Looking for help with the gardening and around the house in coastal Little Compton, RI, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 75 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    We are Barbara and Bob.
    We live in a single family home. We have adult sons and a daughter and grandchildren who visit during the summer. We have a friendly dog, Lily, who loves belly rubs and fetching a tennis ball.

    We are energetic people who enjoy many outdoor activities, grilling/cooking great food (outside and inside), sharing a cultural exchange, sharing recipes and cooking ideas and provide learning opportunities, in gardening and food preservation.
    In the spring we plant a large vegetable garden so we can enjoy healthy foods all year long. We can show you how we make tomato sauce and salsa and vacuum seal food for winter months. We compost our vegetative waste for our future garden soil and to help the environment.
    We do lots of projects around our yard. Some are big, some are small. Here are a few: We built our patio and pool decks ourselves. Bob installed our solar panel system to power our home a few years ago. In 2020, during the pandemic, we built a wood fired pizza oven so we can enjoy homemade pizza!
    We have other smaller projects always in the works.
    We love boating, beaches, and fishing and live in the perfect location for these activities.

    Career life:
    I (Barbara) am a teacher and Bob is a boat captain/commercial fishing/marine construction. He is busy, but has a somewhat flexible schedule.

    We are conscious of the COVID-19 virus and take safety and health seriously. We have been fully vaccinated, with our booster shots, but are still cautious.

    Location & things to do:
    Little Compton is a quiet, little, scenic, coastal town. It is a perfect location for observing nature. Bike riding is very popular here during the warmer weather. We are within 8 miles of the beach, a few miles from quaint shops, art galleries, farm stands, walking trails, etc.
    Other local activities also include kayaking, surfing, swimming, fishing, sailing, etc. There are apple orchards and pumpkin patches nearby , etc. (seasonal)

    We are looking for someone interested in short -term stays (2-3 weeks) who may like to help us out during their stay. We have so many yard chores, and gardening tasks (spring/summer/fall),. We do some outdoor or indoor projects, and, light housework.
    Winter: most tasks would be indoors. Perhaps, some home projects.)
    (4-5 hours per day.)

    Meals: We eat vegetables, grains and meats. (Mostly Chicken, seafood) We try to prepare nightly meals. We love to learn new recipes and share some of our own. When we are at work, there are other foods are available in the refrigerator or cupboard for Workaway volunteers to share during the day. Workawayers who prefer “specialty” foods are welcome to store them in the refrigerator or cupboard so they can prepare them, when desired, and perhaps cook a new recipe for us.

    Workaway volunteers should, ideally, have their own form of transportation because there is no local public transportation in our area. We have bicycles, but a car makes it easier during your time off exploring.

    Accommodations: We have one guest room or room to park your own camper van. We have reliable and fast Internet access in the house.

    More about us:
    When our children were younger we hosted 12 exchange students from many countries and really enjoyed learning about new cultures. During those years, we found it was an interesting way to meet new people and learn more about our world, even if we were unable to travel.
    With Workaway, we find that we have also had some great experiences meeting people from many places and backgrounds. It makes life more interesting!
    We love to learn and the best way is to share cultural experiences with people from other places.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Summer season: Local history, gardening, enjoy nature, learn about making wood-fired pizza, etc. Enjoying coastal RI beaches and nature.

    RI is a historical area since it was one of the original 13 colonies. There are many places to see that are not too far away (by car.)

    Winter: just a few hours from ski resorts and mountains for snow lovers!

    English tutoring, if needed.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for an energetic person (or couple) who doesn't mind getting up early and helping around the house and yard.

    We have many options:
    *In addition to solar, we use firewood to heat our home and so, if you are willing to help with splitting wood (with a wood splitter) and stacking wood, and filling the wood furnace (winter season), that is one job. *Snow removal in the winter, if it snows. (We usually don’t get too much snow.)
    *Weeding the garden is another activity with which we could use some help in spring/summer/early fall; or raking leaves in the autumn months.

    *Summer/ fall harvesting the garden and freezing or canning.

    *Pool maintenance

    *We have many other possible projects, that if we have time between our work schedules, we may take on some other projects,
    Such as interior painting, etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am willing to tutor in English and share cultural history.

  • Unterkunft


    No pets, please. (unless we can discuss it first.)

    We have a guest room in our home with one full-size bed. We can accommodate one or two (a couple) Workawayers.

    NOTE: There is NO PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION in our area. You may want your own vehicle to get around. We do have bicycles.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The area is so beautiful during the summer and autumn seasons. Winters are usually somewhat mild along the coast with a some rainy or snowy days. We get a few very cold weeks in January.
    It is a quiet coastal farm town.
    If you love the outdoors, the coastal landscape and woodland paths nearby are breathtaking. Local vineyards and farms to pick your own blueberries, apples or pumpkins. (Seasonal)
    Many people bike and walk in the area to enjoy its beauty. Nearby beach is popular with (summer) swimmers and surfers. There are rivers for kayaking, summer sailing from the harbor and fresh or salt-water fishing. We enjoy many of these outdoor activities and grilling/cooking great food (outside and inside.)

    We have off-road parking.
    We have bicycles, if you like riding.
    Plenty of room to park a camper too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of privacy and parking on our back lot (Seasonal: it is too cold in the winter.)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 319526458711

Feedback (7)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.9)

Welcoming French speaker to Austin, USA
Join a couple for a language exchange in Newark, USA