Learn about sustainable living, helping with art and organic gardening projects in El Dorado, CA USA

Country

USA

Bisher 165 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a queer owned creative artist sanctuary on a peaceful 10 acre property in California gold country on the Cosumnes River. A little known historic landmark, it was once a busy general store during the gold rush. It is an oak filled landscape, with a small house, several small outbuildings, and several gardens & art projects. We hope for it to become an accessible place for small gatherings that include sharing/teaching and creative isolation. This is not for profit, and I work full time from home. We don't sell what we grow but rather share with our neighbors, and we dont rent out the space, but like to share it with friends to get away from the city.

    We live in a small humble house and for our friends and future workawayers, we offer a rustic cottage and a treehouse sleeper where an outdoor kitchen is provided.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love to share what we have learned, and hope to learn from others too as we still have so much to learn—about living sustainably, stewarding the land, DIY projects, gardening and landscaping.

    Organic Gardening / Landscaping:
    • composting
    • irrigation
    • raised beds
    • weeding
    • orchard maintenance
    • dormant sprays, winter pruning
    • summer pruning, thinning,
    • grafting
    • terracing
    • stone walls
    • fountains
    • path making
    • mowing/weed whacking
    • fencing

    We are a “wannabe farm”. Garlic is one of my favorite things to grow in the garden, and also grow tomatoes & cucurbits in the summer, and lots of brassicas (especially mustard and arugula) in the cold seasons. We also have lots of fruit trees, especially stonefruits, and I have been learning to graft stonefruits and pears. Between the deer, gophers, voles, and birds, growing can really be a challenge here and thwarting these critters has been a steep learning curve. After 7 years I still feel like I am just getting started there is so much to learn.

    My vision for the property is that it is a 10 acre garden. It is already well on its way, as there are old stone walls and foundations all throughout. I want to build on what has been done here already using these traditional methods.

    DIY / Building:
    • basic carpentry, plumbing, electrical,
    • treehouse building

    ART:
    • painting
    • led/light sculpture
    • silkscreening
    • fiber arts
    • carpentry

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our biggest need for help is from April -August to get ready for fire season, and weeding is the #1 help we always need. We are always in the middle of gardening, landscaping, and small DIY/building projects. Looking for people to bring their strength, creativity and skills for all sorts of projects and always open to suggestions.
    • Weeding, Weed-whacking, raking, trimming trees and bushes. (fire season prep)
    • Fencing work (digging holes, pounding stakes, mixing concrete)
    • Planting (again hole digging, usually with pick-axe and spud bar because of the heavy clay and rock soil)
    • Making paths (Working with concrete, leveling/terracing soil, mulching, moving pavers, etc)
    • Building raised beds (basic carpentry, or using stones or retaining blocks)
    • Painting and general cleanup/maintenance

    If you are interested in doing art (murals, etc), that might be possible during spring/summer, please include samples of your work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have an insulated guest cottage 100 yards up the hill with a comfortable full size bed but no electric. We also have a small, insulated studio with electricity and single bed. There are two composting toilets, outdoor shower (April-October), outdoor kitchen, and communal hang out space we call the pub. We also have a dedicated yoga/meditation space.

    We grow as much as we are able in our garden as organically as we can. We also try to shop as organic and local as we can. My partner leans toward meat eating and I try to eat more vegetarian, so we might have both options available.

    • Coffee ready early, but I like to fast in the morning, so food is self serve until then. (toast, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, fruit, Eggs / breakfast / lunch is DIY.

    • Dinner cooked and eaten together usually around 7-8 pm.

    Will try as hard as we can to accommodate special diet requests.

    We finally can provide (limited) internet access and if you have at&t or a service that piggybacks from at&t you should get 4g/5g here on the property.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are on the Cosumnes river with a beautiful private swimming hole. The water temperature is very nice for swimming May–September. We are 15 minutes from Placerville, and 10 min from the Shenandoah wine tasting / vineyards (known for Barbera). We are on a quiet road great for bicycling (but a big climb to the top). It is best to have transportation to get into town.

    In our spare time, we relax, look to see the next wave of birds that have flown in for the season, work on art, and connect with our friends in the outside worlds. In the heat of summer, we spend much time in the river. We partake in beer and alcohol in moderation and out of respect to others, recommend yours is the same.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or equivalent

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 312915258477