1 / 5

Help us to make veggie beds and bring your culture into our home in Fair Oaks, California, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 15 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 2 Juni 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Hey nomads, we are a culturally mixed family of three and we're former workaway volunteers who are looking to give back to the community. Spent almost a year total in South America, Hawaii, and Sri Lanka as workaway volunteers and they were some of the most meaningful and memorable times of our lives. Since then we've had a child and we can't travel these days as she's ready to start school. So we'd like to open our home to other cultures so she can grow up appreciating different cultures first hand. During our travels, we learned a lot about growing food, mushrooms and building and we hope that we can now teach others some pieces of what we've learned along the way.

    We live and breathe creativity so artist and musicians are welcome! We can eat, cook and make music together.
    During the rainy season, it's possible that we go wild mushroom foraging together if the conditions are right if you're interested in learning about foraging in our local environment.

    カリフォルニア ようこそ!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in Fair Oaks, California just outside of Sacramento. Husband is a Persian American and the wife is Japanese. We have a 4 year old girl. We speak English, Japanese and Farsi. We can teach you about our local northern CA culture here as well as Japanese and Persian cultures. If you're interested in languages, we can help you.

    We can teach you all kinds of different cuisines as we often cook, Japanese, Persian, Mexican, Italian, Thai, Korean, etc. We would love to learn about your local dishes.

    We love music. We have drums, piano and other instruments here. We can teach you drums and we can play some music together. There's always some music playing in the house to liven up the atmosphere. Would love to hear some of your country's music.

    As the cultural exchange is very important to us, we would most likely give priority to travelers from abroad, especially Spanish speaking countries. We loved our time in South America and would love to go back there.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We have lots of fruit trees around the property. Our main project is taking out the grass in the backyard and put in some vegetable beds. Husband will be doing this along side you. This will be the majority of the help. We want to show that you can transform a lawn into a food paradise. Other work includes whatever else needs to be done around the house (watering plants, processing fruit, making compost, help make videos).

    If you have a lot of Permaculture experience, we could use your help to better design our yard. PDC certificates are a plus.

    If you're a social media wiz or an influencer I could use some help with setting up social media putting out basic drum videos. Reach out and tell us what you do.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Persian (Farsi): Fließend
    Japanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You get your own room. bed and your own bathroom/shower. Please understand that you should clean up after yourself. We're not interested in hosting messy people and we don't have time to clean up after you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is probably best suited for a person who doesn't have to go out all the time and would like to spend time with us. We live in the suburbs outside of Sacramento and there's not a whole lot to see and do in our quiet neighborhood. We only have one car and my wife works full time so I think it would be hard for you to get around if you want to go out and explore, unless you use Uber/Lyft.

    We only drink on very rare occasions. Please don't bring alcohol into the house.
    Please act appropriately around our daughter. This is very important as she is only four years old. If we see inappropriate behavior, we will tell you and in certain cases we might ask you to leave.

    We will provide you with 3 meals and some snacks in between. We cannot accommodate specific diets. We eat pretty much everything so if you have a lot of dietary restrictions, this may not be the best place for you.

    Before committing to hosting you, we'd like to do a video chat to make sure we're on the same page. When you send us a message, please write in the subject bar, "grapes" and confirm in your message that you would like to have a video chat with us. Thank you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have fast wifi if you're a digital nomad and need to work

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 236969914966

Weitere Bilder


Help at a forest permaculture site in Willits, CA
Stay with an active family of 6 in Del Mar, CA, USA