Happy relaxed household welcomes you to Somerset, England, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 99 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    MAY JUNE 2020 Couple/two friends needed to help.

    Come & join us in Somerset in the South West of England.

    We need help and support with several jobs around the house and garden so if you are free please think about getting in touch! In 2020 we need workaways visitors from end of March until November/December.

    We are a relaxed, welcoming, happy household. Our 2 children, (22&23) are now living away from home studying at University during the term time. We have lived in our home in rural Somerset for 14 years after 20 years living in London. We both work from home and I (Sophie) am a chef/cook/event caterer and my husband, Paddy, is a wine merchant.

    We would prefer to host a couple or 2 friends travelling together as we know from experience that our house, lifestyle and workaway needs are better suited if we host two workaways.

    Ideally we’d love to host you for a minimum of 10-14 days and for up to 6-8 weeks.

    We are looking for enthusiastic workaway visitors who can really commit to helping us, be part of the family, and have some flexibility with helping hours.

    Only 25hrs p/p per week, so plenty of down time for exploring the beautiful area and having some fun.

    We expect our workaway visitors to live and help as part of the family, sharing some of the cooking and tidying duties - we are not vegetarian but happy to try and accommodate special diets where possible, so gluten free is not a problem for us.

    In exchange we provide good accommodation, good food and good company, and we will ensure that you have free time to suit your expectations of visiting Somerset and the South West of England. If you wish you could condense your hours some days and have a few days off to explore the area.

    We want our workaways to feel at home with us and become part of the home team. You will have the opportunity to practise English, experience English culture and get a taste of English country life. We help our workaways improve English skills as much as possible and enjoying learning about their home culture and travels.

    We have had some amazing volunteers in the past from another platform who have got stuck into everything happening in our home.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love meeting new people from all walks of life, sharing conversations and exchanging stories about our different countries and lifestyles, community, politics, energy, economics, history and more. It is always interesting learning about different cultures and approaches to living. Hosting workaway guests is an amazing opportunity for this!

    We love hearing about life in our volunteers' country of residence, about personal journeys, families and backgrounds, and we are very happy to help people improve their English as we work, eat and chat together!

    We can help you plan your journey and give you information to find the best way to arrive here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for enthusiastic workaways to assist with - gardening, maintenance, painting/decorating. Any experience of these DIY skills and/or woodwork/carpentry, brickwork would be a bonus!

    We would generally expect helpers to help 25 hours per week, i.e. 5 hours per day, with 2 days off per week.

    We have had some amazing volunteers in the past from another platform who helped with everything that needed doing.

    There are a range of opportunities depending on the interests of visitors, but some upcoming jobs in the garden include orchard pruning, laying out new flower beds.

    So as you can see we are looking for help with general garden maintenance, planting out, weeding and mulching the flowers beds ready for the coming season, creating new flower beds, sowing seeds and planting and developing new areas for planting and some upcoming jobs include orchard pruning, laying out new beds (we are aiming for a no-dig garden so not too much spade action!)

    We would love to host someone with a love of nature and gardening. Our garden is a haven for wildlife.

    In our home we have plans to redecorate some bedrooms and living areas. So workaway helpers with plenty of enthusiasm and some knowledge and experience of DIY would be great. Previous painting experience is useful.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, rusty french

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own double room with an en suit shower/bathroom. There is free wifi, plenty of space to relax, tv and a large warm kitchen. All food is provided, with breakfast and lunch available for you to help yourself to, evening meals will be eaten as a family when possible.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are not near any shops and a 20 min walk to the nearest village. We can provide transport to the nearest towns when possible, there are buses nearby, and we have bicycles available too. Our nearest village does have a shop a wonderful pub and a lovely tea room. There are amazing walks surrounding us and numerous local attractions to enjoy.

    Public transport is limited here but a lift to the nearest bus/train would usually be available for when you want to explore further afield.

    The sky is dark at night allowing for great star gazing. We have easy access to the surrounding countryside. So a great place to stay if you enjoy time outdoors!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 412327559917