Come and join the farm that has views looking out to the sea and the Orkney Islands in UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 286 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    169

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    76.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am looking for volunteers - single or couples February and March and because of the increased workload in the spring summer, couples only from April onwards. An interest in gardening, weeding, growing would be a plus but not essential.

    I have a small farm in the Highlands of Scotland - John O'Groats a bucket list destination for many. I bought the farm in Sept 2016 and there is lots to do to try to get it where i would like to be long term. Running the farm by myself with only so many hours in a day means any help is really appreciated!

    Areas where help is needed include - feeding and cleaning out the animals, repairing fences and fence maintenance, painting, weeding, grass cutting, cleaning the house and sometimes walking my very friendly dalmatian Measles!

    A two berth caravan is on site for volunteers, it is small but dry, warm and cosy with its own kitchen and toilet. You also have access to the house for showers (as the caravan bathroom is so tiny) and the washing machine. There is access to eggs, fruit and veg. All other food (dairy, bread, meat, snacks etc ) you need to provide for yourself from the local supermarket.

    I am a single woman, easy going and drama free, good sense of humour, looking for someone honest, dependable, a good work ethic and able to use common sense/initiative as necessary! Everything on the farm is easy and am happy to cater your time as much as possible to your preferences. There are a few key times i need your help but am happy for you to organise the other hours as you want so you can create your own free time to go off an explore this beautiful part of Scotland.

    It's important to realise that while all the jobs are fairly straightforward they are all physical in nature so a fair amount of physical strength and fitness is necessary. Also due to the nature of the environment and that a lot of your time you will be working autonomously this is not an ideal environment for learning a language. A good level of english is necessary if you wish to stay here. If you suffer from any physical or mental illnesses please talk to me about it so that we can decide together how this environment and the work involved may be suited to your needs.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    John O'Groats is a bucket list destination being the most northerly point in the U.K THe farm has views that look out to sea and the Orkney Islands. If you are a nature lover there are many beautiful spots, tours and day trips you can take. There are whales, seals, puffins and many sea birds around. On the farm i can help show you more about what is involved in the care of the animals as they all have different needs including hoof care, grooming and nutrition.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The farm has donkeys, goats, pigs, sheep, ducks, hens, rabbits, cats and a dog- they all need to be given food, clean water and bedding. They are all really friendly and love people (and cuddles). The farm house needs some help to keep clean, there is a polytunnel and fruit cage where we pick fruit and veg growing depending on the season.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own caravan with access also to the bathroom in the house. I am happy to provide fresh eggs and produce from the farm.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The local bus is just at the end of the rd which goes to the 2 nearby towns. The harbour is a ten minute walk away where the foot ferry and tours leave to go to the Orkneys.

    There is no smoking allowed anywhere on site (or drugs). There is a pub just a few minutes walk away if you would like to go there, the community is really very friendly and welcoming.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.3)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.3)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 355987843583