Komm und hilf uns auf dem Land in Voditsa, Bulgarien



aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 601 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Current situation : everything that's written below is pre-virus info - what's happened this year is that all the projects are on hold and I'm focusing on growing food, making a new garden and looking after three properties in the village while my family are stuck in the UK. So not much mud work but I am building a large porch/live in greenhouse which will include some mud, cordwood, laying a brick floor and generally upcycling all my useful resources.
    I'm OK for August and now looking for help in the autumn - preferably people who want to stay a while - I find that things work best when people are engaged and they get the bigger picture. So if you're interested in how life works in a small Bulgarian village and you want to improve your weeding and jam making skills, then your help will be most appreciated. Please read the rest and get back to me.

    The normal info:
    Hi and thank you for considering us as a host. Over the past 12 years we've had a few hundred volunteers and everyone of them has contributed in some form or other to our life here. I like to start off with a big thank you to everyone who has helped up - it's always appreciated and many things here just wouldn't have happened with that help.

    So....2020.....mud and gardens is our main focus this year. Last year we changed the shape and design of the garden at the place with new terraces and retaining walls. This needs to be finished and filled with flowers and plants. I also have a large field that is about to reshaped into a very big vegetable area and the beginnings of a lovely new flower garden. If you know stuff about plants, that's great but as long as you're interested, I'll show you what to do and you can learn a lot about flowers, biodynamic gardening and microbes.

    (please, please, please if you're going to contact me with a copied message that doesn't even have my name on it.... don't bother - you've got no idea how many emails I get like that and it's just downright rude - everybody else, please read on and you're welcome as a volunteer.)

    We have a lot of mud work happening this year - I have a mud floor to finish and a lovely barn to have the finishing touches. Our main mud work this year is a course that we're running in June to teach people how to build using mud. The objective is to build the walls of an 8m long porch. This is a great opportunity for two people who want to learn loads about mud building - we need two people for a month - a week before the course, a week during it and two weeks after where you'll be working quite closely with the trainer to finish things off. This will be from the end of May until late June - the actual dates are flexible but it would be great to have the same two people for the whole month. If you're interested in this, and you can make a committment, get in touch quickly - there's a lot of interest in natural building and I think this will be popular.

    There's also all the day to day seasonal stuff. Planting, pruning, harvesting etc. (there's a huge amount of stuff and work disguised as these two short sentences!)

    Just to clarify, 'we' is Elly, Dancho and Kathy (Elly's mother). However, Elly and Dancho are travelling at the moment, so Kathy and the cats are left in charge.

    These are a few of the things that I know we'll be doing in 2020......there will be more! We have new ideas and new ways of doing things all the time....and sometimes we make a new job to suit someone's skills. We would be delighted to have you join our long list of volunteers who've been to Voditsa. Everything you do will be appreciated and remembered and we look forward to meeting you and knowing a little about you. If you're interested, first please read the rest of this profile then get in touch with dates. If you're serious about connecting with us or any host, a piece of advice is, don't send me a short, bland message that has been copied and pasted and doesn't even have my name in it. Thanks.

    Good luck with everything and we hope to meet you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Life goes on in Voditsa much as it always has done - farming, growing, wood things, preserving.... just living in an Eastern European village. But development in the rest of the world bring inevitable issues like depopulation - there aren't really enough people in the villages. I guess this is a unique period of time when you get to experience the end of an era... who knows what the village will be like in 50years but right now you can get a taste of traditional life here including dancing and singing with the pensioner's club if you want.

  • Arbeit


    We ask for 25 hours of help a week, in exchange for food and accommodation. We have 2 days off, usually Friday and Saturday - for volunteers to spend how they please, relaxing in the volunteer house or going of to explore the wider area. There are a few towns/cities which are 1-2 hours away and quite do-able in a weekend.

    It's great when people are interested in cooking - we always try to share the food tasks so that I dont get stuck in the kitchen all day.

    Help varies throughout the year - some of the regular tasks are:
    - Gardening - sowing, planting, weeding, harvesting.
    - Wood - collecting, chopping, stacking.
    - General - fence building, garden reclaim, some landscaping and, general maintenance and improvements.
    - Feeding and caring for the animals

    (Maybe you could mention the word 'scrabble' in your message to us so we know you've read the profile.)

    Animals - cats, a dog and a bunch of chickens.

    We'll find jobs for you in relation to your skills and we'll endeavor to help you to learn new skills.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Bulgarian: Fließend
    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    The project is in the centre of Voditsa and this is where most of our work is. The apartment sleeps up to 6 people with hot showers and a wood stove.

    We eat mostly vegetarian, but some meals may have meat or be vegan. We are quite adaptable - just ask.

    We would prefer volunteers for 3-5 weeks minimum - to give us all time to get into things and would think about having people longer term. All thing are negotiable though - so just ask and if you only have a week to spare, still get in touch.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a lovely but underpopulated little village in one of the poorest countries in Europe......but dont be fooled by that statistic - Bulgarian culture is alive and well and thriving. If you spend time with us, you'll meet people who have lived through many big political changes....communism, democracy, the EU.....yet the need to grow food and survive the winter here are things that have happened every year, regardless of the current regime.

    People are practical, friendly and relaxed....and often amused at the idea that foreigners want to come and live here. If you express an interest, people will happily show you more of their lives. You could also spend some time at the Pensioner's Club in the village - these people are great and a wealth of knowledge.

    Besides that, there isn't really a vibrant night life here but there are some lovely walks and we're only a couple of hours from the Black Sea or the Danube. There are no main tourist spots around here but if you're reading this, then you're not a tourist! Spending time in this village will probably become a highlight of your trip and we are happy to be able to share our life and experience with you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours /5 days

Part of our summer kitchen - all made by volunteers with bits of old stuff.
Kim making the wonderful new chandelier
The demolition team
Ingrid and Gustavo's gorgeous mural
The new porch is nearly finished - could do with some mosaic...
Tim, in the forest with Dancho his father and the rest of the team
Making yummy Lutinitza
Mud book shelves and sofa bed

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 333625114737