House sitting + needed in Sierra Mariola mountain range, Spain

  • Bisher 178 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 20 Apr. 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Hello, we are a young family living in rural Spain, trying our best to transform our home and land into something even better than it already is. It is a work in progress and it is teaching us patience and adaptability. We have made so much progress through the hard work of our volunteers. We are so grateful for the positive experience helpx and workaway have provided us with and the friends we have made through this great exchange. However it hasn’t been without some issues and so we realise that being really clear about our expectations is the way forward so here goes…

    ============Who we are==============
    We are Hazel and Tyler and occasionally Susan (Hazel's mum)
    Oban - rambunctious 6 year old, Connel - sensitive 4 year old and almost 2 year old, Brenin.
    We have a dog called Nash who is in constant need of a run. We also have 2 cats who are mostly outside catching mice and climbing trees. We have a pool, bbq, lots of hammocks and a view that you can stare at for hours.

    We have lived here awhile now and have most stuff figured out of years ... but we struggle with the workload of managing the practicalities of living rurally with kids and land and animals alongside Tyler working away often.

    We love knowledgeable skilled people, we love patient people, we love practical people, we love people that say “hang on a minute, let me write that down so I will remember”.
    We have difficulties with people that need to be handheld through tasks and whilst we don’t expect you to have all the answers… Common sense combined with the confidence to ask questions or voice your thoughts are essential for us. We love self starters.

    """""""""""The help'''''''''''''''''''''''
    We are looking for helpers that can muck in and help with whatever needs to be done at the time.
    The work is varied, depending on the season, the weather, what projects we have, what money we have at the time, the kids and of course what you can do. It is general DIY, gardening, painting, wood cutting, pruning, digging, moving, etc.

    We also have helpers who help us out with general stuff… pool maintenance, animal maintenance (feeding, walking and a poo pick up around the land). Helping with household chores would be very welcome.
    If you see something that needs doing - do it!

    ^^^^^^^^^^^Food ^^^^^^^^^

    We would prefer helpers that are able to cook for them selves. There's a kitchen in the house you'd be staying in.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In return for help we will work beside our helpers when possible, learn from them and teach them new skills, feed them good food and share a beer/wine with them after a day's work. We will respect them and their needs and we will appreciate everything they do to make our home a better place to be. We will welcome them like friends and they will live with us like family.

    There are plenty of places to hike nearby.

    Ideally our helper would have their own transport or be happy to walk the 40 minutes into town occasionally.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    >>The expectations and schedule<<

    **** Housesitters needed. ****

    The kids have a routine, they also equally like to throw their routine out the window sometimes. Sometimes we eat dinner with them at 5.30 but sometimes I try to get them in bed and have a peaceful dinner at 8. Every day is different and generally speaking they are our priority…

    So if you are not ready to be adaptable when it comes to your schedule you are going to struggle.

    We equally welcome helpers that work online etc and need fixed hours off- but please do just let us know, we have many schedules and plans and people to consider so just be clear - even better… write it down. We rely on lists and calendars and reminders!

    During summer it is better for everyone - especially you- to get up early, get some work done and then enjoy a siesta in the height of the heat of the day.

    Our first language is English and Spanish is a work in progress... We would prefer helpers who have some level of English but please also use this as an opportunity to improve your English (Hazel and Tyler are both English teachers)...

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft



    Our house is a couple of miles from Cocentaina which is a lovely little town and we usually drive into town a few times a week so are happy to drop you in. For those who like hiking there are plenty of amazing places within easy access of the house. We are 45 minutes away from Alicante airport and an hour from the sea. There are buses coming from Alicante daily. We are close enough to Valencia to go by train for the day.

    Accommodation will be in a small separate house which has bedroom, living room with log burner, and a separate full kitchen.

    If you have a vehicle (campervan etc) we can probably accommodate that here.

    Length of stay is totally negotiable so please ask but generally we ask for 2+ weeks

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️The rules*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️
    In general we want to have fun and accommodate your lifestyle but this is our home and we have small kids that we want to keep safe so we need people around us that can respect that.
    Hate the word rules but after years of hosting people here I find its better to be super clear…

    1. Respectful smokers are welcome… so outside, not around the kids and keeping your cigarettes, tobacco and lighters away from the kids.

    2. No additional guests without prior agreement (you'd be surprised...).

    3. Whilst we are very liberal in general we have found that people that need to smoke or eat marijuana to get through/or enjoy their day are not people that we currently want in our home. If this is you then sorry but its not going to work.

    4. Equally if you have a heavy reliance on alcohol or like to drink to excess regularly we are not the home for you. We love a few beers and wines, we are happy to stay up late and drink socially but we have had helpers become aggressive, steal from us and spend most of their days hungover so we are trying to be clear from day 1 that this is not acceptable.

    5. We ask that you keep your areas clean and tidy and respect communal areas.

    +++ Other stuff +++

    Sometimes I might say “oh no I forgot to hang the laundry out, but now we have a doctors appointment, would you mind doing it?”- if that sounds like a reasonable request then you are very welcome :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes we have hood WiFi and a desk with a view

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    yes as long as its not huge it'll be great and we can hook it up to the electric

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We would need to discuss this.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 344443258144

Feedback (12)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)