Help us on our Permaculture Finca In The North of La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 355 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *️️*️️HELP NEEDED*️️*️️

    What are you doing in September/October?? (Ideal arrival date Sunday 22nd September)

    Why not visit the amazing island of La Palma, stay with us on our organic finca & help us complete our fence project??

    We're looking for hard working & strong volunteers to help us finish our boundary fence.

    The help is a mixture of terracing, landscaping, some stone walling, setting metal fence posts & hanging chain link fence...

    We've only got around 100m of relatively straightforward fence left to post up and hang, then we're done! (Completing nearly 600m of boundary fence in total!)

    Any experience of working with metal chainlink fence or basic/intermediate carpentry skills (to build some wooden steps/platforms/fence on a fairly steep section of the land) would be a huge advantage!!

    September is a great time to be with us. Great weather, lots of fresh organic food from the garden & plenty to learn + share...

    Get in touch, we're waiting to hear from you!!

    ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... .. .. .. .. .. . . .... ......... . . ...

    Be part of the exciting first stages of planning & creating a permaculture finca...

    Food forest design & planting / grey water systems / vermicomposting / chicken systems / hugelkultur / rabbits & sheep / pigs & goats / crater garden / companion planting / seed starting / water storage solutions / landscaping!

    ABOUT US...

    Hola!

    We are Jenny & Al

    We're now into the third year of our project of restoring our previously long abandoned finca in Garafia, La Palma.

    So far we've managed to clear and hard landscape most of the land, creating terraces, paths, walls, garden beds and tracks. We've concentrated most of the food forest planting in one area (so far) and have installed drip irrigation to help it establish. Much of the planting in the garden terraces & crater garden are still very young, but are already beginning to produce plenty of wonderful food!

    Our long term vision is to gradually restore the nearly 2 hectare land into a self-sufficient organic small holding.  Everything we are doing follows permaculture & biodynamic methods and using local seeds, native plants & animals.  All structures we build will be from local/recycled materials wherever possible, low impact and using natural building techniques. 

    We currently live off-grid in a self-built yurt, with outdoor sink, composting toilet and outdoor shower.  Please note we have no electricity (only basic solar lights & power bank battery for charging USB devices), but plan to install a small solar system when our budget allows.  Our water source comes from the volcanic gallerias.  We have a 3 year old Dalmatian (called Dali) and a whole load of chickens!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We've both travelled & volunteered on many different projects around the world, before becoming hosts of our own crazy project!

    We love to share ideas, knowledge & inspiration with our volunteers. We enjoy learning new things and love to share our ever-growing collection of books on permaculture, biodynamics, natural building & loads more!

    Al is a qualified TEFL English teacher - so is happy to help with volunteers hoping to practice and improve their English skills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    *️️️️*️️️️ONGOING PROJECTS*️️️️*️️️️

    Planting & maintenance of our permaculture food forest... Chop & Drop!!

    Soil building using vermicomposting, chicken composting, Hugelkultur & biodynamic preps/fertilisers...

    Seed starting, plant propagating, plant nursery & planting out in the garden...

    Cutting & clearing of invasive trees/plants, to use as biomass in Hugelkultur beds...

    Building of paths, steps & stone walls - general landscaping...

    Get in touch to see what's going on at the moment!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️WORKAWAY WITH US*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    We're both passionate about everything we do and enjoy working hard on a project that we truly love. We expect our volunteers to work alongside us and are flexible about working times/days off. As we like to work on a 'mini-project' with our volunteers, our minimum stay is 14 days.

    We welcome the sharing of ideas/skills and particularly enjoy the bonding experience & feeling of collective accomplishment seeing a project through to completion with others. We expect our guests to be hard working, considerate and open-minded. To get the most out of staying with us you must be happy in nature and comfortable with a simple life!

    We look forward to welcoming volunteers from all over the world to help us realise our vision by sharing knowledge, skills and experiences! We are excited to hear from you soon!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanish, English, Swedish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your accommodation will be a tent with a double mattress & bedding.  You will share our yurt kitchen, compost toilet & heated outdoor shower.  All meals will be cooked and shared together.  We eat a little bit of everything and enjoy cooking & learning new recipes.  We try to eat as much local organic food as possible, harvesting & eating our own food, exchanging with neighbours & sourcing from our local organic food cooperative.

    NO SMOKING!!

    As we live in a remote, high fire risk area - we have an absolutely zero-tolerance NO SMOKING policy.

    Please note...

    We live in a remote location on La Palma, which itself is a pretty remote island. Before contacting us, please take a look at possible travel options, as getting here can be more complicated than it seems! We're more than happy to help our volunteers figure out the best route to us from wherever you are. We have a lot of experience with flights, ferries & buses that we can share!

    As we're in such an early stage of the finca restoration, we're afraid we're currently not set up to host volunteers travelling with children or animals. Sorry!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located in the north of the island of La Palma in the region of Garafia.  Public transport from the main towns of Santa Cruz and Los Llanos are simple enough by bus.  The nearest bus stop to us is in Llano Negro (around a 10 minute drive from us).  We are happy to collect our volunteers from there by arrangement. 

    Garafia has many beautiful hiking trails, peaceful secluded spots and wild beaches.  The region is renowned for its wines, goat's cheese and local delicacies.  The people here are warm and friendly & the pace of life slow and easy.  We know some great places to check out.  Happy to share! There's plenty to do on your days off!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)











Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 398327433625