Come help our family with some spring projects in gorgeous Southern Oregon, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 368 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.08.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    864

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    70.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Looking for self responsible and motivated earth loving helpers ready to have a powerful, meaningful exchange.

    We are a family of 3 living in a beautiful community in Oregon USA. We enjoy good food, vegetables and fruit from our garden, a bustling flow of community members (not so true in COVID times) and lots of outside work and play. We live on an incredible property with several out-buildings on 7 acres and would welcome help tending our land, forest, gardens and water. Our home is very active as we homeschool our child, foster an infant, and guide our family-- we are Waldorf oriented people and are creating beautiful, functional, food producing gardens, community, and new ways of tending to ourselves and each other---we welcome your wisdom and willingness to help us on this venture.

    We are only 15 minutes from town but ask that folks not come here to use us as a launchpad to Ashland community --we do not want folks constantly transitioning back and forth from town life and country life - (though your days off are yours to do as you please of course). We encourage settling in to harvest the benefits of living on the land. We have a creek, spring, pond, orchards and lots of potential for creative expression and your unique skills--gardeners, natural builders, and handy people--we have many areas that need different skillsets for TLC and maintenance, a cobb outdoor kitchen to complete, a pond overflow to redirect to orchards, trails and paths to cut, firewood chopping, always weeding and grass eradication, and animals to tend and move via our rotating pasture system.

    We have loads of projects and pretty much want you doing the thing you are most inspired by on our long list-though we also have specific tasks we need help with and expect solid participation in our 5 hour helping days.

    In exchange we will offer you abundant, healthy, organic food for all of your meals, offer you a wonderful place to live, share what we have, and enjoy community living and manifesting a dream of living more simply and more in alignment with the land. This is “luxury” homesteading as the infastructure is laid, it’s expanding upon the potential of the land and the community.

    We have a flexible way of doing things but have learned some lessons along the way with other guests and visitors and do expect folks to come ready to fully participate--we need emotionally and physically strong and flexible people, good communicators, and folks who want to participate in a community experience. Much of what we need help with are physical tasks, we are respectful of differing capacities with this but if you do not like to work hard physically, this will not be a good fit. We are extremely generous and provide an amazing home and experience--we expect generosity of time and energy and care from you as well. We do ask for a high level of commitment and presence during your "on" times, and we also support plenty of rest and recreation in your free time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Living in community, sharing family life, learning about our special bio region, then teaching your permaculture skills, or building or husbandry or gardening skills or being intimately involved in helping us maintain our land as we integrate our lifestyle on our land. We believe that living closely with others and developing the necessary skills to do this--communication, collaboration, flexibility and creativity-are some of the most important skills for all of us to be learning in these big times of change. We have strong community practices and ways which folks consistently feel is one of the highlights of their time--"lots of people talk about community, you are the first people really doing it." was recent feedback. We are proud of this and it matters a lot that we are learning and teaching these skills in these tender times.

    All this said, we are grounded, busy people with businesses to run and professional careers and responsibilities, we are not up for constant new age-y processing and require that your mental, physical, emotional health is solidly in place along with your sense of integrity and ability to do what you say you will without drama. While we are collaborative and love to learn and share culture and we respect many paths, we are not seeking healings or to be taught your spiritual practices and revelations. That said, we have 2 weekly events that are necessary should you choose to be hosted by us: we have a weekly potluck and time to review tasks, give and get feedback and work out any challenges, we also meet each Sunday for a meditation and dialogue process. These are the core practices we use in maintaining our community and are essential--they are also events guests love to participate in!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    These are skilled and semi-skilled jobs, we have limited time to oversee these tasks so self-motivated, quick learning folks will be best for our current needs.

    Update on current projects:

    --basic feeding and tending to animal pen (chickens and chicks and lambs on the way)
    --compost pig, chicken poop and maintain composting, separate humanure composting is part of this
    --managing food and medicinal gardens -weeding, prepping, starting and mulching
    --biodynamic preparations, mulching beds and keeping seeding lettuce, greens and planting, maybe some cover crops
    --firewood harvesting, cutting, splitting
    --building platforms for camping
    --prepping planting beds and starting seeds, spring is here!
    --planting bare root nut and fruit trees and pruning established fruit trees
    --moving fences for grazing the beasts
    --weed whacking and weeding, weeding, weeding

    Although we have paid caregivers for our needs in this arena, we expect anyone coming up here to be safe, present and child friendly as our daughter is unschooled and being raised in a "village" culture and any given time we may be fostering an infant. We are open to parents with children but must ensure we are a decent fit in terms of parenting styles and routines as well as ability to juggle responsibilities for work with parenting.

    Please note: We are a "safe" house--chemical and wi-fi free--we do have wired internet access but no cell phone use in our home (limited cell phone use OK on the land but not during sleeping hours), no scented products, safe for environmentally/chemically/electrically sensitive person.

    We are omnivores and eat organic, local, sustainably produced food-including meat we have grown and harvested ourselves, follow Waldorf inspired child education (look it up if you are unfamiliar and you can also check out Janet Lansbury's website).

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We speak Spanish, dabble in French and German and our daughter is eager to learn Gaelic--any Gaelic speakers out there?! We love language!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Various options--apartment, cottage, travel trailer, camping...all really nice options - some with independent kitchens for independence with food though meal sharing is part of the community value we hold.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our town is called Ashland, there is much to do and see in our town as well as in the vicinity if you love nature--Crater Lake, Mt Shasta, lakes, rivers, etc. as well as Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Ashland CO-op one of the best organic food co-ops in the USA, many amazing local farms...we are 4 hours South of Portland, OR and 5 hours North of San Francisco.

    Our closest airport is Medford (MFR). Hiking, cycling, music making, so much to do here.
    We are flexible and will support travels to local areas as you wish, it's an incredible part of the USA and world.

    We go early to bed, rise early, and enjoy a fairly quiet life BUT we also have a 9 year old so there's fun and noise and plenty going on- we love to cook, to laugh, to create and to balance work and play. We are foster parents and may have a baby or two around at any given time. We have 4 dogs, a hearty flock of hens, and by April we will have lambs.

    Your pets are not welcome-no exceptions. Frequent drug or medicine or alcohol users: this is probably not the right place for you.

    We have a strong preference for longer term guests and will prioritize folks who want to stay a while. We have an interview process in place which ensures we are a great match so the next step, if you are interested in an exchange with us, is to share about yourself a bit, your passions, skills and dreams. From there we will respond to set up a phone or facetime chat.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Small vans in good shape that can handle our mile long driveway!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Solid 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)













Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 394184277892