We welcome help from new friends, on our off-grid hobby farm, to enhance the beauty, energy and enjoyment of our land and gardens Ladysmith, Quebec, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 13 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 11 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Here on our off-grid family farm, we enjoy working and living in community, sharing knowledge and wisdom about how we can co-exist with the natural world - by planting and maintaining gardens, eating and harvesting our own organic foods, stewarding the land, and going deeper into what it is to be in true connection to the Earth. We have always enjoyed sharing how it is our family lives, especially with regards to wildcrafting herbs (learning about,harvesting and using herbs that naturally grow in the fields or yards) organic gardening and alternative gardening practices, off grid living, bringing sacred geometry to the lands and gardens, and uncovering the messages the plant kingdom sends us. Community minded by nature, we welcome help from new friends, with proper exchange of energies, to enhance the beauty, energy and enjoyment our land and gardens. We welcome any and all knowledge sharing our Workaway friends bring. We wish to offer our Workaways enriching experiences and knowledge that last a lifetime, and to our land and life, the same.

    We live off grid, in an octagonal log home, using solar and wind energy to fuel our power needs. We have 40 acres total, approx. 13 of which are cleared as field. We are in the country, on a dirt road, yet within walking distance to other homes, walking distance (20mins+) to corner store too. Our other buildings onsite include a large 2 floored garage(upper floor used as accommodations for workaways - note it's VERY rustic and minimal - access to house for running water/electricity needs), camper (2nd accommodation for workaways - again, note it's VERY rustic and minimal - access to house for running water/electricity needs), a new chalet (avail as accommodations to workaways if not rented out), tractor barn, small non-operational green house/storage shed. The forested part of the land is great for walking or hiking, with hills and beautiful rock faces and new walking path that workaways may help us maintain. There is a seasonal pond that fills in Spring in the front of the family home, when it's not filled with water, it is a fire pit. Various garden beds and projects dot the land, complete with a fenced vegetable garden plot and large Hugelkultur beds made in 2017. We currently have chickens and a dog.

    We use all and any organic methods, particularly liking permaculture and earth energy medicine, and utilize ancient yogic and shamanic ceremony to enhance and purify the environment.

    We can only host during warmer months, as the private accommodations we have available have no heating, from May 1 - Oct. 1.  This year we have very specific weeks we host.

    Please note:

    -No smokers, of any kind, please.
    - Single parents or families with children over 7 yrs. only please.

    -Workaway friends present on or around 3rd weekend in August will be asked for help involved with hosting a Yoga and Music festival taking place on our land and would have free admittance to the festival too!  There are various retreats and workshops taking place and if hosting workaway during that time, they are welcome to join the programming. 

    -And if desired, free yoga and meditation classes are open to our Workaway friends while in session.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The cultural exchange would be to learn about English culture in Quebec, herbalism, permaculture, and shamanic practices related to the land.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Depending on the time of season, Workaway may be involved in:-creating a medicinal herb garden-maintaining an organic vegetable garden-building soil health and crop rotation-bringing sacred geometry to the garden/land-wildcrafting medicinal herbs in field and forest-harvesting, processing seeds, vegetable and medicinal herbs-learn how to make oils, vinegars, tinctures, teas and infusions-learn uses of herbs/vegetables for increasing health and vitality-tree moving/planting-landscaping with medicinal plants-orchard and edible forest creation-respectful forest path creation and maintenance,   yoga and music festival set up/take down, special garden creation if visiting on or around 3rd weekend of August.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is very rustic, low-key. The upper floor of our garage is used as accommodations for workaways - it's like a dormatory style that can comfortably fit up to 4 work aways at one time (like a large loft apartment) with access to house for running water/electricity needs, older camper (2nd accommodation for workaways - again, note it's VERY rustic and minimal - access to house for running water/electricity needs), a new chalet that sleeps upto 6 people (avail as accommodations to workaways if not rented out), tenting available too (we provide you with a tent) if preferred (mattress and sleeping bag for tent offered)

    Food offered at our home accomodates vegans, vegetarians and omnivores. We are well versed in many diet choices like paleo, Ayurvedic etc. Bermalva usually does the cooking and baking, and she is a good cook. Often dishes are done by workaways.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a small walking trail on the property that can be used. It is possible to visit local tourist sites, hiking trails, and the nearest town is about 20 mins drive from the farm. During hot days, we usually take a swim in nearby lakes and rivers and beaches. Bug jackets are usually recommended for those travelling in the months of May- July for outside activities.

    We have limited internet bandwidth, so be prepared to use wifi sparingly and intermittently.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 384259783847