Welcome to our tiny island and help old buildings and gardens in Møre og Romsdal, Norway



Bisher 129 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are full for the summer. Maybe we'll see you next year!

    Hello travelers,
    We would like to welcome happy people to our tiny Island on the west coast of Norway. You will work in a beautiful scenery, surrounded by sheep, fish and warm people. It's a special place, with a lot of history – it's been in the family for decades but nobody is living her permanently at the moment. Every spring and summer our family get together to breath life into the old buildings and gardens – by painting, building, weeding, planting, playing, eating.
    And we want you to be a part of it.

    This summer we are looking for someone to help out -> the last two weeks of July.

    A tiny Island with a big history:
    Our great grandfather bought Flåvær in back 1938. In the glory days there were a lot of families making a living on the Island. My grandmother, who grew up here, has written a book about those colorful days. It's written in Norwegian, but if you are interested we can tell you a story or two.
    Today you can visit the old post office, the old store and the tiny school. Everything is kept the way it was, so it's like traveling back in time, to the 40s. In the attic we've kept some of the clothes, shoes, hats and purses. It looks like a movie set, so for the last 15 years my brothers, my cousins and I have made movies during our summers here. The last movie was made the summer of 2018, from which we borrowed some of the pictures that you can see here on the Workaway-page. But don't you worry, we are not gonna force you to put on a dress and act (this time), the last movie is still in post-production.

    On your free time:
    The Island is small but you can always borrow our row boat. It's not big enough to take you to the mainland, but you can fish, row, explore the tiny islands around or strap it to a pole and read a book. If you like peace and quiet I recommend you take the kayak in the morning – when the water is still and the sun is rising.
    The outdoor hot tub with saltwater is always a winner. It's a good place to seek coverage if you've tried to swim in our fresh, Norwegian ocean. It feels like the sun never quite goes down during those summer months, but it sets around eleven and the hot tub is the perfect spot to watch as the sky turn pink.
    What else to do on a tiny Island.. When we were kids we used to play a game called "the ultimate challenge" where we strapped my little brother to a pole, sat down and watched him escape. It could take an hour. In other words – the options are limited. But we fish, feed the sheep, eat together, play music and watch movies at night. Happy, simple life.

    Days off:
    On your days off we are happy to take you to the mainland and the small city of Fosnavåg. Here you'll find shops, cafes and the local cinema. If you are interested in wildlife and hiking there are some breathtaking mountains around, one of them is our famous bird-mountain "Runde." From Fosnavåg you could also catch busses to the beautiful city of Ålesund.

    How to get here:
    Belive it or not – there is an airport 40 minutes from the Island, with tiny planes flying in. But tickets can be expensive. The cheapest way to get her if you are flying to Oslo, might be to take a buss from the capital – all the way to Sunnmøre. Its about 7 hours, but kind of cozy. We will pick you up at the buss-stop.
    (I'll give you all the details, so you won't get lost)

    Your host:
    I'll be your host. My name is Anine, I'm 24 years old and I can't wait to meet you, feed you, and make you feel welcome. I've travelled as a Workawayer myself, and I can't imagen a better way to meet the locals, learn about different cultures – and collect some valuable skills on the way.
    For the last year I've been traveling France and New Zealand to learn about permaculture and sustainable living, how to grow vegetables, so that one day I can live a self sufficient lifestyle. I've just dipped my toe in the huge permaculture-pool, so If you too are interested in those things, I would love to learn from you. We have two big gardens to experiment in.
    I used to work as a yoga teacher in Oslo, the capital of Norway, but this year I'm only teaching retreats in Spain and Italy. So if you would like to start your mornings with an hour stretch I'm happy to join you. I'm also into theater, music and writing (in my secret diary). I speak Norwegian, English and un petit peu Francaise.
    See you soon!

    There will be a lot of food. We have two kitchens if you love to cook, if not – i'll cook for you, and we'll eat all together.
    Are you vegan? No problem.
    Vegetarian? No problem.
    Meet-eater? No problem.
    Fish-eater? You will love it here.

    PS: Thank you for all the wonderful messages! I'm so sorry if it takes a long time before I get back to you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn about the Norwegian coast culture – and how the ocean plays the lead-role. Learn how to use a boat, how to catch fish and crabs. In the big, red boat house you can see the old equipment, old boats and fishing nets. We will tell you about the local history, and take you to the old lighthouse if you want.
    Once we know exactly what kind of work we'll be focusing on this summer, i'll update this page. It might be painting the house, repairing old windows, weeding in the garden, repairing the old school - or a little bit of everything. Anyways – you will learn some new skills, or improve the once you already have.

  • Arbeit


    Help with building
    Help with painting
    Help with the animals

    Every spring and summer our family get together to breath life into the old buildings and gardens – by painting, building, weeding, planting, playing, eating.
    And we want you to be a part of it.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    The house is huge with lots of colorful bedrooms, all with different names; the Colour-room, the Ella-room, the Apartment, the Jesus-room, the Wall and the Green screen room.
    If we are many people working, you'll share your room with another Workawayer. If not – everything is possible. You can even sleep one night in each room if your adventurous. (And not afraid of ghosts)

    We have a grandmother that is obsessed with everyone being warm and comfortable, so whatever happens you'll have plenty of blankets and home-knitted-socks on you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is our first time using work away, and we are so exited.
    For me it's a dream come true, being able to host people and give something back after being hostet by wonderful people on wonderful places all around the world.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 367616166992