Help with our extensive gardens in rural France near Carcassonne, or natural horsemanship skills - we can offer riding for experienced riders

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 70 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.04.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    At the moment (April 2016 onwards) we have no more places for volunteers... (Unless you are a great carpenter!) Sorry.

    We are an artist and writer living in the foothills of the French Pyrenees, near Carcassonne.

    We need help to tidy up the gardens of our large house in the South of France this Spring, there are also barns and stables to clear, a pergola to be built etc etc! We are also very interested in anyone with natural horsemanship skills, Parelli method horse training etc. as we want to learn more about getting better communication with our horses.

    We are offering private accomodation in the main house, with stunning views across to the mountains in beautiful rolling countryside. (Unless we get a surprise weekly booking in which case we have other accomodation - which is unlikely during the time period).

    We have dogs and horses, and can offer riding if that is an interest for you. We would like to develop the 'horse side' of the house, fencing, repairing menage etc, we have 2 rideable horses - 15h and 15.2. With plenty of amazing riding in the area if that's your thing.

    We are friendly and open-minded and ideally looking for an honest, sensitive, couple who can drive, as we are 15 minutes from the village. But it would also be nice for us if we had several single people living together in the house as we are used to having people around and it would make for a fun time for all.

    The area is stunning and underpopulated, with Cathar castles, skiing an hour and a half away (in season), and the Mediterranean coast an hour away. Barcelona is 3 hours drive. You can really experience rural France and the history of the area. Would be an ideal springboard for someone looking to move to the area, or anyone wanting a break from a hectic life or on a travelling tour. It's a place to experience French life and enjoy nature.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Gardening, including mowing, weeding, hedge trimming, strimming, DIY - bit of general DIY/fencing and would welcome higher skills such as basic plumbing or tiling, and carpentry - a bit of housework in keeping your accomodation ready for guest arrival in summer. There is the chance for horse care and riding for the right person.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English, Russian, bit of German.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Completely private ensuite double room with own living area and kitchen in very large and beautiful domaine. We live in an attached wing to the domaine.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a relaxed couple, with a creative way of life. Our house is a peaceful place in the countryside and would suit a couple or person who enjoyed rural things and wasn't looking for doorstep social entertainment. You would need to drive. We would love to share meals with you but would also appreciate some self sufficiency as we have an erratic schedule and aren't always available for regular meal sharing, (naturally we will stock the fridge with decent grub!) But we are always around and welcome the chance to meet and talk to new people - sharing our life is not a problem. Sometimes we have all of our 5 adult children at home, but often not (actually one is 6 but divides her time between here and London). We have several languages between us and a wealth of local knowledge. The house you will be staying in is the one we rent out, full of antiques, art and books, collected by Anthony over a lifetime. And there is space for anyone travelling in a camper van or similar. If you looking for a working retreat you would be very welcome and enjoy it here. We are fair and relaxed about the help you can offer and welcome people who can work under their own initiative.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

There is a pottery wheel you can use - waiting for someone to build a raku kiln!
Anthony's studio - you are welcome to come and draw or paint up here.
Your kitchen
Bathroom
One of the ponies, with Sophie and Willow.
Some of the garden needing work.
Accomodation
Anthony and Sophie in a rare bit of winter snow!

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 312124673189