Come and help alongside us in the gardens and enjoy nature in Lund, Canada



Bisher 113 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    We live on 10 acres of forest land and have been creating a beautiful garden for vegetables and plenty of plants for the pollinators in the midst of a forest of cedar, alder, pine, hemlock, and arbutus trees. We are interested in sharing our knowledge about the forest, growing and preserving food, building and cooking with solar cookers, propagating plants, seed-saving, and all things nature and wildlife. We live in a beautiful area full of hiking trails and we are just a walk away from the ocean for swimming and kayaking. You will be able to learn so much about plants and experience the peace and quiet of the forest. We would love to meet with people to teach us what they know and share the forest gardening experience. We grow all our own herbs both medicinal and culinary, and grow and harvest and preserve veggies and fruit from the gardens and trees. We grow many native plants and can share the ways the original peoples here used these plants. We live close to the Klah'ah'men community and are learning their ways with plants and nature. We are practicing a mostly plant-based diet, have an electric car, practice a low-carbon lifestyle, and we are climate activists. We have studied permaculture and put those principles into practice here. We would like to work with you to create and learn new processes for how to live gently on the earth in harmony with nature as much as is possible. In short, we are very nature-based and would like to learn your ideas of the same to share this beautiful place on the earth.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Many possibilities to learn and visit- with local people who have farms and sell at the farmer's markets, with people who live in the Klah'ah'men community and learn about their canoe journeys and customs, the marine environment and visits to the local islands, visits with local musicians, artisans, fellow forest gardeners, visits to the local art center and gallery. Also meeting others who are practicing the low-carbon lifestyle, living close to nature and tour their systems and learn from them.

  • Arbeit


    We would love to share knowledge of the land and receive help to plant, harvest and cook with garden bounty. Carpentry skills would be helpful to assist on outbuildings and building solar cookers. Keeping the garden areas cleared from brush and working garden beds. Planting berry bushes and fruit trees. Building rock walls. Harvesting and preserving. Land maintenance. Tree pruning. All things forest gardening and permaculture projects. Our land is mostly forest and we would like help building trails and in the gardens. Harvesting produce would be a great help. Prepping and cooking meals and kitchen cleanup. Helping to keep the communal space neat, clean, and tidy. Various home maintenance projects. Hauling and stacking firewood. Garden planting, weeding, and clean up.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Haitian Creole: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We have a comfortable, cozy little guest suite above our woodworking shop which has a small kitchen, bedroom, shower and bucket composting style toilet. We cook meals together in our kitchen at the main house. Our space can accommodate one Workawayer at a time instead of couples or families. Since our grandchildren are here in and out often, we feel it best not to accommodate travellers with pets at this time. We love pets and dogs and the grandchildren come here with their dog, but we feel better about not including animals who are not familiar with the kids and their dog and our cat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a very rural and relatively quiet, remote community of about 500 people all scattered out into the forest. Lund coordinates are 49.9817° N, 124.7591° W. We are 2 ferry rides away from Vancouver and 1 ferry ride away from Vancouver Island. So we are a small community with very little night life going on! In the summer Powell River holds a Blackberry Festival, and several international musical festivals. Lots of boating opportunities here although we ourselves do not own one. There is a daily water taxi over to Savary Island where there are sandy beaches and lovely 'warmer' water for swimming. From Powell River there is a ferry to Texada Island to explore. We are 35 minutes away from the town of Powell River where we do our shopping. Powell River is small, I think we have only 5 or 6 traffic lights! So really little night life there. We use the electric car to go to the stores, shop, and go to the weekend farmer's market. There is a bus 2 days a week from Lund to Powell River and you will be able to ride with us to town to sightsee and shop. The person who shares a visit with us would be a self-sufficient person with time to read, walk in the forest, and commune with nature. Lund has a hotel, marina, small store, bakery, community park, and 2 eateries within walking distance. The Tidal Art Center is within walking distance and offers gallery showings and various art workshops. You will be welcome to work on your own projects in the woodworking shop or art projects as you prefer.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have satellite internet with decent speed and wifi access at the house and in the guest suite. We do get occasional power outages so internet is down at those times. Our data plan does not accommodate as much streaming as some people would like or need. Overuse on data plan causes the whole system to slow. We can track data usage and if more is needed can buy a bigger plan while you are here if need be. Our local bakery also has free wifi. The cell tower service here in Lund is new and working really well so far!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 264381428583