Experience off grid wilderness living on our mountain homestead in Southern Oregon, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 75 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.01.2022

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our 40-acre off-grid homestead is nestled in a beautiful valley way up in the Cascade mountains outside of the Rogue River Valley in Southern Oregon. We are a young family with two small children focused on living close to the earth and seasonal rhythms, growing food, and tending the land around us. There are multiple earth-based dwellings here, including a cob cabin and cedar roundhouse. Tent camping is also an option if those are full. We have a fully equipped outdoor kitchen, outdoor solar shower, and composting toilets.
    There is a year-round creek with a swimming hole in the summer and endless forest wilderness around us to explore, so people do well here who enjoy spending time in nature.

    I run a forest school (not on the property) and my husband teaches wilderness skills. Together we also organize an annual earth skills event here on the land where people come from all over the West Coast to camp for 5 days and learn various primitive or earth-based skills.

    We have young children, ages 6 and 3, so being comfortable with children is a must. Also, no pets please. We have plenty of animals including two very large Pyrenees mix guardian dogs.

    Our busy season on the land is April-June. We ask for 2 days of help/week in exchange for accomodations and staple foods (message for more info). During this time there is a lot to do to prepare for and clean up after our gathering. There's also a lot to do in the garden this time of year so help trade might be a mix of gardening, general land maintenance, and building projects (building knowledge is a huge plus!)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We offer the opportunity to experience off grid, earth-based living and nature immersion. Opportunity to learn wilderness and survival skills such as wild edible plant identification, tracking, mushroom foraging, animal processing, hide tanning, etc.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have lots of projects on the land that we could use help with, depending on your skill set. Tasks include gardening, land maintenance, caring for chickens and rabbits, natural building projects (cob building experience a plus!).

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am excited about the possibility of our children hearing other languages. I speak some Spanish and am teaching beginning Spanish to my oldest son.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodations include a 200 square-foot cob cabin that so far has cob walls and a dirt floor but is very charming. The cabin is wood stove heated, with minimal kitchen setup (has running water), a composting toilet, and outdoor solar-heated shower. No electricity or wifi in the cabin, although some electricity and internet is available at the outdoor kitchen. We are planning to finish this cabin over the coming season, hopefully with help from someone who knows a bit about cob building.

    There is also access to a fully equipped outdoor kitchen a short walk away from the cabin with running water, large double sink, propane stoves, freezer, and all necessary kitchen equipment. Staple (organic!) foods such as grains, oils, salt, spices, etc. will be provided as well as seasonally available fruits and vegetables from the garden. Eggs and rabbit meat provided when available as well.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Southern Oregon is a beautiful and very biodiverse region with lots of different areas to explore! Mountains, rivers, ocean, and national parks are all within a couple hours. For those looking for local urban cultural experiences to explore on the weekends, Ashland is about 1.5 hours away, Eugene is about 2 hours, and Portland is about 4.5 hours from here.

    We strive to live a simple, slow, happy life here with open hearts and minds. We enjoy spending time exploring the forest around us, sitting around fires in the evening, and sharing meals with friends. We eat organic food, try our best to tread lightly on the earth by consuming less and supporting our local community when possible. We homeschool our children and value having people around who aren't too focused on mainstream culture, media, technology, etc. and instead can model purposeful, passionate, respectful lifestyles. We have small children and are sensitive to the big influence that anyone living here naturally has on their environment.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have satellite internet and a nice shady spot with a picnic table where folks can work.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    No water or septic hookups but we have flat space where a large vehicle could park and also use our composting toilet and outdoor kitchen (described in accommodations section).

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 375174976133