farmhouse with your own bedroom/sitting-room (unheated) and you'll share the following rooms with me: a comfortable living-room with a wood burning stove, a bathroom (unheated) with hot shower and a composting toilet. There's a separate kitchen in a small building across a small courtyard and some storage rooms, (lojas), beneath the house. I will provide food for vegetarian meals which we will share.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The one hectare Quinta is about 2km from the village of Vale de Prazeres with it's cafe bars, small grocery shops, bakeries post-office and rail station for regional trains. Motorway access, to Lisbon in the south and the Guarda, Spain and Porto to the north, is 6km away. The nearest market town is Fundao which is 15km away and the university town of Covilha is 30km away. The nearest border with Spain is about 45km away by road. I have a tatty old car which is comfortable and reliable. I've become a stay at home type of person but enjoy driving on 'day-trips' to see new places.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    About 2 to 3 hours a day, but flexible depending on the weather and seasonal priorities.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 427185441464