Help us start a self-sufficient farm with off-grid projects and more in Sorano, Tuscany, Italy

  • Bisher 446 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 10 März 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    Welcome to our profile. Please read it carefully. If you want to apply for a workaway-stay, drop us a message and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

    Who are we?

    Thomas is a 31-year-old entrepreneur who comes from the hospitality service. For the past 7 years, he owned a restaurant in a busy, urban spot in the Netherlands, where he trained young people with autism to become more self-supporting. Thomas is now the general manager of a local retreat center (described below)

    Waleria works as a freelance researcher and human rights consultant, breath work facilitator and runs a human flourishing project for corporations.

    We are both working full time and do not have a lot of time to spend on our land, unfortunately. We do work with a very knowledgable and fun gardener from Holland, so you will be doing most of the work with him.

    We are both fluent in English and our native languages (Dutch, German and Russian). Waleria speaks Spanish and French. We are both practising our Italian, you are very welcome to practice with us!

    We have now been living in Tuscany for more than a year. Our initial plan to get Alpaca's fell through (after we nearly bought a herd of 13), we started a massive vegetable garden that produced a grand total of 10 zucchini, a handful of tomatoes and some lettuce, we started some off grid projects which we never got tot finish, etcetera. You get the idea. This year we want to do things differently, so we have hired a Dutch gardener who is keen to set up off grid projects and a campsite.

    Close to our land, about 10 minutes by car, there is a wonderful breath work community where events are organized that you can participate in. These include breath work sessions, yoga, massage, lunches en dinners, full moon gatherings, discussion groups, pizza nights, sharing circles etcetera. We also regularly drive to local towns, go on hikes and spend evenings at the hotpools.

    A regular day looks like this: we wake up quite early, around 07:00, go for a run and take a cold dip in the river. We have breakfast, with eggs from our chicken, home baked bread. Then we have to go to our jobs, and you will start working in the garden, or inside when it's raining. You work a minimum of five hours per day, we are flexible on when you work the hours. We do expect you to collaborate with our gardener, so you will have to check in with him if you want to take a day off / exchange working hours etcetera.
    When we get home, we'll cook, or maybe you already did ;), well play some boardgames, watch a movie, finish up some project, go to a restaurant or visit the local retreat center for one of their events.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are in central Tuscany, in a part that is older and less popular then the Tuscany you see in the pretty pictures. Although the land around is beautifull and rural, there aren't as many touristic things to do here as you might expect from Tuscany. The area is rural, full of wildlife, clean air, rivers, olive trees and more. The biggest cultural exchange you will have, will be the one with nature. On the other hand, we are blessed with nearby natural hotsprings, which serve the double function of a meeting spot for locals. We like to hang out there once a week, and meet new people.

  • Arbeit


    Tasks to do in the house when it's rainy are, but are not limited to: painting, refurbishing furniture, cooking, cleaning, crafting.

    Most of the work will be outside though, and will include: forest work, planting seeds, harvesting, trimming grass, construction, maintaining and collecting eggs from chicken, restoring fences, building a barn, chopping wood etcetera.

    All the future produce will be for our own consumption.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Russisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We would love to learn better Italian and in exchange we can teach you some English.

  • Unterkunft


    Our volunteers get to stay in the top floor of the house, where we have two rooms and a bathroom with a shower, a basic closet, a desk and heating. We are still working on getting wifi, so for now we have to rely on hotspots on our phone, which work quite well. In summer, you can also decide to put up a hammock and sleep in the forest or near the alpacas, which we highly recommend doing at least once!

    Downstairs we have a living room, Walerias office and a fully equipped kitchen where we can cook our meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no local transport, so you will either have to rely on us for transportation, or borrow one of our bicycles to go your own way. The closest village with a restaurant is 3 min away by car. A village with shops and the breathwork community is 8 km away (uphill). Recommended is bringing your own means of transport, but if that's not an option, we are happy to discuss this with you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen


  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a spot for a camper van where we provide electricity, water and waste disposal.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen


  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 425754567183

Feedback (5)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)