Join us at our small lakeside farm paradise on the beautiful west coast in Henån, Sweden

Country

Schweden

aktualisiert  

Bisher 353 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 26 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family with two children, aged ten and thirteen, living on a little farm on the side of a lake, at the end of the road, near to the sea and next to the forest on the beautiful island of Orust on the Swedish West-Coast. We've recently moved here and are working hard to make this little paradise flourish on all levels. For the moment we're still renovating, so the accommodation we can provide is quite simple with a basic standard.
    We have several buildings to take care of and quite a lot of land to grow food, herbs, flowers etc. We have a few beehives, sheep during the summer, pigs and chickens. Our children attend the local Waldorf-school, and we like to have people coming over so that we can together enjoy the beauty of the place, work, food, life... We have some cultural events here from time tot time, like gatherings with yoga, music and different workshops.

    We used to travel a lot in different parts of the world, and now that we settle down here, we want to invite the world to our place, to keep on learning and exchanging.

    Our goal is to make this place into a platform for all kinds of social activities, promoting cultural exchange and sustainable development on many different levels: personal, educational, (agri)cultural, environmental, artistic, etc.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There is all kinds of stuff to learn and to exchange here. To name some of it:

    Except for just learning about the land, the country and the nature by spending time in it, there is all kinds of practical stuff to learn, such as renovating and building with wood, managing the land, making your own timber and building with it, planting trees, growing your own food, making firewood, taking care of kids, plants, animals, the earth and each other. We have a small tractor from 1954 that you can learn to use and maybe learn something about mechanics together?
    This is all new to us, so we are just learning by doing, and you’re welcome to join us in this challenging but fun proces!
    If you want, you will also get to know the wonderful world of bees and beekeeping. In the summer season there is quite some work with the beehives, and taking care of the precious honey…

    We speak several languages fluently. We both love to teach (used to work as a teacher) and learn new languages and other interesting stuff. We also have a wide interest in stuff like nutrition, natural health care, midwifery, arts and music, philosophy, anthropology, shamanism, different spiritual traditions etc.

    We are world citizens and if you stay here, you will find yourself in an international environment, as we have friends from many different places that live here and/or show up now and then, so many languages are spoken here. We can share a lot about the cultures of Belgium, Sweden and many other countries we’ve traveled or lived in. If you want to, you might join us when we go for a sauna, go out rock-climbing or visiting friends in nearby eco-villages and so on.

    We love traveling and we will be happy to help you find places of your interest on the island, in the region and beyond.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Right now we mostly need help with building and renovating different wooden structures, such as a greenhouse, and a sauna, making more space available by re-organizing and moving stuff around (both inside and outside), developing the fruit and vegetable garden, beekeeping, working out in the forest (cleaning up fallen trees, cutting timber and firewood), preparing the land for growing more food, picking berries, taking care of the harvest...
    If you like hanging out with kids, there will be many opportunities for that too.
    We also like to share daily household-tasks such as preparing food, making fire, cleaning, etc. As it is quite an old farm (the main house is from 1894), there is always all kinds of maintenance work, depending on the weather and other circumstances.
    During the summer season, we will probably have quite some visitors coming over, to eat, camp, and hang out or join us on working days/parties, maybe some workshops, sweatlodge-ceremonies, and possibly other gatherings. That means there will probably be some preparation to do in order to let this all go smooth and get stuff done.
    We both work part-time. This means we are not always at home. We try to organise it so that at least one of us is home, but there may be days where none of us is home for a few hours. We do not count the hours we work on the farm ourselves and prefer not to count yours either, unless you prefer that. We are quite flexible and we believe in open communication where we can all listen to the needs of everyone and act accordingly.

    If you are interested to come and stay with us, we would like to have a (video) call to hear about your expectations about your stay. We can also explain to you which projects we are working with during the time of your stay..

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We love languages, always interested to learn more, and to share and teach, questioning the meanings and origins of the words and phrases we use. We have quite a few dictionaries (and a lot of other books) and love to look up and discuss things all the time. Also, we try to teach our kids new languages, by exposing them to a variety of languages and involving them in talks in other languages than their own.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Wake up in the morning, walk down to the lake, have a swim, get up, pick some berries, go out in the forest, start the day.

    Since we this year are several people living on the farm, the accommodation we can offer right now is a little house of you own (when available, probably during spring) or (during summer) a small caravan or a big canvas bell-tent. Depending on when you come and how many other people are staying, we will provide you with the most comfortable accommodation we can. You can also sleep in your own tent or van if you like.

    It's important to mention that we have a very "poor" or basic standard compared to most Swedish households, but we feel rich, because of the beauty of nature around, the good and healthy food we eat every day and the exchanges we have with people visiting. You'll be living close to nature, sharing most facilities with us and/or other people that might be around. Don't worry, we'll make sure that there is space enough for everyone.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The island of Orust and the region of Bohuslän on the Swedish West Coast are known as a popular tourist attraction, mainly in the summer season, when the number of people staying on the island almost triples. At our farm you don’t get bothered by all these tourists though. There are plenty of nice sights just nearby, especially if you like nature. The region is perfect (and therefore popular) for bathing, diving, hiking, biking, sailing, rock-climbing, paddling etc.

    You can walk or run to the forest, and the sea, but we also have several bikes, which you are welcome to use. In Slussen, the nearest (tiny) village, there is a vegan summer cafe, and a place where they have regular live-music performances during the summer. If needed, we can take you to the bus-station or the main town (Henån) where you can also find a local health-care centre, several shops, a library and other basic facilities.

    There are several interesting natural and archeological and art-sites nearby.
    If you want to go to a big city: Gothenburg (Sweden’s second biggest city) is just about an hour away by public transport or by car. Oslo (the capital city of Norway) takes about three hours. We’re relatively close to the E6 highway (on the mainland) and we have regular busses from the island to the main transportation hubs (bus, train) for both local, regional and international transport.


    We don’t use facebook or other social media, we prefer live, face to face contact. We like to have people around and do stuff together. We hope to share this beautiful place with many like-minded people. We believe we can all learn from each other and together make this place bloom.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 421565322672