Hilf mit Tierpflege - Farm in Mackay, im Norden von Queensland in Australien

Country

Australien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 361 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    62  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a smoke free and drug free family made up of myself, my husband Richard, and our teenage daughter Danielle, who is 18 years old. Our oldest daughter Ashleigh has just moved out to her own home. We own a travelling farm full of baby and miniature animals that we take to schools, child care centers, aged care facilities, shopping centers, work parties, pretty much anything. Our travelling area covers Kingaroy in the south right up to Cairns in the North, and out west as far as Mount Isa. We look after calves, lambs (baby sheep), kids (baby goats), alpaca, miniature pigs, ducks, chickens, rabbits and guinea pigs. We bath them, worm them, vaccinate, and generally keep in good health. The travelling part of your volunteering involves some heavy lifting and lots of sitting in the car while I drive. You need to be interacting with the public, talking to them, showing them how to be nice to the animals, and caring for the animals. It is a hands on experience for all involved when we are working with the public.

    My travelling farm as it is covering a large area of Queensland and with no set days of work, makes it a bit hard sometimes for you to work only 4-5 hours for 5 days and then have the rest of the time off. We can be driving for 10 hours a day or as little as one hour. You will not be in the car for the long hours without stopping as we need to stop and feed the animals, each stop taking up to 2 hours. Days like this you don't have much choice but to look out the window while I am driving and talk to me to keep me awake (LOL). When we get home from these long trips once everything has been cleaned and unpacked I then give you the day off if possible. Sometimes if we have been away for awhile then you may get a few days off in a row to go sightseeing or sleep. Sometimes you may only get a few days off, but I will always try to make it so you are rested. There may be days where we don't work travelling jobs, just depends on the demand at the time, each month is different. When at home there is always caring for the animals, feeding them, cleaning their yards and cages, and of course cuddles. We are always busy, whether we are at home or away working and travelling. I myself don't often get time off or any rest time, so I appreciate all the help I can get.

    I am flexible with your days off to work around our travelling jobs. When you are at home doing home chores I am also flexible as to the times you do these, so long as we can get the help to feed the animals the other jobs can happen at a time that suits you most of the time. In other words if you wish to do the tasks in the morning and get it over and done with or if you prefer to do them later in the day, either one is fine with me, so long as they get done. These jobs usually consist of hanging out and bringing in the washing, doing dishes, cleaning my house.

    We also have as part of our family 6 large dogs, 2 inside cats, and birds.

    Your accommodation is in our house, in your own room, or in our caravan depending on how many Workawayers I have at the time. Our caravan is a 2009 model that sleeps 2-4 adults. We still use it for our holidays away, so it is quite comfortable. You will be sharing the bathroom with my daughter. The toilet is separate from the shower. We are also on rain water so water is very important to us and not to be wasted, so you need to be water wise. You will have dinner with us to get to know us as a family and experience both New Zealand and Australian ways. We are New Zealanders living in Australia. We also provide breakfast and lunch but we often are all eating these two meals at different times from the rest of our family due to other commitments.

    Our house is based just north of Mackay, in a town called Gargett, in North Queensland. We are on 35 acres, 50 minutes from town. There is no public transport near our house, so a car is preferable if you wish to go anywhere on your days off. In saying this someone goes into town most days so we would be able to take you in around school drop off and pick up. We are a very busy family who try to get some down time where possible. This can only happen when we get the extra help.

    We look forward to meeting you and learning more about your culture, and sharing ours. We have had in excess of 60 Workawayers from all areas of the world and love meeting new people.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are New Zealanders living in Australia, so we have a mixed culture between the two countries. We are happy to help you improve your English, show you around as much as possible, and interact with you both while on working trips and at home. You will learn a lot about looking after animals, and if you have any knowledge of this area I am always looking for ideas and to learn more myself.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    You would be required to help me when I work away, so this means travelling with me to different areas in Central and North Queensland. These travelling jobs can vary from a day trip to up to 5-10 days long at any one time. You also need to feed, bath and brush the animals. Tidying up their yard, raking poo and hay, and cleaning the shed is a weekly occurrence. Raking up pooh and hay and spreading it around gardens, or putting it in the bin. There would be light house duties depending on the help needed.
    You do need to be reasonably strong and healthy/fit, and be prepared to work outdoors.
    I prefer someone with common sense and who can see what needs to be done. If unsure you are always best to ask rather than assume and get it wrong.
    You will need closed in shoes, a rain coat, sensible length shorts or jeans, and a shirt. I provide a work shirt for when we are working away with the animals.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your own bedroom with a king bed, or the caravan which has two beds inside. Shared bathroom and toilet with other workawayers if there is more than yourself plus my daughter.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    When you have time off, close by is Eungella, Finch Hatton Gorge, Airlie Beach, the Whitsunday Islands, and several other beaches close by. Town is nearly an hour away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 254841596448