Experience German traditions and culture and learn about sustainability and self-sufficiency in Germany, Haidmühle



Bisher 48 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    More than 30 years ago I bought an old farmhouse in the Bavarian Forest. It is located close to the so-called Dreiländereck, i.e. where the borders of Germany, Austria and Czech meet. The farm has a nice piece of land around including some forest, a small river, a pond, meadows and gardens. The next neighbour is about 150 m away, the next village about 300 m.
    I'm living alone in a rather big house, i.e. there is space for one or more visitors. I try to be self-sufficient in regard of energy and food as much as possible and to live in a sustainable way.
    Due to my experience in 25 years of management in the industry as well as 20 years teaching at universities, my general outlook to life and my interest in almost everything I'm always trying new ways to help make the world a better place. I.e. the latest project was to establish my own public library in a small hut open 24 hours a day.
    I have worked as a coordinator for a refugee helpers group as well as with several NGOs. Currently I am also helping to start a regional group for the economy for the common good. Last but not least I am a longstanding/regular practitioneer of yoga and meditation.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Visitors will be able to practice German language, get to know something about German traditions and culture, learn about sustainability and self-sufficiency, get introduced to the new !model of economy for the common good‘, learn something about nature at the farm as well as on occasional excursions in the area with biologists able to explain a lot of details, visit nature protected areas in Germany and Republic of Czech.
    I am running a regional website for news about the region as well as politics, green subjects etc. with some friends.
    My immediate neighbours/friends have sheep, yaks and horses.

  • Arbeit


    Depending on the season a helping hand could be used to:
    plant seeds for vegetables inclusive potatoes, cut branches and current bushes, harvest berries, apples, zucchini or potatoes, cut the grass manually or with mower, feed fish, take-out fish, dig for a new spring, repair workshed/barn (woodwork), remove weeds and clean overgrown walkways, cut firewood, help taking out trees from the forest, especially after winter, help in creating new artwork in wood or other material, maintain my privately built public library, help in promoting the ‚economy for the common good‘ ...
    Of course, if a visitor has any specific skills or experience this would be used as much as possible and convenient.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Arabisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Japanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Russisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Workawayers can choose between three different bedrooms either with single or double bed. A separate bathroom is available as well as and, if required, use of separate kitchen.
    Breakfast will be available, dinner and lunch can be together or separate.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I am living in a beautiful area surrounded by hills and forests, ideally suited for hiking and biking in summer and cross-country skiing in winter. A bike is available to go around in the area including the fantastic Czech side of the border.
    Within a circle of 50 km diameter there are lots of historic towns, ancient sites, art galleries and natural beauty.
    There is a train station (Nove Udoli) on the Czech side of the border, 5 min away by car. Local buses for public transport are available in the nearby village but there are just a few per day to go to the next cities, e.g. Waldkirchen (20 km away) and Freyung (25 km away ) or to Passau which is about 45 km away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 359641651196